Looking Back on My Teacher Journey

in Reflections5 months ago

Every year the 16th of January is Thailand's National Teachers Day. It's the day that we'll take some time off ourselves and think about one important role in our lives. The one who teaches you and guides you on the right path through this complicated world. The one that's being called a "teacher".

S__5046318.jpg


If you've ever read my post about my work, you might already know that my work revolves around the field of education 90% of the time. (Hmm talking about that, I definitely ought to write more about it). If you're not familiar with me, hello and welcome to my space, where today, I'd like to talk about my job as a teacher on our National Teacher's Day.


S__5046316_0.jpg

Right after graduation, highly motivated me decided to join this fellowship program of a non-governmental organization (NGO) to become a teacher in an underprivileged school, here in Bangkok.

The purpose of the program is to "empower" a leader with a true understanding of Thailand's problematic education system, in the hope of using the knowledge and experience throughout these 2 years to drive a future change in the society.

Having the same goal of improving Thai education and the doubt whether I can really be a "good" leader, I decided to become a teacher in this fellowship program. Since then, I knew I had chosen a teacher path for my life.


S__5046309_0.jpg


I promised myself that I was gonna be that cool teacher with lots of activities and fun classes, of course with the lessons that they needed. And, boy! What fun I had with them.

I only had 2 years in the program, so I tried to live every minute of it. I find various activities we can do together, like taking them to boardgame cafe and the E-sport broadcast studio.

39266652_10155517116451782_2445950640615063552_n_0.jpg


S__5046299.jpg

Boardgame Cafe


S__5046307_0.jpg

S__5046308_0.jpg


E-Sport Broadcast Studio


Especially, because I was working with underprivileged kids, I tried to give them as much as I could to show them what the world had to offer. Throughout this year, I saw that I put myself in the box of being a stereotypical dutiful teacher. Out of my goodwill, I tried to be the best teacher I could be for them. I've always thinking about how and what I'm gonna give my students.

S__5046301_0.jpg

visiting their houses

However, in reality, I've learned that the more important thing than just being a giver (teacher), is to be a person, who truly supports her students. Emotional support is far more crucial and needed than all the fancy activities.

S__5046305_0.jpg


S__5046311_0.jpg


Here's the last pic at the end of my post for today. This is me and my fellow teacher in the school on this 16th January years ago. The students were giving us flowers as a gesture of gratitude and it was one of the most rewarding days as a teacher, that I'm so grateful to be able to experience.

After 2 years, I came to my realization that the most important thing in being a teacher is to always be open-minded to learn from the students and by doing that one needs to be compassionate and non-judgmental.

To this day, I thank my students for opening my eyes and helping me learn the very important lesson of being a better person, which I still keep in my mind as I go down this road, moving forward.

S__5046310_0.jpg


If you're still here with me, Thank you so much for reading my post, and remember to...

Stay open-minded and keep learning, guys!

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜


Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Hello Teacher, happy day!. I am pleased to know this part of you, teaching is one of the most beautiful jobs that exist, and I see that you do it from the heart and that you are really willing to support your students, that is worthy of admiration today. Just yesterday was teacher's day in my country, January 15, so it was more pleasant to read your post because I still have the same feeling, I always seek to exalt in some way to those who have guided me, especially in music which is my job. I loved your post and the pictures with the kids and the editing on their faces 😅

Thank you so much @jesuslnrs for your kind words. I‘m glad to see that you enjoyed my work and sharing your related thought on this.

Haha I have to protect my students identity and it‘s actually satisfying to draw those, although it‘s a little more work on it. Thanks for noticing!

Happy Teacher's Day! I salute and adore you for being the best teacher to your students and as a teacher, too I also agree that teachers like us should always be open-minded and learn from the students. :)

It‘s so easy to forget that in fall into the track of being a teacher is to give. I knew I had to write it down so I wont forget this learning.

It was very nice of your journey I know that being immerse yourself is not easy because you will really know what the self entering the work that you will teach to the students.

By teaching, I‘ve learned more that I expected :) Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate loads!

Happy Teachers day. I hope you put the resting to good use.

Rest is indeed important!

Congratulations @nomnomnoodle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 900 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024