You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Counter of Enough

in Reflectionslast year

At this point in his life, I think my father recognizes that he will be more financial stable than any of his four children. On top of that, he still very much likes what he does and continues to work into his 70s as a real estate attorney. And to be honest, he shows no signs of slowing down. I'm glad he enjoys what he does, and even more so, enjoys the company and camaraderie of his coworkers in the office. He is definitely one of the few people I know who relishes the commute to work and heading into the office. I'm much happier working from home, but I think it would actually drive him mad. At the first opportunity to come back into the office during the pandemic, he jumped at the opportunity. Good for him, I'm glad he enjoys his time at his law practice... us 4 kids of his are going to need all the help we can get!

Sort:  

Good for him, I'm glad he enjoys his time at his law practice... us 4 kids of his are going to need all the help we can get!

:D

I find a lot of people who retire, tend to go downhill faster than those who don't. Perhaps with all that time and no pressure, there is little will to actually learn anything new and stay sharp?

I think it has a lot to do with families and hobbies. As long as somebody has something to keep them motivated and active, I think they will do well as they get older. But those who have nothing to do or look forward to, those are the ones who will really struggle.