You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HODL 1st Contest ! More than 40 USD in prizes 🎁

in HODL4 years ago

Hi, I am @culgin from Singapore.

My story with cryptocurrencies actually started with the Bitcoin whitepaper. I still remember that it was mid-October 2017. I was doing my usual commute home from work in a MRT train (Singapore's version of a subway). It was probably a financial article that led me to read about Bitcoin. BTC had a massive run since July 2017 to October 2017, from $2000+ to $5000+, and so mainstream media are starting to report about it.

I usually just skim through my reading while I am commuting as it is not the most conducive environment. However, the whitepaper caught my eyes and I read it the second time when I reached home. After reading the whitepaper, I dropped a text to a close group of friends on WhatsApp. I asked, "anyone heard of Bitcoin?". One of them replied that he heard about it years ago but did not think much of it. I then said, "have you read the whitepaper, this is revolutionary."

I did not immediately jump in to buy but I started to read more. The next thing I read was the Ethereum whitepaper and I got even more fascinated by the concepts behind blockchain and cryptocurrencies. After 1 week of intensive reading and research, I decided to nibble a little. My first crypto purchase was actually ETH and not BTC. I bought it from Coinbase (screenshot below) on 23 Oct 2017.

My first crypto purchase

After which the ICO FOMO started, and I read tons of whitepapers from various projects. Sadly, I have a number of failed ICO investments. But those are all valuable lessons to allow me to be in a better state of mind and position now.

My journey in crypto also got me reading about how money works. It is strange that most people do not understand money. How it is created and how it flows. It is only when you understand money, then you can better appreciate Bitcoin and Ethereum. In addition, crypto also got me interested in technical analysis, which was something I did not believe at all previously. Overall, I think I am a much better trader and investor after I got into crypto.

Sort:  

Hello @culgin,

Very interesting story and I imagine you never regretted to browse through this finance article and then towards the Bitcoin Whitepaper.

I can relate to you and the ICO phase, well I believe most lost their hats if not more.

Thank you once more for sharing your story.

Sincerely,

@vlemon

You are welcome! And yes, I have never regretted getting into cryptocurrencies