Lessons Learned in 2023: A Reflection

in Reflections5 months ago

Hello, Hivers! Here I am again for another blog. How's your Christmas break so far? I hope you all had time to enjoy it with your loved ones or had recuperated well before hitting the ground running this 2024. As we venture into another year, allow me to share to you all some lessons I learned in the year 2023 and hopefully, you can also relate to.

20231228_171531_0000.png


1. DON'T RUSH.

IMG_20231228_143423.jpg


As cliche as it may sound, it's tiring to keep rushing things to happen. As per assessment, I realized that it stems from the pressure I felt because people in my age group are already ahead of me and I feel like I'm lagging behind. I feel like I should have done more given that I'm already in my early twenties. I made decisions that I regret, I did actions that I was not supposed to do and pressed myself too much to the point of exploding. In the midst of quietness, it dawned on me how much weight these pressures I put on myself. I had to slow down and allow things to happen because I have my own timeline to follow, not a society to conform or get jealous of. These days, I always remind myself to do things one step at a time as there's no true joy and fulfillment in rushing.

2. YOU BECOME STRONGER BY DOING THINGS THAT SCARES YOU.

IMG_20231228_150926.jpg

IMG_20231228_150813.jpg

IMG_20231228_172436.jpg


I can attest to this. I did a lot of things I'm afraid of this year. Firstly was when I decided to have my two molar teeth extracted. Thinking about tooth extraction really scares me knowing that I had low pain tolerance. But still I did it! Yes, there's pain but the total relief you're going to feel after was so worth it. Secondly was when I decided to ride a ferris wheel. I was way too afraid because I had motion sickness. I was even shaking but good thing My Mom and Sister were there with me and offered comforting words I badly needed. I did recover after and there's no regret after all. Lastly was when I needed to undergo Complete Blood Count (CBC) because of the medical requirements for school. I kid you not, I'm scared of needles. Fortunately, the nurse was so gentle and of course I made it. All of these things I'm scared to do turned out to be not scary at all. I realized that the fear was just in my mind. And as I leave 2023, I'm no longer afraid that at some time in the future I might encounter these things again. Props to myself!

3. LIVE EACH DAY AS IF IT'S YOUR LAST.

IMG20220326180806_01.jpg


I have learned to embrace this mindset when I realized how finite time is. Everything is just so uncertain on earth and we don't even know when it will be our last day. I've heard sad stories about a loved one's untimely passing, it may be on the news or someone I'm close with. It really opens my mind to pay attention to the power of the present as life never fails to throw us unexpected heartbreaks. In every moment of my day, I made sure to display the best version of myself. It may be when I'm at school, in front of my family members or if I'm together with my friends. There's really an unwavering strength when you decide to live each day as your best self.

4. BE UNAPOLOGETICALLY AUTHENTIC.

IMG_20231228_144043.jpg


I'm just done with showing my unreal self. I'm done with faking how I feel, how I should act and how I would live my life. I realized that I become bolder and more powerful if I learn to control my own narrative and just present myself as who really I am without the fear of being judged. My imperfections, my failures turned into lessons and my own physical features—all represent the real me. This year, I instil the value of appreciating my authenticity because it's where I will truly shine.

5. FAMILY IS EVERYTHING.

FB_IMG_1703746566398.jpg

FB_IMG_1703746518479.jpg


I think I can agree with what others say that no matter what happens, you'll always have your family. Year 2023 has been somehow an explosive year for me but my little family really plays an important role in becoming my cornerstone. When everything gets heavy, they are there visibly comforting me that it's going to be okay. This gives me an assurance that no matter how bumpy the road is or how heavy everything is—I'll always have them to turn to.

6. NOT ALL THINGS GO ACCORDING TO PLAN.

IMG_20231228_144451.jpg


I had many set plans before I started the year 2023 but most of them did not happen according to what I expected it to be. At some point, it broke my heart, it crushed me but then I realized that there must be some underlying reasons why it did not went according to my favor. It might be that I'm not fully ready to have those things or God might be preparing something better for me. Either way, I'm happy with my current place right now and in that regard, I'm still grateful.


IMG_20231228_142813.jpg


That would be all for today my dear, Hivers! There's actually more than six lessons I learned this year but I only picked the highlights to share with all of you. You all can also list or write down the lessons you've learned this 2023 before you'll have a fresh start in the year 2024. Anyway, I hope you enjoy reading this blog of mine. Advance Happy New Year! See you on my next blog!

Sort:  

Rushing things will not lead to any good. I just realized it by now. Huhu. Thank you for sharing things wonderful realization, @maryjolly! (⁠◕⁠ᴗ⁠◕⁠✿⁠)

You're welcome @douceink . I'm glad you're able to relate to one of my realizations this year.

what a very nice reflection you have, miss @maryjolly! I can see that 2023 has taught you a lot. I personally agree with these things especially with number six. It was one of the most heartbreaking thing that ever happened to me this year but I know He has better plans for me.

Thank you for sharing all of these! May God bless you always🤍

It's so sad and frustrating if the things we plan did not work out as what we expect it to be but we know that He always have better plans for us. But it's okay, @higeeyuh . Let's just trust Him. What's the most important thing is we keep going. Cheers to a stronger version of ourselves this 2024.🤗

Congratulations @maryjolly! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - January 1st 2024

Thank you, @hivebuzz !

That's great @maryjolly! You're doing a great job on Hive! We keep cheering you on for your next goal!

Thank you for sharing your experience ma'am @maryjolly. We are facing different challenges everyday. But struggling with these challenges make us become stronger and wiser.

I couldn't agree more @edver. With what I had encountered, it helped me grow stronger and wiser as I face the year 2024.