Genoa Candy Dance Festival

in Art Talk2 years ago

This weekend was a lot of fun, and a lot of work. It was the Genoa Candy Dance Festival in Genoa, Nevada. I sell my prints out of the Genoa Gallery year round, and I drove down to help out at the gallery and exhibit/sell my prints during the event.

TONS of people attend this huge art and craft faire every year, it was the 103rd festival. Yup, it's been a regular event for a long time.

While there, I ran into KTVN weatherman Jeff Martinez! It's always nice to run into Jeff around the Reno area. Every once in a while he will share one of my photos on the TV weather report, I of course always appreciate the plug.

20220925_120346.jpg

I didn't take any photos at the busiest times as I was busy talking to customers. But here are a few photos of the festival. At times, the street was shoulder to shoulder with people. Many of whom had a Bloody Mary or Margarita in their hands. It was a wild event!

20220924_100301.jpg

20220925_150203.jpg

Here's a permanent sculpture of Snowshoe Thompson below. No relation to me...
20220925_163217.jpg

Many of the Genoa Gallery artists gave demonstrations. Jirsa of JirsaPaints.com was doing a plein air abstract painting during the event. It was fun to see the progress and the final product was great!

20220925_162615.jpg

20220925_162605.jpg

If you ever happen to be in the Reno, Nevada area near the end of September, I would highly recommend checking out the crazy times that is the Genoa Candy Dance Festival. Especially if you like shopping with a drink in your hand at 9am in the morning... Cheers!

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Good to see festivals full again and people out having a good time 👍

Indeed! It actually happened last year but there were a lot less booths and people. But a lot more very drunk folks last year... celebrating being out and about.