You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nothing Left to Eat

in Reflections4 months ago

Here for a good time, not a long time.

Hey, plenty of people are having a shit time and a short time, so I'm not sure there's a lot of justice. I'm a big believer (if that's a matter of belief, even) in healthy diet, exercise, you know, living the right life. Largely because I enjoy it. I don't think I'd have much success with healthy eating or regular workouts if I didn't like doing that. For me, "it's good for you" just isn't enough of an incentive...

That being said, I do think a lot of people are deluding themselves. That if only they eat enough greens, or do enough squats or abstain from alcohol, tobacco or whatever else, they might find immortality. If only they're good enough boys and girls. I don't think that's how it works, though. Not guaranteed to, at least.

Personally, I'm looking for a balance between work/eat/exercise/whatever for tomorrow, and a more YOLO attitude. In all areas, from financial to dietary. Because I've met a few people sacrificing constantly for the ever-elusive tomorrow, who ended up getting nothing. Getting ill anyway. Or dying before they could use their savings, take that trip or do whatever they'd hoped to do in future. If the tomorrow bet lucks out, then you're golden. But if it doesn't?

I don't think it is going to end well for any of us, which is probably why more people are looking to get what pleasure they can, now - before there is none left.

Sadly, I think so too. I also think our society is designed in such a way to breed depression and helplessness, and many of us will do anything, no matter how nasty and unhealthy, to temporarily alleviate that.

Sort:  

plenty of people are having a shit time and a short time,

Absolutely - but I think there is something worse when it is self-inflicted.

For me, "it's good for you" just isn't enough of an incentive...

I don't think it is enough incentive for most of us, which is why we fail. So, what does incentivize it enough?

There are some people who want to live longer - then there are those who want to suffer less. However, I feel that the yolo life leads to increased suffering, or "postponed" suffering perhaps. How long can it be put off for?

Because I've met a few people sacrificing constantly for the ever-elusive tomorrow, who ended up getting nothing.

Maybe it depends on whether there is a family. I don't mind not getting anything from my hard work - but I don't want my family to suffer from my lack of work.

I also think our society is designed in such a way to breed depression and helplessness, and many of us will do anything, no matter how nasty and unhealthy, to temporarily alleviate that.

This is the profit-seeking business model.

So, what does incentivize it enough?

I think it varies. I think it's a lot to do with mentality, also. Like, I cleaned up my act (and diet :D) for health reasons. Not any real problems, but I kept hearing about more natural diets and how they can help fine tune health issues. Gave it a try, and kept to it long enough to alter my taste system a bit, I guess. For me, the motivator rn is that I prefer what these healthier foods taste like. I was just talking to a friend about sugar - she asked oh, you're staying away from it? I said no, I literally don't enjoy sugary shit. Like I don't want it. Don't know what would motivate me if I didn't have that going, though.

I don't know when that happened. We're always talking about making healthy choices as a sacrifice (e.g. cutting carbs, sugars, processed foods). I mean, if you're going into it thinking it's going to be a constant struggle...

However, I feel that the yolo life leads to increased suffering, or "postponed" suffering perhaps.

In diet, particularly true. Sure binging Diet Cokes might look fun and harmless when you're 20, but you'll probably be regretting it in your 40s and 50s, you know?

I don't mind not getting anything from my hard work - but I don't want my family to suffer from my lack of work.

That's actually wonderful, my friend. it's very beautifully expressed. :)