You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Socrates, Diogenes and the Need for Validation

in Reflections10 months ago

Thank you for your comment @leaky20 ! I know exactly what you mean, and indeed, each group had its 'truth' - to use your example - but of the two, there had to be a better one, i.e. one that was more desirable for human beings, their health, their autonomy and respect for their being - body, soul, spirit - their choice of conscience. Perhaps this truth was also a mixture of both. But what happened was an unprecedented attack on freedom and, basically, your comment makes me discover that I didn't really talk about what was at the heart of my point - even though I did of course sketch it out - i.e. the risk we take in wanting to be authentically free (even if I see this without idealism, I do think we can be free and live in society at the same time).

I think that this kind of freedom, lived or aspired to, makes these people truly unique in a way that is no longer common or - unfortunately - very widespread. Many claim to belong to a family or a sub-group of thought, but deep down the majority borrow this as a disguise. It's like the anarchist t-shirts that sell for exorbitant prices, that's always made me laugh a lot, and it's just another form of church and passion for decorum and not for values as such.

Basically, I think that more than being validated by our loved ones in general, it's understood that we wish to be.

Thanks again for your reply ! And don't worry, I only took that one really well :)

Sort:  

Finding the right balance (a subjective experience unique to every individual) between self freedom and society, would be an ideal scenario I think. :)

I agree on that ! Responsable and caring human beings would be great too, but unbridled capitalism has come a long way ^^

Have a good new week @leaky20, hope you enjoyed your weekend ✌️