You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HODL 1st Contest ! More than 40 USD in prizes 🎁

in HODL4 years ago

Hey everyone, I was tagged by @chekohler on this a couple of days ago and it's been on my to do list, just needed a lot of things to settle down first before I could reply so here goes!

Hello, I'm @nickyhavey from the UK.

I first heard about BTC back in 2012 when I was temp worker from an ex banker who started talking about it and that in "15-20 years time, we'll be using this new currency". I was excited so I researched everything but I couldn't understand any of it as it was written in such complicated language and I didn't know how to buy any of it. I was also a poor Uni student back then with absolutely no money so I mostly moved on.

In 2017, I saw a friend on FB talking about it who is a forex trader and so I asked him for help in December 2017 at BTC's ATH and I was REALLY excited to get my hands on some for the first time! The first things I bought was a Ledger Nano S due to me being anal about security. Then I saw my portfolio drop by 95% in £ value in 2018! Yikes!

But, due to the power of hodling, I'm now up by 55% and have continued to put money and time in to building my crypto hodlings - 33% of my money is in various crypto projects and I love it haha. There's never a dull moment in this industry and glad I stuck with it!

Sort:  

Hello @nickyhavey,

Very nice story which must sound familiar to a lot of us 😅.

But most of all, you got the point. Keep learning and DYR ! And now you are in positive territory and probably learned a LOT since 2017 :).

I would love you to post some of this knowledge in our #HODL Community and we would try to support your content as much as we can.

In any case, thank you for sharing.

Sincerely,

@vlemon

Hey @vlemon! Yes I think I learned a lot the hard way getting in when everything was ATH... you learn a lot faster when you watch your money disappear haha!

I'll do what I can with the posts in your community - I normally post music and sometimes travel but I write beginner's guides for BTC and Hive which will probably be good for the HODL community?

It would be great. Anything related to crypto in any kind of way even music or art. Who knows hehe :)