The Last Before Night

in Reflections16 days ago

Today was a good day.

After a bit of disappointment due to illness yesterday, we made up for it today with a great family day. It started with a trip after breakfast that we planned for Smallsteps to Proto Avastustehas, an invention center for kids. We took a taxi there as we didn't want to push it and destroy the start of the day and end up back at the hotel too early, like we did yesterday. The tax ride was an "experience" in and of itself, with a hippie who was telling us times were better under soviet rule, and then when we got out, he handed (literally with his bare hands) a fistful of dried apple, which is his business.

After taking a picture and throwing that in the bin, we spent three hours playing with the exhibits in the invention center, where there was a lot of VR displays, but we didn't really get into those too much. Smallsteps preferred the physical stuff, like shooting rockets, making boats out of styrofoam, and riding bikes to make electricity to power some scaletrix cars. It was a lot of fun and as things were still okay with Smallsteps not feeling ill, we started to slowly walk back toward the old city, which was our location for dinner. But on the way, we stopped for gluten- and lactose- free waffles - a place my wife had found.

Once we actually arrived back in the old city, we just kind of bummed around and talked, seeing what we could see, discussing all kinds of random things and whiling away the time until dinner. I feel like I hardly walked but it was 17,000 steps, which is 28,000 for Smallsteps, and probably 20,000 for my wife. Not bad for a slow day.

And then there was dinner.

Dinner was at a restaurant called Pegasus, which was another place my wife found, or got a tip for from a friend or something. While the menu was limited, they have a fair amount of gluten and lactose free stuff, as well as one dessert. The surprise was that Smallsteps chose the duck, because it is something that we can't get in Finland (We can get it, she just has never had it). "Are you sure" - Yes, the duck.

She really lied it too.

The meal was great and I went out on a limb too, ordering a whiskey sour (pictured above) instead of my usual gin and tonic. It was a good choice also. The service was good, fast and friendly - but perhaps the most surprising thing was what was written on the bill when I went to pay. It is at the end of this article.

And speaking of pictures, in no particular order tonight, but edited in Lightroom mobile a little to crop and clean up slightly, are the pictures from the day. I think there are some nice ones in the mix, however, my view is colored by it being such a good day with the family.

After a swim in the pool, it is time to chill a bit and watch some Eurovision (my wife is watching) and not spend too much time online for me. It has been nice to be a little away, but I am conscious of not answering comments fast enough. A couple days of slowness isn't unforgivable I suspect though.

Have a good night :)

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

P5110152.jpg

P5110197.jpg

P5110258.jpg

P5110302.jpg

P5110155.jpg

P5110139.jpg

P5110279.jpg

P5110334.jpg

P5110329.jpg

P5110224.jpg

P5110318.jpg

P5110119.jpg

P5110340.jpg

P5110295.jpg

P5110210.jpg

P5110108.jpg

P5110113.jpg

P5110229.jpg

P5110195.jpg

P5110253.jpg

IMG20240511110625.jpg

P5110222.jpg

IMG20240511172353.jpg

Sort:  

You do have a lovely family. Glad the illness has left and the good times can go on!

2/3rds of the family are lovely.

It really was a nice day.

Malay/Indonesian restaurant? Or more shared words?

Love your wife's concentration face on what looks like an air hockey table XD

I've been hearing this song pretty much every time I go to work so of course the chorus started playing in my head when you said you had a whisky sour even though it was the wrong kind ^_^;

Yay for good days :D

It was an Estonian restaurant, though just a restaurant. Not sure if there was a particular flavor, bit it was good.

A pong table!

I am not much of a morning person either...

Shared words maybe then (I was looking at the word restoran).

I thought the bill was higher than you expected, but it was really a kind message from the people who you might never seen again :)

I like to think that it was my charm that won her over - but the other note was at the end - "your girl is so cute"

A wonderful walk around Tallinn. This summer there will be a lot of apples, I will also dry my apples.

Do you dry them with a machine?

Dryer, but this year I want to dry the apples in the sun.

Even I would fit into those barrels let alone a hobbit.

Family time is golden
I’m glad you’re doing that!

Compliments passed on our children always rewarding. Glad you got away Little Steps will remember and talk about it over the months to come.

It looks like you had a lot of fun. I really like your photos, some of them look like the professional ones used in magazines.