What's healthy and wholesome

in Reflections8 months ago

you take dick in the ass.jpg

People are basically the same the world over. Everybody wants the same things - to be happy, to be healthy, to be at least reasonably prosperous, and to be secure. They want friends, peace of mind, good family relationships, and hope that tomorrow is going to be even better than today.

- Zig Ziglar -



For most of my life I've worked towards eating well, meaning eating in a healthy fashion including what I eat and the quantities I consume...but I'm less than perfect in every way and there's certainly been times I've eaten far too much of the wrong things and just too much in general. I survived the, the year of the donut, in 1997 though, (I ate way too many donuts that year), and other such times and overall feel I've maintained a good diet and that, together with an active lifestyle, has kept me looking and feeling good.

I have an incurable health issue, one that will end my life (probably prematurely) eventually and lately I've needed to ramp up the level of care I take with what and how much I consume, and other things like physical activity (hard to increase because I'm already so active), and reducing stress levels which directly affect the condition. The net result is I've lost ten kilograms (22 pounds) from my body weight and yeah...I feel great and think I look better too...but some the weight lost was muscle and while I don't feel inclined to have muscles to impress anyone, I feel stronger when I'm at a certain level in that regard...a situation some really heavy weights are rectifying slowly. Overall, I'm feeling and looking pretty good.

The owner of the café I ate at yesterday, the quinoa and roasted chicken salad above, a person I know well said, G-dog, you look so skinny. Yeah right girlie, not something I want to hear. I've not seen her for a while hence her reaction and she clarified with, I mean you look so different now, trim, terrific and you're glowing. I think she laid it on a little thick with the, "you're glowing" comment, I'm not fucken pregnant, but we laughed about it all the same.

How does one measure healthy and wholesome in respect of one's life though? It is purely physical? Hint, the answer in my opinion is no. It comes from the inside out and is as much a spiritual, mental and emotional thing as it is general appearance and physical health, and so I work on that too.

Knowing I'll die eventually, of natural causes or otherwise, is a huge motivator to me.

I don't shy away from talking about it and I actively work towards it - having my affairs in order and living my best life - and don't feel there's any reason to avoid the situation. You'll die too you know, it's just what happens to humans, and acknowledging it motivates me to live a better life right now, to experience more, listen to myself more intently, improve where I can, build and nurture better relationships, seek understanding and not be afraid of change, failing or making mistakes. It seems like the right thing to do.

I guess, for me it's just as important to exercise and eat well as it is to find self-understanding, uphold my morals, ethics, honour and integrity (as I see it) and to be true to myself; down that path lies a better life I think. I work on my emotional state, my thoughts and attitudes and many other aspect of me. Will people agree with me on this or with the things I do? Fuck no, they won't always agree, but they have their own path and must walk it in the ways they feel value-adds their own life.

I'm not sure I can totally answer the what's healthy and wholesome question generally or for myself personally, not with any real certainty anyway - I'm not a smart man - but I know what's important to me, what personal traits and values I want to uphold and why. I may not know where they lead, others may not agree or like them, but I know, when I get to where I'm going I'll be able to look back on my time and say that I stood for something, held true, stayed the course, adapted and overcame where needed and learned a lot along the way. I'll fuck it up a lot though, always have and always will.

Life is carved with many facets, as am I (or anyone else), and I believe it's wise to take each one and understand them; applying reflection, self-honesty, acknowledgement and understanding will assist in combining them all but one must be prepared to pivot, to change, and to try and fail then try again...although there's limits I guess...I'll certainly not be trying, the year of the donut, again like I did in 1997...I learned from that.


What do you think about this topic? Have you ever contemplated your eventual demise, do you acknowledge it or push the thought aside as uncomfortable? What about your life? Do you actively pursue it or prefer a more passive approach, allow it to push and pull you as you float along without direction? What are the personal traits and values that mean the most to you, which have you deployed well and badly and how has that affected your life?

If you've got any thoughts and feel like sharing please go ahead, I'd be pleased to hear from you and to engage back.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[All original and AI free]
The image in this post is my own.

Sort:  

I eat terrible ! I love healthy food and unhealthy food and I celebrate or uplift everything with good food. It shows on me too and I'm not proud of it. I do have a tendency to eat more when I am stressed and my job has kept me very unhappily stressed for a very long time. Even with the stressors it is no excuse not to try to take control, but it seems too big of a task. Recently some things have changed at work and it will be giving me an opportunity to let go of the most stressful part of my job. It begins in a little over a week and I am expecting that the change will mean MUCH less stress in my work life which will carry over into my whole life feeling better all the way around. I am hoping I will begin to heal from it and will cause me to find the happy energy I need to turn some things around.

I admire people who are disciplined enough to do the right thing about their eating and fitness the majority of the time.

I actually was surprised to read this, and had expected you'd be a a paragon of healthy living for some reason.

I know a little about your work life thing and it's good to hear things are progressing...Isn't it interesting how linked stress and job-satisfaction is to the rest of our lives. Very linked and I've been where you are/were too.

I admire people who are disciplined enough to do the right thing about their eating and fitness the majority of the time.

I work really hard at this and if the motivator was simply how I look physically I probably wouldn't be as successful at it.

Right now, at 53, I have the body and (almost) strength of the 27 year old me and it feels great, but more importantly...I may have the chance to live a full term of life if I work at it...so I work at it. Discipline is part of that and I am a very disciplined man, but it's not everything...Knowing why I need to do it is important and also the ways of how to do it and make it work without hating myself/life for it is also. I like to live life, I'm good at it, and that's what helps me push into the areas of it that are less enjoyable like denying certain foods, working a little harder at being active and other such things. Don't get me wrong, I struggle too, some here on Hive know it too, the truth of it, but mostly I push forward as I have always done. I used to do things that required a lot of focus mentally, discipline, consistency, effort, fitness and strength, nimbleness of mind and so on...After years of doing that it becomes a habit, but it's easy to let it lapse...so I have had to work at it.

I'm not here to offer unsolicited advice, however I will say that it's never too late to improve, eat or sleep better, drink less alcohol, quit cigarettes or chew, read more, walk briskly for 40 minutes a day, call those people we value and say hi, look in the mirror and accept ourselves, find quiet time, look inwardly, fuck hard, stand up for those who cannot stand for themselves, be kind, generous, humble...you know? It's never too late to do the right thing as an individual...and that also means allowing oneself the ability to have lapses.

Your words, the majority of the time are pivotal...if doesn't need to be all the time and it's those moments where I run off the rails that provide some balance, and some impetus to get back on track.

I'm glad to hear the work thing is moving into calmer waters, a good time to hoist the sails and move towards some time for yourself without the mooring lines of stress, worry and work-related unhappiness. (Just added a nautical theme because I'm a nutbag.

Thanks for commenting, for your honesty and candour and reading this long-ass message.

I forgot to talk about death....LOL... I know I will die one day and to be honest I never expected to live this long. When I was 16 I thought I would not live to be 40. I don't know why ! I did get to 40 though and then passed it and when I turned 50, I was amazed and 60??? Whodathunk it ??

I do need to get back to being focused on my health. I hope I can find it within myself.

The other position that was created was supposed to be in a lower pay grade, but I applied for it anyway thinking they would offer me less money, but if it wasn't WAY too much less, I would trade the wages for the less stress option for the benefit of my life as a whole. I mean, you can't really separate what your job does to you from the rest of your life. Fortunately and surprisingly, they wanted me for the position AND they made it a lateral move for me, which of course meant I didn't lose a penny ! Never expected that, but I totally did the happy dance.... well.... the best one I could. LOL

40...50...60...137...The sky's the limit!

I do need to get back to being focused on my health. I hope I can find it within myself.

I'm confident you can; One small thing a day, then two and three and...before you know it you'll see some changes (feel better) and that'll motivate you further.

Great work on the job, and to not lose any remuneration...a double win. It'll be good to use that lower stress scenario as a springboard to a better situation all round, work and personal.

The only thing I know about death is that it always comes from natural causes. Like if you're shot a lot, it's only natural you die. 🤣

Hmm... My demise will come on my own terms, or something like that. I just tend to repeat the things my grandpa said a lot and know that any day is a good day to die.

Also, year of the donut? Damn, I bet you had a lot of coffee that year as well. On 1997, I was still happy in kindergarten and living my life without responsibilities.

Smart ass. 🤣

1997 was a donutty year, of that there is no doubt, coffee too. I was doing a lot of physical activity though, a lot, so it wasn't too bad...but I don't think I even looked at a donut for a year afterwards. I survived though, and partake of a donut now and then, although not often.

Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha. Always making fun of serious things. That's my thing. Yours is glowing as I read. No wonder you wear sunglasses. You can go blind from your own glow. 🤣

1997 was a donutty year, of that there is no doubt, coffee too. I was doing a lot of physical activity though, a lot, so it wasn't too bad...but I don't think I even looked at a donut for a year afterwards. I survived though, and partake of a donut now and then, although not often.

It sounds insane. Does that mean you eat at least one donut each day? Ugh, the calories count probably was over 9000.

Music Video Dance GIF by Cuco

I know you do, hence the smart ass comment. I don't mind, humour isn't a bad thing unless it hurts people.

Oh yeah bro, I fucken glow like a...like a...like a fucken sun, apparently....Or a pregnant woman at least.

Does that mean you eat at least one donut each day?

Not quite one a day, but I reckon I would have had maybe 4-5 a week, with coffee, in briefings, after action, during training sessions and all. I blame everyone else though, or at least whomever put those delectable fucken donuts within my reach. Lol. I don't recall putting on much weight, but it wasn't good from a health perspective.

Note: Maybe it was 5-6... 😜

Too much sugar and fat everywhere. It sounds like life, but one with arteries that don't work well. 🤣

It seems you had a late glow up. It is never late for it, I think 🤣

Excited Happy Birthday GIF

I think that actress is a hottie. #justsaying

Oh, she definitely is!

Hello Galenkp,

Always with these thought-provoking posts... look, in your mind is the cure for everything, physical ailments and spiritual ailments too. Just work on it. I believe in this. I have even checked it out. Although I have not been diagnosed with something incurable, I guess it changes people's perspective a lot.
Words shape thinking.
I wish you well and feel comfortable with your weight, your body in general.
And yes, I understand that I will die. And I don't let life drag me down in a general way. Although I confess to you that I have had critical moments since Covid broke out and I hit rock bottom. I say so in my posts. This thing about me not being able to hardly leave the house. I have been working on it myself, but I got sick yes, mentally I got sick.
So today I have it harder because I don't want pills or to go anywhere lookin for help, I am looking for the strength that is in me. And I think I have been achieving it.
In this process there have been people who have hit me, but it is what I said in my last post: forget and forgive.

Thank you G-Dog. Among the wonderful people who arrived in August, you are.

look, in your mind is the cure for everything, physical ailments and spiritual ailments too.

There is no cure for my condition and certainly none exists in my mind.

I confess to you that I have had critical moments since Covid broke out and I hit rock bottom.

I think the covid situation affected many people around the world. It wasn't so bad here for most, the living arrangements here are somewhat different to in other parts of the world. It was an issue for so many though and I wonder what the long term implications of that has been.

I guess, we'll each deal with it in our own ways. For me, I enjoyed not having to go to work and had plenty to do at home. I was still able to hike, (I have a massive conservation park over the road with many kilometres of hiking trails) and with all of my hobbies , writing and reading too, I was content. I'm lucky I guess. (Although the whole situation was very depressing all round as well.)

It seems you're working through it and if you're able to do that internally then all the better.

Among the wonderful people who arrived in August, you are.

I don't understand what you mean by this.

I don't understand what you mean by this.

Simple, to find this place where I can dialogue with you through your posts and reflect. I said it in the first line of my comment.
Nothing special I guess, saying that I like to get to know Galenkp through his publications. We Cubans are sometimes very effusive. Sorry about that.

There is no cure for my condition and certainly none exists in my mind.

Well, there are things that cannot be cured, but a proper mental attitude guarantees a better quality of life. This is a complex subject to address in a commentary.

Ah ok sorry, I'd just finished up at the hospital and wasn't really thinking straight when I read and responded. My mistake, I'm a nutbag.

It's nice to get to know people in this way, across vast distances, and to learn people's differences and similarities; it's enjoyable. I'm really grateful to have met the people I have here and they keep bringing value.

Cubans are sometimes very effusive. Sorry about that.

There is no need to be sorry about this, it is a strength not a weakness.

Well, there are things that cannot be cured, but a proper mental attitude guarantees a better quality of life. This is a complex subject to address in a commentary.

Indeed, I agree. I wish there was a physical cure for my condition, but all that exists is risk-mitigation treatment and a better lifestyle. It's not been easy for me but I've worked through it and continue to do so. A good attitude helps, as I mention in this post.

Thanks for clarifying, I appreciate it and I'm sorry I misunderstood.

It's OK, I was just thinking about what I wrote. I was summarising August and there, in my post, I was talking about that. That I liked to surround myself with intelligent people who are always doing something to improve. Then I got comments and I responded to them. I came here connected with that, and I wanted to tell you that, as this month has been the one in which we have interacted the most, I counted you among those people who are important to me. You strike me as a discerning guy and I like your views. For the moment this makes you wonderful in my eyes. But don't doubt it, that when you piss me off a bit 🤣 I'm going to give you a downvote you'll feel it. 😂

  • I wish you well, @galenkp. I'll be here to laugh, to disagree, to chat, with no pretensions other than to have a good time or to bring value to both of us. I hope so. Because just as I like to feed off the value that other people bring me, I hope to be able to give something in return. It's nice to meet people from all over the world.

Be strong. 💚

For the moment this makes you wonderful in my eyes.

Awww...so sweet.

But don't doubt it, that when you piss me off a bit I'm going to give you a downvote you'll feel it.

Fucken brutal! 🤣

Note to self: Don't ever piss nanixxx off.

That comment made me laugh, and I'm in a café on my computer right now so laughing out loud just looks odd. I don't care though, I am odd!

I appreciate your kind words, and the brutal ones too, I prefer people to open and honest, forthright.

That's me.

I prefer that too, be honest...

And the truth is, not everyone can stand me.

But then again... I think I don't have to be a honey pot for everyone.

;)

Yes, once I was about to die, I was a speed inline skater, in 93 I won third place in a national championship, that's another story, but when I went out to practice in the street a car hit me I was in a coma for a day, and then a month in bed my ankle suffered a lot and several parts of the body, for some reason I did not pass more from there, but I still do not remember how it happened, how I was run over. My teammates thought I was dead, and I think it was like that, there is something about that event that I really do not remember and more because I was in a coma, the helmet saved me, but despite that it was a big blow.

From then on my life changed in that sport, the possibility of dying is always there, again with that advice from my grandfather, son, we are all born to die, he did not tell me anything new or that nobody knows, but when he told me I was very young. Nobody knows what death is like and if death is the closest thing to being in a coma, well I still don't know what death is like, when it touches me, it will simply touch me, only my relatives, in this case my daughters and my wife will know what death is like for me.

That's not good mate, hit by a car...but it's awesome that you were top three nationally in that sport! Well done man.

It's good practice to understand that there's an end date on life and that it's exact moment is unknown. It isn't a depressing thing for me, it makes me want to live better every day and make life count, so it's a positive motivator. Go and read the last post by @insaneworks who tells in that post how she got a phone call not long ago telling her that her mother was killed in a vehicle accident...It happens right?

I think it's worth living our best lives and I think you agree.

Yes, it usually happens, my maternal grandmother died run over. The driver fled the scene.

The driver who ran over me did not flee, but later he was imprisoned, due to imprudence, I was going very well on my right, here the traffic of vehicles is on the right, nobody can explain why I was run over, the driver from the car I had plenty of room on the street.

I got to have four pairs of inline skates, currently I only have one, I use it to go skating with my daughters who also skate but for recreation. By the way, after that accident I couldn't participate in any competition

I returned to my origin, martial arts,

Maybe that driver was looking at his phone, inattentive driving is very prevalent here. I'm on the way to the police station right now to report a driver who lost control and mounted the kerb right in front of my house last night actually. Completely took out a pedestrian railing, lucky no one was standing there waiting to cross. Ended up only a few inches from my front fence right up on the verge. She's very lucky she missed the power pole and the tree out the front of my house.

I went out there and, sure enough, the person couldn't speak a word of English. Typical. She was a learner driver and the person beside her isn't fully licensed. He'll lose his temporary permit because of my report.

20230901_174822.jpg

Anyway, I think it's best that you have switched to martial arts and I think I'd have done the same. Near-death experiences have that effect usually.

wow, as you say, good thing there were no pedestrians to cause the street.

I assume people should pay for the damages.

May all go well at the police station. And not happen like your friend and the insurance bureaucracy.

I read all about the loss of your friend's mother, it is very unfortunate.

All went well, they took the report and the process will ensue.

I hope you've got a great weekend planned, anything special?

Unfortunately, I don't have anything planned in the way of enjoying time with the family, even though we are on vacation at the university and the girls are on school vacations, I have jobs to attend to. One is with a neighbor who offered me a temporary job for the weekend.

The other job is that the government sent to make changes to the payroll, they are forcing us by official memorandum to suspend some concepts that are included in our payments, some had been won by union struggles, that bothers me, but unfortunately we must do it, because if not we simply do not get paid, it is unfair, but they have already done it on other occasions to leave us without collecting our salary, when that happens, they say it is the fault of the payroll managers who did not do the job, that's socialism.

Please excuse me for touching on a political topic, but it is the answer if I have something special on the weekend.

I have been awake since 5:00 a.m. working on the payroll.

Not-pregnant people can glow too XP it's all in the skin with some boost from the mood.

Agreed on the not purely physical comment, people still look ugly if they're ugly on the inside even if they're the perfect example of whatever passes for beauty standards on the outside.

Eventual demise pisses me right off, I have too many stories which I'm not going to be able to get out because time is a ridiculous factor. Occasionally I'll think about it as a motivator to just try harder but most of the time it just makes me depressed knowing that what I want is literally impossible unless a cure for aging is discovered.

Really? Ok, that makes sense then, I thought glowing was reserved solely for pregnant people.

Yep, your ugly remark is so true, I think a lot of people get that wrong, meaning they think one is synonymous with the other but it's only from inside that beauty can truly flow.

I'm with you on the pissed off with the demise thing, but it's a reality. I guess that's why I focus on best-life attitudes, although I don't always succeed, part of being a human being. There's so many out there who focus on the wrong things, I see them on Hive and in real life and wonder at the cost they'll incur because of it. Still, that's them and if they want to waste their life, have at it.

Anyway, I hope y'all have a good weekend, much on the horizon?

Well you know with cats and dogs when they're healthy they have shiny coats and bright eyes? Same with humans but skin XD

I'm generally trying to chill at the moment, it's been a month. How about you?

I get it, and considering how things are going for me at the moment, I'm not surprised I'm glowing like a pregnant woman. Lol. It's been a bot of a journey to be honest, but things are going quite well from my health condition perspective...I was at hospital only today and whilst I don't enjoy all the visits, I'm alive and thriving. (Not that I'd report it all on Hive it it was otherwise though.)

Chilling sounds good. Not much is on for today, hospital and doctors most of the morning and now a café to edit/work on a chapter of my book and Hive a little. An open garden tomorrow, which I'm hoping is awesome so a drive in the country a couple hundred kilometres from home and some picnic-style moments...I'm looking forward to that. I guess, basically chilling out like you.

What do you think about this topic? Have you ever contemplated your eventual demise, do you acknowledge it or push the thought aside as uncomfortable? What about your life?

Yes please, I have always contemplated my eventual demise, someday it will happen, so there's no need to shy away from it.

Every time I lose someone in death, I get this shiver and whisper" Who'll be next?".

This has made me make a constant effort to work on my bad traits to be a better version of myself and live my best life.


I think I am also intentional about my health, I've cut down on my intake of soda and fries, replaced sugar with honey in some cases and drank a lot of water, just maybe I could extend my life span with a healthy habit. Haha

Who'll be next?

Yep, maybe you, or someone else...but certainly there's always a next one. Best to live life better to make sure if it happens one hasn't wasted life right? It seems like you're on the right tracks which is great to hear.

cut down on my intake of soda and fries

Excellent plan, and replacing (or eliminating) sugar is a great move also, as is the water. Keep it up!

It always amazes me when people take absolutely no care of their body then are surprised when things start going downhill early!

Losing muscle is tough, it had happened to me and it's a Hella struggle to get it back. Skinny though, Sheesh. Drop a weight on their head!!

It's bonkers how some people take no responsibility for their health, physical or otherwise, and then be like, but, but...what happened, I was so healthy! Umm, nope, you were not. I guess people see it as an issue that might come in the future, but future issues begin now. I didn't really like the skinny comment, I'm actually not skinny at all, however I need to get some muscle back on so I feel more like myself, more protein and heavier weights...that's the trick.

That will defo do the trick. You are on it and will get it back for sure.

I have known big giant obese people in my life castigate me for not doing as much exercise as them. I am like hmm, yes 🤣

Haha, oh yeah, the person who loses a single kilogram, but still weighs 135kg handing out fitness advice. Legit. 🤪

That's the ones!! The ones that tell you how they lose weight every single month

Lol, yeah, they lose it by removing the feed bag from around their necks probably.

It's not something to avoid talking about but I think people should be a little more ..... Empathetic? You already know you are thin and she doesn't know your situation, so in my case I avoided giving that kind of comment, even if it's a good thing, but sometimes we don't know if it's good for the other person.

I have not imagined my demise but it is clear to me that we are all going to die and I am not afraid of it, I just hope it will be in the best possible conditions. I try to eat healthy things most of the time, but I also have days where I have a dessert, a hamburger, and why not a very cold glass of coke in this strong heat. What counts is what we do most of the time.

She meant it as a compliment I think. I'm not actually thin at all, not even close to thin, more like fit, healthy and trim, but she added an element of sarcasm which, here in Australia, is typical.

I think you're on the right track, there's sometimes foods and those we should eat more often. Balance. With the right amount of exercise I think that's the way to find a healthy and enjoyable balance.

Ah ok ok, I understand.

I totally agree with you about the balance. Greetings!

I was close to death once, thanks to a deadly disease. I thought I was as good as dead, my ticket was booked. My health was deteriorating almost daily and I could just see it, I could feel it too.

Yet, here I am 7 to 8 years later. Surely not in my fittest condition, I've looked and felt better, but I'm alive though.

Now all I care about is living a meaningful life. I may or may not live long, but before I go, I just wanna deal some damage(the good kind).

untitled.gif

It's interesting what a near-death experience can do for a person, how it often makes them want to wrong everything out if life they can; people tend to be better people as well, or so I've found it.

Meaningful life

Yep, such a great way to say it.

It's interesting what a near-death experience can do for a person

Let's just say that negative experience, came with a few positive outcomes. I got a lot of time to think and reminisce.

After I was off the meds, all fit and ready. I chose to turn my life around, I started to appreciate it more. Yeah, it's nowhere near perfect, but I'm trying to do better, for myself, and my loved ones.

Yep, such a great way to say it.

It's as simple as that. There's no need to complicate such things. Simplicity solves a lot of life's problems.

Finding the positive aspect/lessons from negative ones is one of the best thing a person can do in their life.

Interesting topic, I always love to talk about this, well I love to talk about many things.

I don't find the subject uncomfortable at all, on the contrary. It is part of life, passing to the other plane, how I will go I have no idea but I guess it will depend on how I live and I don't just mean the physical, the food, but the thoughts, values, and connection with myself.

I actively participate in life, having the best possible quality of life, food and walks... I am doing very well in that and as I always say (someday I will address that topic) the correct management of emotions so as not to get sick. The person is what he feels and what he thinks, that determines everything.

The values of life such as respect, honesty, discipline, responsibility, self-knowledge and understanding of oneself and others are what guide my life.

I have strayed from the path at times, not trusting myself and that hurt me, but then I got back on the right path.

Thank you Galen!

It's already a long comment but when I start to write I don't look haha.

I see so many people who (in my opinion) aren't fully engaged with their lives but I guess maybe for them they feel they are? I tend to focus on myself though, and make sure that I'm doing the right things in my own life and engaging/participating the best I can; it's important right?

We all stray from that path, I don't think it's possible to stay on the straight and narrow one hundred percent of the time, humans are not that perfect, but as long as one moves in the right general direction, makes the right choices most of the time, then I think a person can say they're doing well.

It seems you're well on track and I'm not surprised, or surprised that you've started, we all do.

Have a good Saturday.

Of course it is important, and very important.

Yes, we all stray, I think so, but the important thing is to go back and keep taking care of ourselves, to improve.

Let's keep doing well!

Very good Saturday Galen.😀

A lot of people say, when it's your time, it's your time. I've also heard a lot of stories where athletes, or really healthy people, suddenly have a heart attack, and died early. While I do agree that you can't do anything in those scenarios, taking care of yourself minimizes the amount of risk you have. For me I just eat everything in moderation, drink mostly water, and exercise from time to time. I still need to improve a lot of things in my life, but I get lazy.

A lot of people say, when it's your time, it's your time.

Agreed. I'm rather pragmatic about death, am not afraid of it, and figure after it happens I'll not care. Lol

a lot of stories where athletes, or really healthy people, suddenly have a heart attack, and died early.

This has happened quite recently with a couple of Australian sports personalities...It's a little confronting when these people fall off the perch and should serve as a reminder to others.

taking care of yourself minimizes the amount of risk you have

Indeed, and people should be focused on it...Physically and emotionally.

We all get lazy, (complacent is probably a better word), and take things for granted at times, I guess the key is to understand that complacency and arrest the backslide and get back on track.

The year of the donut! That is hilarious. Particularly so because 1997 was the year of the donut for me too. It was my first year living in the US. I loved Dunkin Donuts. I also love any other donuts. Summer was a big splurge on tubs of ice-cream. Every day. Hershey's Kisses. Every day. And another round of donuts thank you very much. I won't say how much weight I picked up. But when my family see photos of me back then they (in all seriousness) ask who THAT is in so many of the photos. I guess I looked rather donut like.

I love your choice of meal. Complete with coffee. I've been listening to a lot of testimonials from carnivores. No, not the African lion. The two legged variety. Coming from a real health nut background I have blown off carnivore for years. Buuuuuuuuuuuuuut............the evidence is mounting

We used to have Dunkin' Donuts here (left in 2014) and I lived them. I'm a huge fan of Donuts to be honest, although I don't like Krispy Kreme Donuts at all, more the traditional ones. I love oliebollen (Dutch Donuts) too.

Ah yes, 1997 t'was a donutty year, the good old days, but all good things come to an end, or at least a massive reduction...I have an occasional donut now, not much at all.

I didn't know you lived in the States, was that work?

Yip. I lived and worked internationally through my 20's. Middle East first then the States and then the UK. I loved it. I miss it but I also love home. And here we have koeksusters which is like a donut just twisted. Which I recently learned was what donuts used to look like before they became round. I guess like the shape they made many people into

That's cool, pretty worldly then, travel abroad does that to a person. I've been to a lot of places too and love the experiences.

Also, I like donuts in every shape, even had a kangaroo shaped one once...but I don't want to bE round so I don't eat many now.

Might be she was buttering with the later edited reply " you are glowing" 😂just kidding
I badly want to have a proper diet schedule as I am putting weight. Even just now I got free from doing workout. It's my second day of workout. During covid days, I decreased 12 kg weight. My previous weight was 80kg and then I reduced it to 68kg but now it again increased to 74. That's why I started exercise again. But I have one problem that I want to eat everytime. That's bad habit.

She might have been! Nah, she was being a little sarcastic, that's how Australians can be and she means no harm by it.

I'm pretty lucky in that I'm quite strong and fit, I guess losing a little weight has taken off a degree of muscle I want back, but I'm certainly no skinny little dweeb. I just lift more now, it'll come back...but being overall healthy, I mean because of my condition is the most important thing.

Eating good food at the right time and proportion usually gives us good health. You mean you actually do think of how you'll die? Never had such thought within myself before although I don't see anything wrong with it. I do push that thought aside but will start thinking about it. I don't like life to Push me front and back like one who doesn't have direction, hence I ensure I play my part very well to make my life a better place for me and all around me.

You mean you actually do think of how you'll die?

No, incorrect. As it says in the post, I acknowledge that it will happen.

I ensure I play my part very well to make my life a better place for me and all around me.

This is a good way to be and it'll mean you will probably get the best outcomes from your life. Well done.

To this regard, I have known for some time what would be the best diet for me.

I my case I have celiac dissease and lactose intolerant. So I have figured a more protein filled died will be better for me since neither grains seems to be kind to my intestine. Now, and that's the funny thing, eating healthy is quite expensive. Maragarines are cheap, butter is expensive. Protein is expensive in any form, even of peanuts, and in a world so saturated of carbohidrates it is a matter of life and death in many countries.

Still... when in doubt, fast. Let your system rest from all the very posible toxins corporations throw at you. I did intermitent fasting for a year. I went from having 93 kilograms to 65 kilograms and even now that I left it (I couldn't get enough protein to keep my muscles from also being self devoured), years later, I don't gain weight. I feel better with myself... and I believe the best life is the one that suits you better. Like food. What's healthy to some might you, and the same goes to the way you live your life. That is my experience.

Ah ok, two difficult things to manage, although here both are well-catered for in most places.

eating healthy is quite expensive

Yes for sure...one of the reasons that those in a lower socio-economic bracket (usually) have a poorer diet and more complications.

It's important to know what works for the individual and what may work for one may not for another; for individuals, understanding how they work best, what is right, is a big step towards a better life, and then acting on it is the next. It seems you've got things under control and are well on track.

A day is ready for us, with our name on it. And that day will come for everyone. So, we should enjoy every moment of this life as this life is given to us for only one time.
Once we die there is no way back to this life. Moreover, i will pray for you.
And here you are with 10kg loss and here i am badly in want for weight gain. I have gained a bit and will keep trying for it.

But remember galenkp, you and me or any person the earth is not going to die before the certain time. So never worry about the end of life, just do good deeds and works which bring satisfaction to you.
Regards

It's always a good day when one's feet hit the ground in the morning right?

and here I am badly in want for weight gain.

Start lifting heavy weights.

So never worry about the end of life

As I said, I don't worry about it, I focus on the life itself, not dying.

Yep. It feels really good. We got another day to live, another day to spend with special people, woohoo.

Start lifting, heavy weights

Already on it, mate.

Don't forget leg day.

That was a trick comment...Every day is leg day!

Lol, i still dont understand.

Really? Ok, maybe, every day is leg day, isn't a thing over there, just everywhere else in the world.

Oh i just googled it.
I understand now.

isn't a thing over there

Or maybe i didnt knew it before.

But now i understand.

Congratulations @galenkp! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 1000 HP on Hive Power Up Day and got the biggest Power-Bee!
See you at the next Power Up day to see if you will repeat this feat.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

PIZZA!
The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!