Looking and seeing

in Reflectionslast year

Looking and seeing doesn't always mean with the eyes; I look inside myself, reflect inwardly, and see many things and my eyes aren't at all involved. The eyes gather so much information from around a person though, and are incredibly important, however I believe that looking and seeing in other ways is just as valuable, maybe even more so, as it can help position us to perceive ourselves and the things around us differently, with passion and excitement and to help us find the attitudes required to gain the greatest return for the investments we make, physically, emotionally, spiritually and financially.

h.jpeg

My guy took this photo of me.

In the coming week, my working year will recommence after a few weeks off and I've been reflecting on the holidays, what I did, how I felt and also how I feel going back to work for another year. I've had a really nice time and wrote about what I've been doing in a post recently, here.

It's been relaxing, I needed that, and I've enjoyed the break in routine and the feeling of peace, comfort and solace I've found.

The weather was beautiful, each day was more relaxing than the last and not needing to keep to a schedule gave me a carefree feeling...I shared that with a really lovely human being who understands me, cares for and values me and who helped me relax in ways only he knows how; He's a beautiful man, and life is beautiful with him by my side...but the rest of the year looms, work and the routine, responsibilities, stresses and pressures of everyday life.

I was thinking about it as I reflected today and despite not feeling like heading back into work, I'm ready for it, for the year ahead and what will come.

I'd like to say that 2023 is going to be an amazing year, that it will be filled with happiness and everything good but I can't honestly say so.

I'm sure there will be good aspects to it, but with my mother now terminally ill with cancer and on end of life (palliative) chemotherapy this year is likely to be very difficult. I wrote about it a little while ago, here, and have thought I would do so again however I guess I don't really know how to; The path forward is a predictable one and I don't really have the words right now.

There's other pressures and stressors in addition, we all have them, and sometimes I feel, I should say we feel because my guy is involved, a little...umm...adrift, I guess is a way to describe it, like...life is floating along with no one at the helm. It's not a nice feeling.

Spending time, like the last few weeks, then reflecting upon how they made me feel, the value that seeped into me, provides an anchor-point to some degree, and the understanding that relaxation, a central-point of comfort, emotional peace and happiness, can be found and that's what helps me feel ready for the year ahead. I will hold onto that feeling and grasp any more of it I can manage throughout the year.

It's through looking and seeing what's to come and delving within myself, looking and seeing, that I'm capable of working through what's to come, and that I'll not have to do so alone, that helps me find the courage I need to face tomorrow, the day after and those to follow.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

Looking and seeing doesn't always mean with the eyes;

It is true that "seeing" and understanding can go beyond just visual perception. There is so much that we can learn and discover through introspection and self-reflection. By taking the time to look inward and examine our thoughts, feelings, and experiences, we can gain a deeper understanding of ourselves and the world around us. This can be a powerful and transformative process that can help us to grow and develop as individuals.

It is important to remember that true understanding and insight often comes from within, and that we have the ability to access this wisdom through self-reflection and introspection. By making time to look within and see with our inner vision, we can gain a greater understanding of ourselves and the world around us.

I think you have encapsulated it so well and there's little I could add. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my post.

Becca 🌷

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 90 posts.
Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It sounds like you are in for a tough year, no matter how the year is going to go for everyone else. Hopefully, it will be a "for the best" situation and there won't be a lot of physical pain.

At least writing about it helps me, so this community might be a good fit to reflect for you too. Welcome. :)

It would be so much easier to simply say 2023 was going to be so great, but that would be a lie and I'm a realist who prefers to know what's ahead so I can account for it.

I don't really have the right words to say how I feel, but I'm sure I'll try to find them, and this looks like a nice place for them to land.

Becca 🌻

Our eyes can see and emotions can be felt in the eyes, too. I love your thoughts on how you reflect a beautiful life. Indeed a great mindset for reflection my dear friend. Just continually look and see and surely you will live life in serenity. I hope you are having a great time. Take care.

Thanks for your kind words and thoughts, I also hope your year goes well for you.

Becca 🌼

Seeing with various forms of sight is essential, especially in moments of anguish and doubt. I don't know the particular trappings of your life but I do know the pain of terminal cancer, my mom died of it almost three decades ago. Thanks to my spiritual work I managed to not only overcome the grief but find blessings in her passing that I couldn't have imagined. I wish for you clear eyes that you may see blessings in your sorrow too and continue to appreciate beauty everywhere you look. Wonderful post, by the way.

Thanks for your kind words, I appreciate you taking the time to reply and for your words of support.

Becca 🌷

I read that a simple year is not expected; looking inside yourself and going beyond the gaze to really see will surely help.

As the good @tarazkp says, writing can help, when I need to disconnect and feel down, I write and recover; then you can do it here on Hive perhaps in this beautiful community or simply on a sheet of paper and only for yourself, you will decide it but it will in any case be very helpful.

I welcome you and thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Thank you for your kind words and wisdom. Unfortunately, life doesn't always resemble the ideal we have in our minds, it is still life though, and we need to navigate it.

Becca 🌷