Navigating Friendship Amidst Comparison: A Tale of Vulnerability

in Reflections5 months ago


IMG-20231217-WA0054.jpg

Comparison is indeed a stealer of joy.

I was on the phone with my friend few hours ago, and we were discussing about the year, how our relationship went, if we were as intentional as we ought to be about our friendship, if there was anything we could have incorporate and done better in, careers wise, relationship, finances and even to our self development.

It was a moment of vulnerability for the both of us 😅.

You know, this made me remember there was a point In time, I felt like I was lagging behind, my friend has it all figured out, while I didn't even know what the next thing to do was😅.

No plans, no nothing, I was just living on vibes and inshallah.

You know, we finally got to that part where I blurted out that, "do you know there was a time I was so jealous of you?"

She was shocked, because according to her, what was there to be jealous about. But for real, a whole lot.

My friend is the cool headed one, she knows just the right thing to say at every point in time, she has loads of valuable relationship she has built over time, she has the perfect circles. Family members nko? Perfect! I felt God blessed her more than every other person.

Then she decided to burst my burbles too, and told me she had to talk to someone few days back because she felt she was overthinking. According to her, the rate of my evolvement makes her feel like I will leave her behind If she does not gird up her loins.

And I was like, how? My life isn't even that rosy and sweet. It just looks like that, moreover, I'm trying to focus on ME at this stage of my life.

Abi, if I can't be you, then I will build myself to that person I want to be intentionally.

And then, she made a striking statement, she said "you're always the happy one."

You know, it hit me straight up, I wanted to be cool headed like her while she wants to be as happy and carefree as I am.

Wow!

What a life!

untitled.gif

And this actually made us drift apart for awhile. I was trying not to be in her space, so I wouldn't have to hear about all her latest escapades and she stopped coming over to my side, because she thinks I'm doing too much lol 😅. Whereas, I'm just barely surviving and trying to thrive in all.

If anyone ask me what I would advise my younger self, it would be to stop comparison. Comparison can be healthy yeah, but most time, it isn't always healthy.

Everyone has something they are battling with, and trust me, no one has it a figured out. Even those who look like they have it all figured out, move close enough and you'd discover that, they are just taking it a step at a time.

Comparison steal joy.
Comparison create unnecessary rifts between people.

I would have lost my friend, because anywhere we get to, her before me ni 😅.

Anyways, one way we have been able to help ourselves is that, we intentionally carry each other along in our plans, that way I know what you're doing per time, and no one is swinging in surprises on the other person and then jealousy sprungs up in the other person mind.

And yes, overtime I have come to accept that, somethings are just meant to be, and it doesn't make me any lesser than I am.

My friend could be the one meant in the limelight, doesn't mean I am not doing well, and I could be the one in the limelight, doesn't mean she is not doing well.

The more you compare, you loose your joy, you feel dissatisfied, and weirdly enough, you wouldn't see how green the leafs are on your fields but you'd keep seeing someone's own, and wish it was yours.

Life!


GIF by Tenor

Sort:  

This is really thought provoking. Comparism isn't good at all, it creates unnecessary tension that might lead to break up in friendship.
I can't remember comparing myself to anyone because I am unique and exceptionally made. ❤️
I am me.

Exactly. We have been created uniquely. But it took some of us s longer time to understand this

I'm glad I know how powerful and strong ME is right now.

That I would not call friendship. Friends meant to help each other, not be jealous of each other. You can't compare yourself to anyone as you are very different, have different resources an capabilities. The faster you understand that, the better for you. Walk your own way, that's what I think.

Well, the fact that we get jealous of each other doesn't mean we aren't friends. It was more of not wanting to outgrow the other to the point where our friendship will end up being affected.

In all, I'm glad I got to know the beauty in not comparing ME with anyone.

Congratulations @enioluwafe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023

Life can be like that, like the saying goes not everyone with a big stomach is filled. You might think the other person is better than you but the truth is everyone has their own problems they’re battling with. So comparing yourself with others isn’t the best thing to do
Just do you and you’ll find peace within yourself.