You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's healthy and wholesome

in Reflections9 months ago

The year of the donut! That is hilarious. Particularly so because 1997 was the year of the donut for me too. It was my first year living in the US. I loved Dunkin Donuts. I also love any other donuts. Summer was a big splurge on tubs of ice-cream. Every day. Hershey's Kisses. Every day. And another round of donuts thank you very much. I won't say how much weight I picked up. But when my family see photos of me back then they (in all seriousness) ask who THAT is in so many of the photos. I guess I looked rather donut like.

I love your choice of meal. Complete with coffee. I've been listening to a lot of testimonials from carnivores. No, not the African lion. The two legged variety. Coming from a real health nut background I have blown off carnivore for years. Buuuuuuuuuuuuuut............the evidence is mounting

Sort:  

We used to have Dunkin' Donuts here (left in 2014) and I lived them. I'm a huge fan of Donuts to be honest, although I don't like Krispy Kreme Donuts at all, more the traditional ones. I love oliebollen (Dutch Donuts) too.

Ah yes, 1997 t'was a donutty year, the good old days, but all good things come to an end, or at least a massive reduction...I have an occasional donut now, not much at all.

I didn't know you lived in the States, was that work?

Yip. I lived and worked internationally through my 20's. Middle East first then the States and then the UK. I loved it. I miss it but I also love home. And here we have koeksusters which is like a donut just twisted. Which I recently learned was what donuts used to look like before they became round. I guess like the shape they made many people into

That's cool, pretty worldly then, travel abroad does that to a person. I've been to a lot of places too and love the experiences.

Also, I like donuts in every shape, even had a kangaroo shaped one once...but I don't want to bE round so I don't eat many now.