You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Community of Communities

in Reflectionslast year

I posted some rules one time when I was an admin, along with a manifesto for the community, and folks wanted to argue about how they were going to do what they wanted to do, even folks who had never posted in the community, and if those were the rules, well then, they never were going to post in the community 😮, and seemed surprised when I suggested they could set up their own community and have any rules they liked, including no rules; they could even post anything they liked on their own blog, that being the beauty of Hive.

Another time I was called out in a discord server because I wasn't doing just what the caller thought I should be doing, although they had never nipped over to the community to check the rules and the pinned post that set out exactly what we were doing. I indulged in a long conversation, explaining about finite resources and where the expertise of the team lay, and how we had agreed together the best fit between what we wanted to do (how we wanted to spend our available time) and how we thought we could best add value to Hive. I invited my interlocutor to take over as admin as they had so many ideas for work the team could do, but sadly they declined.