You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heading into Danger

in Reflections10 months ago

In the heat of the moment it is sometimes hard to think about what might be the safe choice to make. My son was sitting on the balcony and watched a car drive up and shoot a man who was walking down the sidewalk in front of his condo. My son could see blood pooling under the man and grabbed a towel and raced out while others called the police. He was still putting pressure on the gunshot wound when the man died. I asked if it ever occurred to him to wonder where the shooter was at and if he was in any danger himself. He said his only thought was that the man knew that he had not died alone and that someone cared.

Sort:  

That is a crazy story. I haven't been in anything quite like that, but I have seen people put themselves into dangerous situations for others, without thought. I would hope, that if someone I cared for was in trouble, someone would care enough to be there for them if they can.

As a mother, you might not want your son to put himself in danger, but also be glad he did. At least, since he is okay after.

As a mother I was horrified that he had that terrible experience, but I could not have been more proud of him.