The Counter of Enough

in Reflectionslast year

A friend was visiting tonight who in her words, is "barely working" anymore, because while she isn't filthy rich, she is comfortable, has enough invested and coming in and, doesn't have a high overhead on her life. So in her mid-50s, she made the decision to slow down a lot and just have things tick over, donating her time to women's shelters and with friends and family.

image.png

It is an enviable position, but how many of us are ever going to be able to make that decision, even if we had enough money to do so? Because when that money is coming in, it is hard to give it up and turn away from it.

Greed?

Maybe.

But also, not necessarily. They say the happiest people are those who get paid for doing what they love, so why is it wrong to keep doing it, just because it is earning money? Should musicians and artists be forced to retire at 65? Should they stop charging for their work once they have enough money in the bank? Slow down, stop being so greedy? Why is there a difference in the way we see for example, someone creating art, and someone managing a company?

We are greedy.

We all want more of something, whether it be money, sex, power, pleasure, free time, intimacy, love...

Right?

This is human nature. We are hardwired to want more and likely, to never be completely satisfied with what we have. Because if we were to accomplish some kind of "perfect harmony" where we all had precisely enough of everything and were 100% content, we wouldn't do anything more, we wouldn't change. And because change is a constant pressure in the universe, ultimately, no matter how perfectly created something is, once it is created, it start to become imperfect, as the environment changes around it.

Still content with a failing creation?

This post seems to be heading off track, but my point is that with a lot of people looking to retire from their jobs because they don't like them, they simultaneously seem to have the impression that those who are earning well are also only doing it because of the money, not because they like what they do.

Sex, Drugs and Rock 'n Roll.

The Rolling Stones are still rolling.

The funny thing is, that those without money (people like me) will see those who are earning well in business as greedy if they keep working, if they have enough. Yet, when we look at a different profession, we want them to keep working, because we enjoy what they are producing. It is a double-standard based on our opinions and own greed to get our own Satisfaction. When we don't value the work they are doing because it doesn't impact on our lives, they are greedy.

But, since most of the work in this world is irrelevant for the survival of the species (and likely threatens it anyway), we are largely trying to make enough from it so that we can retire and never have to do it again. However, most of us will never get to that point and probably, through economic mismanagement or technological development, we will be forced out due to our growing unsuitability for the changing environment. We won't be in demand, because we aren't fast enough, strong enough or smart enough. We can't keep working, because we can't meet the needs of the moment.

Irrelevance.

I think that my friend is enjoying her professional irrelevance (by choice), however, she is also recognizing that she needs more of something in her life. And as such, she is finding meaning in her life by connecting with women and children struggling with abusive relationships, and making herself more present in the lives of her family and friends - something that she neglected to do for decades. However, if she had done all of this prior to doing all the work that allows her retirement, her ability to actually help would be diminished, as would her time, because rather than helping, she would be working in order to pay for the groceries and mortgage.

There is a cost to every action and there might also be a return on every action too. However, it is up to us as individuals to try and make meaning from our life, which generally requires, *doing more of something in one area, and less of something in another. However, that hierarchy of what is important and what is not, is going to vary from person to person.

An artist might sell a painting for a million dollars and get global praise. A researcher could develop cure a type of cancer, and not even get a mention in the local newspaper. Should the researcher become an artist instead? Can the artist become a cancer-curing researcher?

There is never enough in this world.
Which keeps us creating more.

More of what though?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

You see, while I do agree on some stuff, one never knows what the future holds... And that is the main problem. What if you fall sick? What if your car burns down, what if your house gets ripped apart by hard gusting winds.. Then you've got to dig into your savings to rebuild and perhaps have nothing left at the end of the day.

With that said if preparations were indeed made for such events then it might be okay. But there are always factors that we don't count in that might happen.

We all know life has a way of knocking when you've got your pants on your knees ey😂

I suppose everyone just wants to live their life as they see fit

Yep. Too many people "retire" too early without padding and failsafes. This particular person is going to be okay with the majority of those things.

There is actually a similar issue in New York with not being able to find taxis when it rains. When it rains, more people use taxis and therefore, the taxi drivers hit their "number" for the day early and knock off and go home, rather than make more money in the rain, so they can take a day off when it is sunny and everyone is walking.

Interisting to know about the taxi's, it makes more than sense! I'd be the one still driving😂 if you started they day with work just end it working🙁 like you said rather have the sunny day off😂 why else waste your life🤔

I agree with you, @tarazkp. How much is enough? Should one put limits on dreams or on the bank account? I admire, without knowing her, your friend. She is doing what many of us should do: after we have worked on ourselves, we can help others. I understand that if we work on what we like, it can be more fun and less hard, but we always need a break: body, mind and even family demand our time. My dream, after I have some savings in my bank account, is to buy a house on the beach, surround myself with books, drink beer, wine, while I write my posts on Hive, which by that time will have a cryptocurrency more valuable than gold. Dreaming is free and dreams come true. A nice and excellent Wednesday to you, my friend.

I have visualized a similar dream myself! A little place with large glass windows that look out to sea, a mostly off-grid electricity source and a decent internet connection :)

Books and wine are very good. But for this it is not necessary to have a bank account, Hive or BTC is enough.

Maybe it's just me, but I think it is pretty small the percentage of people who are actually doing what they love. They may have once loved it, but after a while the shine has worn off or they just outright settled.

Not just you. Most people follow their career path based on what they think they can earn from it.

Are we greedy? Oh, yes I agree with you as we are! The more we achieve what we want, the more we aim for more! I guess that our human nature 😬. Then came to a point we will be lacking appreciation of everything we have as 🥹.

Your friend is kinda lucky, now I am thinking that I could also slow down at 50? I think the answer is NO, unless I will be winning in a lottery.

Even the people who just want to relax, will keep searching for more relaxation!

I love to read about this topic, we should try to keep work and life balance all the time, money or wealth is not a solution to every problem on earth we need so many other things which even we can't buy with money to live a happy and satisfied life

Money is not the solution, but I think that wealth covers more than just money, but money is a component of wellbeing in this society.

It's a matter of perspective, eh?

For people who really hate their job, it's hard to understand that other people love their job enough to want to keep working. Love their job? Impossible. It has to be the money.

Wish I was able to do what your friend is doing. Then again, I love my job, so I'd keep doing it even if I didn't have to. Well, maybe not quite as much of it. ;)

For people who really hate their job, it's hard to understand that other people love their job enough to want to keep working. Love their job? Impossible. It has to be the money.

Yet, they argue that they are empathetic...

The "not quite as much of it" resonates with me. I would like to do some other things on the side, or my job on the side :)

Arrrggh. I hate it when you get me thinking. Then words fail me.

I have a weird relationship with having money... A scarcity mindset often nudges me to assume it is not for me to have that much money and basic needs are to be strived for. This has dragged 40 to my face without saving meaning unless I pay attention for the next five years, I'll remain in this cycle.

I would hate it. As that means struggling through my fifties. And by doing so, I'll just climb the financial ladder say affording basic needs without feeling the weight. Not even close to where you are.

This can only prophecy zero retirements for me. If I am to live by the standards I want, I'll have to be still working. That means that I need to now embody my passion and go with it otherwise I will get bored to death.

I think 'greed' and 'is it enough' apply diverse meanings for all of us. What I hope is we find the beauty in the journey of life is for living.

My regards to your friend. She is instantly loved 🔆

Arrrggh. I hate it when you get me thinking. Then words fail me.

Words fail me all the time! so do my thoughts ;P

Bored to death or worked to death doing something you don't want to do. Either way, there are other options out there :)

I experience one more thing on this too. When you feel enough you would meet people who force you to believe you are not enough and force you to feel bad about you being minimalist. And when you don't become minimalist you tend to meet people who are practicing the minimalism. It kind of paradoxical how we move in loop of this.

Lol yes! We have a reinforcement feedback loop that always makes us feel inadequate - the life of a consumer - just one more purchase will set me free!

Will you take your money to the grave?

This is aksed for the greedy people in my country. I think after a certain age or money accumulation, we should start to spend it. Otherwise, we may not have time to do so or it is not guarantee that we will have a long life.

Will our children have a better life after we are buried?

I don't think so. I think they will have more difficult life conditions such as climate change, water and food scarcity and rivalry however much technology eases life.

We should not judge those who continue to work, just as we admire those who quit work and make do with what they have and help others. People can work and spend their money as they wish. Everyone can live their passion. People always tend to be prejudiced, but at least let's not be one of them.

People can work and spend their money as they wish. Everyone can live their passion.

Until they start demanding other people pay, so they can live their dreams, spending someone else's money.

Oh, of course that's not what I meant. Everyone can spend their own money. Not other people's.

Probably this differs from person to person, also depends on in which phase of your life you are in (for instance kids or not, kids studying or not).
For me personally I do like the money I earn, but I do work to life not the other way around. I had that phase but decided a few years ago, that I am not willing to give up more of my life to get a bigger paycheck!
While I do like my live and also work, I would happy to have the guts to get another less demanding job and earn a little bit less. But the mortgage isn't paid off yet, kids still need to study another 10 years, so I do have that as highest priority!
Not that I am in the quite quitting phase but it did come close.
I did resign from my previous job last year because the life balance was getting into the wrong direction. I just wanted to do my job at the client and that's it. But due to my experience and hierarchy in the company, I was more or less forced to do extra tasks. I was willing to accept a same job at another company for a lower paycheck but at the end I am earning just as much, just with less responsibility.

but I do work to life not the other way around.

It is about meaning. Some find meaning in what they do (weirdly in some cases).

Our financial needs dictate our job for the most part. Many can't downscale, without having to give up things they care about. So, working is the only way to meet needs.

I was willing to accept a same job at another company for a lower paycheck but at the end I am earning just as much, just with less responsibility.

Sounds good!

At this point in his life, I think my father recognizes that he will be more financial stable than any of his four children. On top of that, he still very much likes what he does and continues to work into his 70s as a real estate attorney. And to be honest, he shows no signs of slowing down. I'm glad he enjoys what he does, and even more so, enjoys the company and camaraderie of his coworkers in the office. He is definitely one of the few people I know who relishes the commute to work and heading into the office. I'm much happier working from home, but I think it would actually drive him mad. At the first opportunity to come back into the office during the pandemic, he jumped at the opportunity. Good for him, I'm glad he enjoys his time at his law practice... us 4 kids of his are going to need all the help we can get!

Good for him, I'm glad he enjoys his time at his law practice... us 4 kids of his are going to need all the help we can get!

:D

I find a lot of people who retire, tend to go downhill faster than those who don't. Perhaps with all that time and no pressure, there is little will to actually learn anything new and stay sharp?

I think it has a lot to do with families and hobbies. As long as somebody has something to keep them motivated and active, I think they will do well as they get older. But those who have nothing to do or look forward to, those are the ones who will really struggle.

An artist might sell a painting for a million dollars and get global praise.

I only succeeded selling my first NFT for 110 hive. Later I tried I selling some for as little as 25 and even 11 hive but no one bought it. Simply playing splinterlands and writing battle posts seems like a better deal. At least more stable.

But, perhaps if you loved doing the art, you might end up building a career :)

Irrelevance is the name of the game.
Acceptance or Defiance.
We find rest in one and meaning in the other.
There should be balance, though.
Can't have it perfect forever, indeed.

A couple of years ago, I found yet another meaning in planting more trees. All I do, though, is buy trees already grown and find a place for them to take root. Which is a challenge on its own.

Watching abandoned village yards, though, I can clearly see Nature will do fine without my help if only nobody would mess around. Even in our yard, a walnut sapling appears where a bird has dropped some nut. A linden sapling appears where the wind has brought a seed from somewhere completely out of sight.

We have a rock song the main line of which translates as

I wanna be a director...of a waterfall.

I guess I would be happy to direct that water downwards all day long.

Have you seen those pictures from abandoned towns and factory areas and how quickly nature springs back?

Aye. But I see a lot of destruction of ecosystems / habitats as well. Happens a bit quicker even though it's not as consistent.

You have a good point here!
I think that Money is just a tool for us to reach the style of living that we desire, that we need to sustain our children (or else) and so on.
But then, when it's enough, it's enough. And here comes the capacity of us to distinguish what is really life and what is just a mere rat-race (in a wider perspective than Kiyosaki one).

Bring my compliments to her! I hope she will use her time to support charities and other social causes that definitely may need her help!

I think we are all looking for a space in life we can call our own. Working to death for someone else is unlikely to be fulfilling for long.

on a side note:
https://hive.blog/bitcoin/@robertkiyosaki/how-to-get-rich-from-cryptocurrency-without-buying-it

Too much is never enough right XD

I always want more - to feed my masochist tendencies!

Not all people are greedy. A minority may stop in the race for money.
A happy person is the one who pays himself and does what he loves.
Oh yes, the lucky person on Hive is the one who catches all the pumps in a year))

Catches all the pumps and buys all the dips :)

Yes, all the big failures, every few years.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

You are right
Nothing is enough and that is why we should not put a limit to whatever we want to do or whatever we want to achieve.
We should have it in mind that we will surely upgrade

I can relate to there being a cost to every action. I spent the better part of my younger years working hard and putting in the hours. Doing everything I could do to be more "successful" so I could provide more for my family. All the while depriving them of my presence a good deal of the time. So yeah, It worked out, and I was able to adequately provide for the family financially, but did I deprive them of me? And how did that ultimately impact them in the long run? So far they don't hate me, so that is something.

Everything is possible - no matter how unlikely.