A Tale of Thoughtful Surprises

A few days before my birthday, my friend told me he wanted to make me feel very special and would take me on 3 dates on different days. He tagged it pre-birthday dates. It was three days to my birthday and he had called me a day before to be reminded of our date.

I was initially not looking forward to any fun until he called to tell me his plans. I was excited about the whole idea. The day came, I dressed in a simple but cute way. The first day was a dinner date.
We hung out in the evening in one of the finest restaurants on the mainland, ate and drank to our fill, and enjoyed each other's company while we drowned ourselves in beautiful conversation. We were done. I left for my place while he left for his.

The second day, he called again to tell me about the lounge we were going to hang out late in the evening. I got dressed. This time, just casuals.
A big shirt on a denim trouser and a pair of very comfortable sneakers. We set out, arrived at this beautiful lounge and settled in.
source

After asking for my preference, He ordered drinks and appetizers to go with it.
I teased him on how he wouldn't taste alcohol and its sisters. We laughed over it and enjoyed the soft music from the speakers.
When we were done, he told me I should prepare for tomorrow. Told me it was a movie date.

I was in awe of his sweetness. How can someone be this thoughtful and sweet? We left. I got home, had a shower and retired to bed for the grand finale of our dates.

It was the final day. As usual, I got dressed, this time, dressed in a free short gown. I generously used my body sprays and perfumes. I was smelling edible and looking like a bag of money. I had to look good.

He came to pick me up and we headed to one of the biggest malls in Lagos. He bought tickets that came with a box of popcorn and drinks. We lounged a bit, took pictures and made memories while we waited.
It was time to see the movie we came for, we walked in, sat and enjoyed our movie.

I had the time of my life. It was an experience I'll always remember. On my birthday, I was sleeping and calls woke me up. I got calls from a total of 5 vendors.
4 were from him. I got a basket full of food, drinks, fruits, chocolates, wine and othegoodieses, a customized necklace and a box of perfume. I didn't know how to act. I was so emotional. I picked up my phone and sent a long text to him about how blessed I was to have a friend like him. I called him again to thank him and let him know I didn't and would never take any of his kind gestures and acts for granted.
What a birthday!

Thanks for visiting my blog, feel free to comment, upvote, and reblog if you find my post intriguing.