REEDS IN THE WIND

in Picture A Day10 months ago

It was a typical summer storm.

(Enlargeable)

The reeds swayed on the strong wind, but the air wasn't cold. There was plenty of humidity in the air but it wasn't raining. The waves, while crashing on the shore, were spraying the aerosol high in the air creating a pleasant salty atmosphere. The scent of the sea is always intense in this type of weather. You can catch many different shades of coastal fragrance. From the refreshing tones of the aromatic plants that grow on the rocks in the intertidal zone to the heavier smell of various algae and stuff from the seabed near the shore.
I took only one photograph on that occasion because the salty humid air while being very good and uplifting to me, was posing a potential danger to my camera.
The year was 2006, the 28th of August that year. I bought my first digital SLR camera a couple of weeks earlier and wasn't in the mood to destroy it so early.
The camera in question is the Canon EOS 350D. It got broken and never repaired only a decade or so later, in 2016 or 2017. Or was it in 2018? I don't know. Can't tell you exactly. I still have it somewhere in the storage room that was once a normal bedroom here in my house.
Today, I mean, a few minutes ago, while writing this post, I found out in the Wikipedia article that Canon EOS 350D was first released in August 2006. My brand-new camera was even newer than I thought back then. The thing was extremely new, one can say.
Its small built-in flash didn't look like much, but it seems that was strong enough to make the reeds near me completely visible while the rest of those plants are just dark silhouettes under the evening sky. I wrote "it seems" because I'm not sure about that. It could be that I used the lights of my car to illuminate the scene. Who knows. It happened so long ago.

There are a few reasons that made me publish only a short, one-picture post today. The first is the weather. Is hot & humid as hell. The air is almost unbreathable. My concentration is barely able to sustain an empty stare at the computer screen. The second - I'll have to go soon. I mean, I have some stuff to do, people to meet, and places to visit, so I won't be able to sit down and create something for HIVE until late at night. And then there are a few more reasons that I can't define right now because is too hot to think beyond the most simple and obvious thoughts.

THAT'S IT. HAVE A GREAT DAY, OR NIGHT, WHEREVER ON THE PLANET YOU ARE. AS ALWAYS HERE ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS, I MEAN THE ONLY PHOTOGRAPH, IS MY WORK.

Sort:  

What a perfect moment to capture the reeds and it seemed so realistic my friend with your excellent photography. I love this photo.

The way it's so hot here in Pakistan these days, it would be a lot of fun if the weather was like what we've seen in your pictures. Clouds looks so beautiful.

Your captivating photo of the reeds dancing in the wind beautifully captures the ethereal and serene essence of nature.

I like such type of weather. Cloudy, thunder storm, rain and heavy wind.
You are saying right that if you have such type of weather, you can't manage tasks easily.

Many grassy type plants are quite delicate, but also very strong to be able to bemd sharply in the wind but not break ~ Nature is truly amazing! !LOLZ

Whom do you ask to catch the killer goose?
The Goosetapo.

Credit: reddit
@borjan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @fun.farms

(5/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

My mental capacity is also greatly reduced in a hot and humid weather. I normally try to sleep it away but it rarely works. It seems the reeds were dancing to the tune of the wind :)

Wow! 2006! The camera quality still looks good.

At present we have such stormy winds here because we have rainy season here. At this time of year we have rains here and the wind speed is very high and the plants are swaying with the wind speed which is sometimes nice and sometimes a little scary.

I enjoyed reading your post about your experience with your first digital SLR camera. It sounds like you had a great time taking photos on the beach, even though the weather was hot and humid. I can imagine how the salty air would have been a challenge for your camera, but it's also clear that you were careful to protect it.

I'm also glad to hear that you're still using your Canon EOS 350D, even though it's been broken for a few years. It's always nice to have a piece of history like that, and I'm sure it brings back a lot of good memories for you.

Summer has arrived and we are facing the hottest month of the year June. The sun is shinning at its full capacity and the temperature has gone up to 45 degrees centigrade, It feels like 50 Degrees.

Trust me, your pictures are always amazing

Thank you 🙂

Nice photos😍

Interesting article. I like this.