Community of Communities

in Reflectionslast year

This is just a little post for communities on Hive, as perhaps people don't fully understand what they are about. But, it is pretty simple, anyone can create one and they are privately owned spaces, generally with a theme topic. This makes them spaces for content, but most have rules attached to them.

image.png

For example, for the "Reflections" community:

image.png

The owning account is made when creating the community and the creator has the keys - me being the creator, making the community mine. I am also the admin for the community, but I could assign more, or assign mods to moderate the community, add members, or mute people that I don't want posting into the Reflections community. This doesn't stop them posting onto the blockchain, just hides their posts from appearing in the community itself.

Some people don't like this.

But as I said to someone recently, I see communities like a home, and homes should be kept clean. I don't expect anyone to come into my home and clean it, but if someone comes in and makes a mess, it is my prerogative to kick their ass out of my house. Just because it is a community, it doesn't mean it is an open space where people can act however they want, without consequence.

The rules of the Reflections community:

image.png

The community is only four months old, but there have been a few cases of each so far and I have thrown some flags and muted one (currently unmuted). I think the hardest rule that some people seem to adhere to is the last,

Don't be a dick.

Which sums up the rest really.

Sure, mistakes happen and people who might not have full understanding of the community, platform, or whatever can make mistakes and behave poorly, but it is their reactions that dictate dickishness, and people react poorly online. I suspect some of these people react poorly in real life too, but I will likely never know, since they are pseudonymous here and we will likely never meet in real life.

Communities on Hive are fantastic. As while they might not have all the capabilities yet of communities on other platforms, the decentralized platform protects them and they are actually owned, which is not the case on Facebook or Reddit - as they are centralized platforms and as such, have ultimate power. The platform itself actually dictates what is there or not.

What I have noticed over the last few years, is how often people feel that they are entitled to post what they want on Hive, which technically they are. However, they expect that they can post what they want without repercussions, which is not the case. Anyone can write a transaction to the blockchain, but it is still going to come with the community judgement, just like in the real world. Which is also why earnings on a post are not guaranteed, until the transaction what transfers Hive from the blockchain, into an account.

There are lots of communities on Hive worth checking out and some are very very active. For example, the weekend experiences one, owned and operated by my brother @galenkp for the last few years. It is one of the most active communities on the blockchain, of not the most.

image.png

Lots of subscribers, lots of active users, a ton of interactions every week. Communities that build engagement are very important for the Hive Community as a whole, because people gather around them. Communities become nodes of activity that not only generate interactions, they bring people together and build relationships between active users. Each day or week, people come from "far and wide" to be part of the community. These are also generally built by accounts that tend to be nodes themselves, like my brother, or other well known community members who tend to generate activity on their own posts too.

What you might find is that these people don't just share useful information, they build a community of people who interact with them and others, creating a network. And, that is the point right? It is about building a social network, but unlike Facebook, it isn't getting leveraged to sell advertising, it is just around people interacting and sharing ideas, content and their lives.

Hive is far more human.

Which is why the personality of an account matters, not just the content. Because it is a social network that isn't selling the data, the value of the network is how people interact and make each other feel. This means that when people feel bad, they can get emotional and react poorly, and burn the bridges they have built or, lose the ability to build new bridges in the future.

One way to start an account fire, is to go into popular communities and, act like a dick. Because, firstly the admin will likely step up and do something, and that admin likely has connections built throughout the network already, because they are probably a part of the community already. Then also, popular communities tend to get seen by people who have larger stake, meaning that dickish behavior is going to attract response.

We didn't start the fire.

I think what people need to remember is that each community on Hive can be different, so what is suitable for one, might not be for another. It is like walking in not knowing if it is a "shoes on or off" home - read the room. Check the rules before posting and have a look at what kind of content is there. There really isn't an, "I didn't know" excuse.

Building a community-centric account on Hive takes time, as does building a community around a topic. And, that "time" isn't an amount of time, it is the active work that goes into the building part of it. When we spend the time building something, we don't want people to come in and ruin it. We don't want someone coming into our home and messing it up.

Anyone can build a community, and there can be multiple communities for the same thing if that is chosen. Nothing stops anyone building a similar to community to the one I have, and who knows., it might become far more popular - which is great!

Give it a go.

But, if not wanting to invest time and effort into building an owned community, communities are great to participate in and can help people focus their attention to post along the guidelines for an audience looking for that kind of topic. Utilize communities well as a user, and they can help build your account profile a lot. Use them poorly, and the opposite is true.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I've been really digging the Reflections Community. It feels like a good place for a lot of my content. I wish there was a bit more curation happening there, but it is still a really nice place! :) I wish the Whisky community that @steevc started a while ago would grow a bit more. I am a mod in there and I think it has a lot of potential. We don't get many people posting though.

. It feels like a good place for a lot of my content.

I am glad.

I wish there was a bit more curation happening there,

It definitely doesn't get @appreciator support! :D

Yep, it is hard to get curation for communities, but I will try harder. I know a few people :D I will also more actively curate myself there and throw larger votes for decent content.

Who does get Appreciator support? 'm lucky if they find me once every other week. I guess that's better than some people though.

Who does get Appreciator support?

Not me! :D
A lot of makeup posts from Venezuela.

Haha, yeah they do!

Had no idea Galen was your brother, but the kp at the end I guess was a bit of a tell. I actually got started on a draft for your reflections community, so hopefully I will finally have that finished on Friday. Thanks for another reminder I didn't know I needed!

He is the prettier one, unfortunately.

Looking forward to you posting. If you need a hand with anything, let me know :)

My best one with being a community mod was when another community of similar genre posted their compilation post in a foreign language in our community. When I muted it they threw a tantrum and demanded to know why we could post our comp report but they couldn't 🙃🥴

:D :D

You didn't vote it? :D

Utilize communities well as a user, and they can help build your account profile a lot. Use them poorly, and the opposite is true.

This!

I think a lot of people miss this point and run with the 'I can do what I please' method, those who stand the test of time take the time to build and grow within communities and with communities!

There is a lot of expectation online, where people feel they are entitled to get something, no matter what they offer in return. I am hoping that Hive is on the road to improving the social mechanisms so that people matter again.

It would seem this 'norm' has moved away from online and is affecting a lot of people in real life also, Hive has the potential to lead the way in 'decentralised' content! As the communities grow, those bad actors will be sidelined by the quality Hive brings

Yes. It spills out. The lines are now so blurred and people spend so much time in digital fantasy, that they start believing it in reality.

Communities are the best thing for anyone that's interested in getting new readers, other than going from profile to profile to find new friends, or using Dreemport.

When we spend the time building something, we don't want people to come in and ruin it.

Exactly. This is one reason why I love Hive. Everyone here is willing to defend it :)

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Dreemport?

This is one reason why I love Hive. Everyone here is willing to defend it :)

And it has taken quite a bit of an attack in the past, and it was defended - at least in essence :)

And it has taken quite a bit of an attack in the past, and it was defended - at least in essence :)

Definitely! A domain, name, even blockchain isn't what's most important. It's keeping the core community together, and striving towards their goal.

@dreemsteem , the founder of Dreemport brought me here - as well as those on her team who were already very familiar with Hive :) I'm a Dreemport Ambassador, and have been a part of the project since day one (and before :) ). It's helped so much in retention here, as well as building new and even old accounts. Here's a little information, I'd love to see you submit your post links 🙌 If you need to know more, feel free to ask :)

Dreemport is a place where you can connect with others who will read your posts - and in turn, you will be reading other's posts :) And to sweeten the deal, you also earn tokens and playing cards while you do this!

Dreemport also has an awesome community which meets on Discord! On Thursdays you can even share yours and others posts live on Pimp Your Post Thursday 🙌 https://discord.gg/EyRU7V6

https://ecency.com/hive-150329/@dreemport/how-do-i-use-dreemport-its-easy-

https://dreemport.com/

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@tarazkp! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Those rules are to prevent HIVE from being just like other social medias, where people share any content (doesn't matter owner or not) to get just like and make comapines rich by forced ads.

It is easy to have no rules, when no one gets paid! :D

But they can terminate your account in any time :)

There is that rule :)

https://leofinance.io/threads/@successforall/re-leothreads-rdsx1ce3
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( successforall ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

A few weeks ago I stumbled upon this community and I really liked it a lot, everyone should have their own rules, otherwise everyone does what they want and that is not the idea.

I respect communities so much, I behave as a most reserved person, to foil my live exuberance. Yet and still, I hold the transmuting power of HIVE in such high regard, I might even be considered a religious fanatic.

That said, more frequently than note, I see examples of individuals who treat the platform as some public amenity like a book-swap as their own personal collection bin. This selfishness I can't comment on but I remark at the depth of human emotions, namely greed.

For all my passion for this platform, I have revised my advocacy strategy several times, finding the simpler the better. In the beginning, I was like a baby, cooing and crying for attention. Now, as a young adult, I try to hold my head high and chin up while I speak, looking people in the eye about the drive and intensity I have for HIVE.

I wonder about what sort of community I might build here. I think words might limit. Too preoccupied with a hastening of the work- it seems I might due with a bit of patience and perseverance. As read and write to you Taraz, I smile at the thought of starting small, with intent.

The afternoon Sun's shining here. Hope she smiled at you today.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@wrestlingdesires(1/15) tipped @tarazkp

People feeling like they should be able to do and say whatever they want with no consequences otherwise you’re oppressing then seems to be a common thing 🤣

I find communities incredibly useful for finding certain topics of interests and the like. But now that you've mentioned that anyone can basically create a community, what is there to stop some enterprising cyber squatter from grabbing up all the "valuable" names. It might not be worth anything now, but if/should HIVE see an explosive growth in numbers, it could become a problem.

I think that you and your brother @galenkp are doing a great work.
I like the contests from the Weekend-Experience community as well as I am starting appreciating posting into the Reflections.

Keep it up. I have also created mine community, The Rabbit Hole, but I will need some traction (and doting power) to stimulate contents there.

Well, I have never taken my time to check the reflections community but I will surely do so.
I love the communities on Hive. They are so transparent and you ain't going to have any problem as long as you can keep up to their rules.

I posted some rules one time when I was an admin, along with a manifesto for the community, and folks wanted to argue about how they were going to do what they wanted to do, even folks who had never posted in the community, and if those were the rules, well then, they never were going to post in the community 😮, and seemed surprised when I suggested they could set up their own community and have any rules they liked, including no rules; they could even post anything they liked on their own blog, that being the beauty of Hive.

Another time I was called out in a discord server because I wasn't doing just what the caller thought I should be doing, although they had never nipped over to the community to check the rules and the pinned post that set out exactly what we were doing. I indulged in a long conversation, explaining about finite resources and where the expertise of the team lay, and how we had agreed together the best fit between what we wanted to do (how we wanted to spend our available time) and how we thought we could best add value to Hive. I invited my interlocutor to take over as admin as they had so many ideas for work the team could do, but sadly they declined.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joanstewart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Simply reading requirement, observing accepted behaviour is a minimal request.

Communities need people to join in and share, if not a daily content writer, read and share. Being social within media takes two or more to discuss and enjoy any topic of interest.

I enjoy reading your post @tarazkp , I'm new to the Hive community, a rookie and somehow learning from others like you.☺️ I'm grateful that I got to read post that are straight forward, allowing me to understand things that are essential and of importance to me to be part of a great community 😀