You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heading into Danger

in Reflections10 months ago

Being a Good Samaritan or a hindrance?

Good point, my friend. Sure, I think most have the natural inclination to help others in misfortune. Unfortunately, in the civilizing process, it seems that prejudices and selfishness have undermined solidarity and collaboration with others. How far can we help without compromising ourselves? Especially when there are potential legal or incriminating consequences for suspicions.

Obviously, you hit the nail on the head. It all depends on your real capabilities.

You have reminded me of a recent event I witnessed on the road: at the entrance to a bridge, my daughter and I saw an individual fall off a motorcycle, a delivery man, and another man get off an SUV and run towards him. I stopped the vehicle, thinking I was going to help him, but to my surprise, the man started kicking and punching him for a few moments. My first reaction was to speed up and avoid him, but my daughter told me no, remembering my recently injured and still sore knee. The assailant returned to the SUV and so I advanced until I saw the motorized delivery man standing there with his face bloodied from the blows, but conscious, probably, the assailant had broken his nose.

We looked at each other for a few moments, and then I asked myself internally, "What did the delivery man do to make a normal-looking person lose his temper and act like a savage? I don't know, but I sense that it was either an exchange of words or a reckless action.

Anyway, I think both men had a lot to think about after the fact. What would you have done?

For me, at the time, my daughter was a sensible voice. I, too, reflected a lot on the event, hypothesizing about what I saw for and against. And as you rightly say, it is preferable not to intervene in fights in the street (without being clear about the situation).

Greetings.

Sort:  

How far can we help without compromising ourselves? Especially when there are potential legal or incriminating consequences for suspicions.

This is one of the issues. Another is, how some people feign need to take advantage. Like in some carjacking and robberies.

What would you have done?

Called the police. But, perhaps stayed to watch for a bit. I saw footage the other day of a person who was cut off, ram the other car, flipping his own. When the person got out out to see if the attacker was okay, the attacker pulled a knife and chased him.

This is the world now...