A Surprise Pull

in Reflections22 days ago

Today was an expensive day. Many days are expensive these days it seems. Doing the basic grocery shopping seems expensive. However, today was expensive because Smallsteps fell at school yesterday, and there was a slim (in my opinion) chance that it was fractured. So, the "better safe than sorry" opinion in the household beat the "let's wait a day and see" opinion, and it was off to the private doctor for an x-ray.

Thankfully, we have health insurance for Smallsteps.

image.png

This is one of those prepare for the worst decisions that panned out, because we got the insurance before she was born, and we needed it from the day she was born since. Even though it hasn't covered everything, it has covered us for a lot and has allowed us to skip waiting on the public side for hours. And, while it is an immediate hit to the pocket, we will get back around 80-90% of the costs for most normal things. We still use the public side for a lot too, and I can't tell you how many hours we have spent in those waiting rooms over the last eight years.

The hand isn't broken.

Which is a good thing, as I am not sure how an active kid would survive six weeks in a cast. But hopefully (touch wood), she has bones from my side of the family - dinosaur bones. Also hopefully, she has brains from the other side, because unfortunately, I have a dinosaur brain too.

Tomorrow is Vappu here, so it is a day off and there is a market in the city set up with some sideshow games, food and balloons. I finished work a bit later tonight, but because the weather was so warm (around 14°C/ 57°F), we went for a drive to get a balloon a day early.

She got a koala balloon. It is called Kwala.

In the picture, she is playing some "string pull" game, where you pull a string from a bunch, a number comes up and you win a prize that isn't worth nearly as much as the cost of the game. However, Smallsteps did something I wasn't expecting her to do when she was given the option of toy, which was between a little plastic horse figurine, a plastic finger skateboard, or a surprise.

She opted for the surprise.

The woman said, "you can't change your mind after seeing it" and Smallsteps agreed. The prize was a crappy coloring in book, but in my opinion, at least it is more useful than the other two, and Smallsteps was happy.

But it does make me wonder, because normally Smallsteps (while she loves surprises), she also tends to look for certainty when she has to make the decision herself. She tends to take the safe option, which in this case would have been the plastic horse. She is even more likely to do this when it has to be a quick decision, or if there are people waiting, which is why it surprised me, that she went for the surprise.

Such a small thing.

Yet, I could feel some kind of pride in her that she did it, because I am pretty sure that when I was a kid, I wouldn't have and would have played it safe. It makes me think that perhaps she isn't a lost cause that is doomed to follow in her father's footsteps after all.

I am encouraging her to be a bit more outgoing than I was as a child, by ensuring she feels safe enough that she can explore her world. That she can make mistakes, that she can fall down, and while there will be some discomfort and pain, we will be there for her to help her up when she needs, and encourage her to have another attempt. I don't want her to have the attitude of why bother trying if likely to fail anyway, because that is going to end up leading to not trying things that actually have a good chance of success too.

Despite what we might say, most of us would want to be different in some way, and if we could go back into childhood, also make a few different decisions. We don't have to think about what might have happened or what would have changed had we done so, but just knowing that we might want to have acted differently than we did, is enough.

Taken the surprise, rather than the guarantee.

With the day off coming, and since we didn't have a chance to make breakfast for my wife's birthday on Monday, Smallsteps wants to do it tomorrow. So, rather than sleeping in, I will get up and help her instead. Perhaps she will sleep in a bit.

Now, that would be a surprise.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Good now she learned that the unknown will sometimes pay out 😆

You do realise you can both prepare for the worst while hoping/expecting and enjoying the best right.

Good now she learned that the unknown will sometimes pay out 😆

I was thinking about this too - will she become a gambler? :D

You do realise you can both prepare for the worst while hoping/expecting and enjoying the best right.

I do. I just end up putting maybe too much effort on prepping for the negative, instead of prepping for the positive. Poor resource allocation.

Split it 50/50 😆

Nuuuuu small don’t become a gambler that’s bad 😆

Ah, you have that trip coming up too don't you? It would have been no fun to be in a cast for that! I'm glad her hand is going to be okay. I probably would have taken the safe choice too, so good for her!

Yeah, wouldn't have been ideal before the trip - especially as I don't think she would have been able to swim in the cast. But no worries.

Do you ever wish you'd be the kind of person that would take the surprise?

Yeah I do and like I said, I am trying to work on that. It's a slow process adding a bit of spontaneity to my life at this age!

I'm glad it wasn't broken. I've heard that kids are more prone to fractures because of their softer and still developing bones. With the choices, I too like to pick the known and safe ones, unless the ones available aren't to my liking.

I've heard that the bendy bones are less likely to break - I should stop dropping her on her head... ;D

Haha, that would be a good start.

He he, I am a bit sleep deprived now, with work, add one baby to equation and the odds are not in my favour right? Good idea with the insurance! I have mine for years, never use it, but I am happy to pay and never use it rather than the other option.

Definitely get insurance for the kid prior to birth, just in case.
The sleep deprivation is fine, when there is a good reason for it.

The expenses hurt but you can go about things calmly when you know that there are no issues. I am glad that she didn't have to wear a cast. I think it's good for children to be outgoing. It's a time period where you don't have many responsibilities and she can learn or make memories.

It's a time period where you don't have many responsibilities and she can learn or make memories.

For sure. And hopefully good memories. It is also a time where the cost of learning through failure are generally quite low.

Hello friend, I'm glad your little one is well, really adult life and parenting is very expensive and not to mention the medical expenses, good that the insurance will pay a little and good forward learning and growing every day, greetings!

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

And I remember you mentioned that you are having a trip for your wife’s birthday
I’m glad you’ve got health insurance for Smallsteps
It could have been another expense. Six weeks cast is crazy but I’m sure she’d be fine

Taken the surprise, rather than the guarantee.

There are really times that I somehow wish I'd been more confident in my past decisions—by confident, I mean that I wish I could have taken more of the uncertainties and risks rather than staying in my comfort zone and being somehow guaranteed of the little comfort I knew that would not last long. By the way, I'm really glad Smallsteps opted for surprise because, unlike her, way back when I was still a child, I'm really cautious. Being the eldest made me mature faster than my peers because I always thought I should be an example to my younger siblings. That's why I often chose the option that I knew would guarantee me a much more favorable outcome. I often avoid surprises because I know surprises are always with uncertainties and as well disappoinments—that often leads to failure. Of 'course, I'm not totally stick-in-the-mud; it's just that I value more my responsibility rather than the possibility of feeling the fun and enjoyment in doing new and uncertain things.