You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My home

in Reflections3 months ago

home is thoughts and feelings, emotions, shared love and connection, my cat, the comfortable scents and sounds and the look of her eyes upon me when I catch her looking

Mine is similar just switching the cat for a dog.
However, I have a more complex feeling about all of this. I understand the symbology about "castle" reminds us of a super protected place, full of towers and unbeatable walls. In my point of view, I associate a cave as my home, not because my home is a dark place. But a cave was our first shelter as humans, protected from the rain and dangers from outside. Inside the cave is very comfy, it is a nest that me and my wife have been building for years. And now for 6 years we are parents. A cave because is my hiding place from the world, the daily job routines, and stressful moments to solve problems outside. I have always had this feeling of my cave since I rented my first apartment after getting married.

It is always hard moving from a cave to another, even bringing our nest together. I always suffer a lot in this process, but I changed two times of apartment from my hometown, then I changed to another country. And two years ago I changed from east to west in this country, miles away. I feel that from every moving I leave a part of "home" behind, and I miss some parts. However, the main core of this home is always with me.

Sort:  

You leave part of home behind you?

That's sad as it means those places you move to feel less and less like your true home.

I'm the opposite guess, I feel that the journey through my life makes each place I live more my home as it is the culmination of all of my experiences, thoughts and feelings into one time and place and it's all of those things that help to make each place home. Besides, home isn't a place I guess, it's a feeling of belonging and that comes from inside me.

We're all different though and have different thoughts, thanks for sharing yours.

Mostly friends and good memories! But for sure after every moving I build new memories. It is sad to see this things that were left behind, but i praise a lot about the things that are in my current place :)