You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HODL 1st Contest ! More than 40 USD in prizes ๐ŸŽ

in HODL โ€ข 4 years ago

Hi, I am @joetunex from Johannesburg South Africa.

My first encounter with crypto ( Bitcoin ) was in 2015. I had a good relationship with my ex boss Sheldon, he was the kind of boss that wanted he employees succeed. One day he invited all of us his employees to a network seminar and I was the only one of his employees that showed up on that faithful Saturday.

Karatbars was the topic and focus on the seminar that day. Few weeks later Bitcoin emerged as a topic from the network meeting I used to attend every weekend.
I liked this short video that was shared in the meeting The End of Money As We Know It I like the idea of the banks can do nothing to stop it because I HATE the banks after watching Mike Maloney's Hidden Secrete of Money The Biggest Scam In The History Of Mankind

So at that time we were introduced to mining Bitcoin, we invested in a couple of them, the likes of; BTC Flex, Carborn7, and few others I can't recall now. Sadly these companies we invested in were scams. We lost money, and the painful part if I look back is I was able to afford 1 BTC then in 2015-2016 if I knew I should have bought and just seat on it ๐Ÿ˜ƒ.

An exciting moment for me was when I ordered my Xapo Bitcoin Debit card and I was able to swipe and spend Bitcoin in the local PnP stores here in SA, the smile on my face was quite a broad one, I felt like a Hero.

So it has been quite a journey I love, I like the idea of decentralization and I believe if blockchain and cryptocurrency is well utilised it can alter the course of humanity for the better.

Thanks @daltono and @chekohler to tagging me.

I'm keen on @rynow and @silvertop's first encounter story

Sort: ย 

Awesome story! You got started early. It's great that you are having success using your crypto in the real world.

Thanks Dalton, the real world use case really got me excited.
Good luck with the contest.

Hello @joetunex,

What a story, as most of us yo were there early and as most of us you missed many opportunities but you caught some other ones didn't you?

Thank you for participating and I will definitely check your link from Mike Maloney's Hidden Secrete of Money The Biggest Scam In The History Of Mankind

I hope to see you around as you seem like a nice person to interact with.

Sincerely,

@vlemon

Many thanks @vlemon, you are right, I was part of the early ones but unfortunately lost the opportunity as well.

The hopeful thing though is we are still in the infancy stage of cryptocurrency/blockchain and being on Hive is an opportunity I'm not taking for granted.

I'm sure we be seeing each other around here. keep well ๐Ÿ™‚

That sounds like something out a movie sorry to hear you got scammed but just shows how much you believe in the space!

It was a sad experience but getting to learn the basics about Bitcoin have got me to have a bit of understanding and not to invest in things that looks too good to be true.

I must say you started on a big note and early too. So sorry for what you lost, its like that everywhere in the crypto world. Many people regrettedto buying bitcoin at that early time but its all good. Things will sure get better.

Thanks @oredebby, I feel we are in Hive early and there is a lot to benefit if we stick around longer without looking for immediate result.

ย 4 years agoย (edited)ย 

Congratulation @joetunex

Seriously great comment. Thanks for participating in this contest organized by @hodlcommunity and supported by @project.hope.

I was supposed to upvote your post with 400k HP, however I've been late (for which I'm sorry) and this comment is already 7 days old.

Instead, I will upvote your latest post with solid upvote + I will trigger our curation trail.

If you like to join similar contests more often, then join Project.Hope discord (https://discord.gg/uWMJTaW) and look for "ph-contests" group. That's our channel, where our members are sharring links to their latest contests (sponsored by project.hope).

Enjoy your weekend,
Piotr

Im so grateful for the upvote and more importantly the contest was an interesting on. I have joined the Discord channel and I will look through to participate in the contests more.

Regards