You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speed and its impact

in Reflections3 months ago

Hi Galen, I got my driver's license at a late age for what is usual here in Spain, at 23 years old. I got it for work reasons, it was useful for me for a few years to have my own car. Now I don't have a car, and I only use it as a rental when I need it. I have always been a very cautious driver, I have always been aware that a car can become a deadly weapon. As for speed limits, I think they are more about collecting money than anything else. A hug

Sort:  

Yep, I agree the government use speed limits to raise revenue, other traffic infringements also I guess. I think speed limits are valid though, when used correctly and in the right circumstances.

In Spain the same thing happens, it must be a universal phenomenon to limit the speed, and here are my thoughts on the subject. That with the numerous unnecessary expenses of the Spanish public administration, among them a fleet of 36,266 official cars, it is intended to collect even more money from the pockets of citizens, to me it seems immoral and a robbery. And, it is not that I am against speed limits and other traffic regulations. What angers me, and very much, is the continuous theft of a public administration that does not stop wasting resources that are not theirs, they belong to the citizens.

Government are very good at taking and not so good at giving back generally I guess, it's probably the case all over the world. The waste of resources annoys me also.

Galen, you may have already noticed that I am also very annoyed by the waste of resources, it's already a night for me, have a great day.