You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HODL 1st Contest ! More than 40 USD in prizes 🎁

in HODL4 years ago (edited)

Hi, I am @jab1987 from Manila, Philippines

It all started last year, November 2017, I already heard about Bitcoin from a total stranger in elevator when the 2 talking about Bitcoin. Since I actually had zero clue what bitcoin was, I didn't pay attention to it until March last year.

I remember it was a noon break, I was alone on my table at the office when one of my work colleague approach and invite me to joined coins.ph using his referral link. Upon sign-up I was asked to complete a KYC verification and I received my first Bitcoin (Satoshi) which is worth $2.00 or Php 100.00.

I really feel excited that day and I am eager to learn more about Bitcoin. Upon reading different article and how to earn Bitcoin, I ended up solving captcha on different faucet for satoshi. From here I learn about different coins, I was overwhelmed to many coins.

A few days later my appetite to learn more about different kind of coins and how to get one without spending a single peso, Google landed me on coinmarketcap.com. From here I meet Steem, read about it and I ended up reading on Steemit.com.

Just wow, I have seen a post earning few hundreds dollars to thousand dollars. I feel so excited and without a doubt I sign-up for Steem account, confirmation code was sent on my phone and a link sent to my e-mail.

While waiting for the approval, I am thinking of quitting my job since I see one post on trending tab is earns an around $300 to be paid in 7 days. The reward is already my one month salary.

Two days has passed, then weeks until today, unfortunately I didn't get my Steem account. I was so disappointed, those dreams and plan has been gone until this month.

Last May 06, 2020, while I am busy looking for an alternative way to earn money since my company have officially declare bankruptcy due to covid-19. I remember steemit.com and for the last time I pay another visit. However, I noticed it was not the same as it was a couple of month ago.

From there I learn about Hive, a Steem fork as a result of the tron foundation hostile takeover. With the help of search engine, Google redirect me to signup.hive.io and from there I found eSteem offering instant signup. Give it a try and I didn't get the same frustration Steem given me.

A reason I am here on hive enjoying my every little time posting my opinions and thought. In fact Hive is the only cryptocurrency I have that comes in whole number, not just a fraction which is something like 0.0009.

To be honest the first thing that comes into my mind when I get an account instantly "this is it, a chance for me to make extra money for my survival until I got another job" but as days passed on, my view on hive become more meaningful. I find here an interesting communities where I can able to share my experiences, expertise and more.

Therefore, Hive is the beginning of my official crypto journey and my story will continue...