The well of the mind

in Reflections11 months ago

image.png


During my early days on hive, I remember asking this hiver (can't remember his name) he seemed established on the platform and was dedicated to writing and creating blogs at least once everyday. I asked him how he did it and he told me that the mind is like an untapped well, and that it never runs dry. Those words sort of stuck with me honestly. Of Course those who know me know that I'm not usually a daily writer (till recently) but those words have stuck with me such that I'm always constantly thinking of new things and new ways to do things. Also I've told myself that eventually I'll finally have consistent free time to be a daily writer and then I'll really put this theory to work.

AmRc67RgYaWTamZtjiRVK9pxDgRdg2RtnXmG5dbeGuzK3WNfkBktwpfahjXgofN7JmiYvtMwpCEYq5gpJaUVVFNrBJdVGTpU4dgh5N2o7i9HeCQVUiAtBV5tCCFFT4M5GWvAVab7P6nEnDdBkVcYxvn3ztE1PhNv.webp

I recently became a daily writer (for the most part) last month and I'd say it's not as easy as some people make it seem. Once in a while I blog twice so I can miss out on a day when I'm not in the mood.

I have also heard a saying about the mind being like a muscle, if you work it regularly and exercise it, it gets easier to do those tasks. And yes I totally agree with this. Writing has gotten far easier since I started writing more consistently. I have written things that'll normally take me almost 3 hours to finish in an hour. You know, being consistent even helped me find the best way for me to lock in. Usually I'd get distracted by some external force midway and end up spending much more time writing, but nowadays I just start, and I'm able to devote my full attention to what I'm writing till I finish. It's incredible really.

AmRc67RgYaWTamZtjiRVK9pxDgRdg2RtnXmG5dbeGuzK3WNfkBktwpfahjXgofN7JmiYvtMwpCEYq5gpJaUVVFNrBJdVGTpU4dgh5N2o7i9HeCQVUiAtBV5tCCFFT4M5GWvAVab7P6nEnDdBkVcYxvn3ztE1PhNv.webp

But still at times I really find myself wondering if the brain truly is a well that never runs dry. Sometimes it just feels like I have thought of everything I could possibly think of and my head just keeps gravitating towards only things I've written in the past. Usually these are the times when I decide to take a break, or at times I get lucky and I find a prompt that really speaks to me so I'm able to just focus on it and write.

You know, I am still of the opinion that the mind is like a well that never runs dry, just that I wouldn't say any mind. I'd say "a trained mind is like a well that never runs dry." This feels more true in my opinion. It needs to constantly be put to work and with time it starts to conform, bend and make things that can be difficult for some look effortless.

~THANKS FOR READING~

AmRc67RgYaWTamZtjiRVK9pxDgRdg2RtnXmG5dbeGuzK3WNfkBktwpfahjXgofN7JmiYvtMwpCEYq5gpJaUVVFNrBJdVGTpU4dgh5N2o7i9HeCQVUiAtBV5tCCFFT4M5GWvAVab7P6nEnDdBkVcYxvn3ztE1PhNv.webp

cover image by Josh Kahen from Unsplash

Sort:  

a nice read. you are absolutely right. ive started writing more frequently and have started to come up with new ideas. Im new here. It would be nice to connect with new people. any tips?

Hehe, welcome to hive. I am no established hiver, but let me share you a couple tips. Firstly I think you should update your dp. Makes it more easy to spot you in a crowd.

Then secondly I quickly skimmed through your posts and I see you haven't been attending to some of the replies on your posts. You should definitely be doing this. Another thing is to also do what you just did now. (read a couple posts and drop commments). Really read and try to connect with the writers and they'll notice you and start to come around your blogs often.

Also, if you don't have a discord account already I suggest you create one. There's a lot of servers on discord where hivers hang around, it could be a good way to connect. Then trying to find a community that suits you, one where you can really be a part of is also something I'd advise. Goodluck on your journey, it's not always easy at first, but it can be really rewarding.

Thank you so much for your response! Sure I am going to update my profile especially my picture. Thos robot thing is creeping me out. lol I will also take care to reply to everyone as soon as possible. I have so many ideas I want to write about, in the end I do nothing. But Ill get better at this! Ill update my profile post a few more things and get back to you!! 😊 hope to see more of your posts

You are so right, the mind can achieve whatever you set it to.

I started my daily writing journey in February this year and from February till now, I've never missed a day, I realized I do not battle with writer's block like I used to, and I get inspired easily now. The mind has no other choice but to comply 😹

Popped in from #dreemport. #dreemerforlife

Yeah that's true. Since February, that's quite some time. Wow, you're an inspiration to me.

!PIZZA

Determination is the key, once you place your mind and heart to do something you do it with all your might, plus I think those who write on a daily are those who genuinely have passion for it...but this was really helpful write up because I'm still exploring hive.

#dreemport
#dreemerforlife

Hehe, welcome to hive dear. Once you set your heart to do something you find a way to do it.

You can do anything you set your mind to. You can only get used to an activity you do consistently if not, the brain and body will not adapt to the changes.

You wouldn't have been able to write a post of three hours in an hour if you didn't make up your mind and work towards it.

Writing daily isn't easy at all (speaking from experience 😂). There are times your brain will refuse to cooperate and that's because it has been stressed too much, so the best thing is just to chill and give yourself a break.

#Dreemerforlife.

Yeah it happens, like yesterday now I just couldn't do it no matter how hard I tried so I decided to to rest, but today I'll need to get back to writing.

I agree with the unknown hiver and you on this. First congratulations on being consistent writing daily, it actually gets easier as it becomes a habit.
Also, the mind is far reaching and cannot be fully exploited

I am coming to agree with that as well. Thank you.

All what you said here are the truth and facts , with out someone making up his or her mind to write here on hive , it will be very hard to be grounded

True. One needs to be fully determined in order to thrive here.

I'd love to write almost everyday, but it really isn't my style. I'm more of a reader than I writer, so I tend to write mostly when I'm in that zone

Hehe, I totally understand you. I used to be like that (I think I still am), just putting in a bit more effort to write more.

I think momentum play The Great role in case of writing. In my case I am consistent writing at least one content in each day and I got the momentum. So my current challenge is keep the momentum. I think you will able to make it also because I also experienced the situation like you.

Hehe, thanks man. You and I are alike in a lot of ways, lol.

I'll do my best not to fall your hand.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@b0s(1/5) tipped @amiegeoffrey

Congratulations @b0s! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 5750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 15
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 14