Out-of-bounds!

Here we go again. Looks like the oldest son has another injury. He is on a winter holiday with his school. Only the Friday before departure he did get the green light of the orthopedic surgeon to have some snowboard fun, if he would wear a brace.

So, we were a little bit worried about his knee. But that wasn't necessary. Half way his winter holiday the snowboard fun has come to an abrupt end.

image.png

Yesterday shortly after lunch, he did loose control and went through the fences of the slope. I have no idea how strong these nets are, but we went through them, getting strangled with his right wrist. So after a few minutes the wrist started to swell and the pain kicked in. Not funny, when you do get a text: "I think I broke my wrist or at least firmly bruised it."
Being more than 1000 km apart it is hard to judge how severe it was.

This morning he went to the medical and we now do have the verdict. A gamekeeper's thumb and a bruised wrist. So again a ligament injury. Now he does have a cast and it is unclear to me, what degree the ligament injury is. If I did understand it correctly, surgery probably isn't necessary. These things do happen! But he again. His medical record is starting to have some decent proportions. It is now that he is climbing trees al day or does practice a sport like skateboarding where injuries are part of life.
He did crack his wrist a few years ago (bicycle accident), broke his nose (assault from behind his back), suffered a severe ACL injury (still recovering), needed eye surgery after chicken-pox (I kid you not) and now his wrist. I guess some people have all the bad luck.

He does take it well, like he always does (besides the ACL). He really has a good mental health/strength for a 14 year old. He is almost at the end of his ACL recovery, but really is fed up with it now. Which I can imagine. 3 times a week to the physiotherapist for already 14 months, can't be taken lightly. But he still faces probably the most difficult part, which is building up the condition. Starting to work to being match fit. Coming from 5 days a week of football to a complete stop for already 14 months and still 2 to 3 months left in the recovery plan!

When I was young(er) I also went on winter holidays. Luckily I never broke something but had some nasty falls and like I guess everyone some lucky escapes. I did ski off track, through the forest, at night (had to come down from the pub on top), drunk ... Really can remember my thoughts during some of these downhills. A fall now, wouldn't be a good idea and could be disastrous. Besides breaking a finger (the wall was stronger than my finger) I never broke something or did tear some ligaments.
Just like him I was a footballer, but never had to stay longer than 2 or 3 games at the side. Just like him when I woke up I was thinking about football and fell a sleep thinking about football. So, yes I am proud about how he deal with it all! Probably he has more mental strength than I have. He told me on the phone this morning that masturb***ting is out of the question :). What can you answer on that statement?

We will have him back on Saturday, guess will have to carry his bags!

Cheers,
Peter

Sort:  

I stay away from the slopes for this very reason. I have never skied in my life and I have a feeling I probably never will. I did some cross country once a long time ago, but that doesn't really count does it? My nieces roommate messed up her ACL and even after surgery she is still having issues with it. That can be a tough one to conquer for sure!

Cross country is something completely different indeed.
The ACL is already strong enough again, now they have to wait until the body will accept the new ACL. In the old days, one could practice sports again after ACL surgery after 6 months, now this has been extended up to 9 months. All based on stats of course.

I know she has been playing softball after her injury and surgery, but it still bugs here quite a bit. She played a double header the other day and I heard her complaining to her dad about how badly it hurt after the games.

!PIZZA for you

That sucks!!

My colleague broke her wrist boarding last week - granted, she decided to go despite a 39C fever!

That wasn't smart. Never sport when having a fever. Actually nothing is good when having a fever.
He will get over it.

Shit man, sorry to hear that, sounds pretty sore, hopefully he is on the mend and back fighting fit soon.

He sounds pretty okay in the phone so no worries, I hope.
We will see him tomorrow morning.