COMMUNITY ANNOUNCEMENT - New Moderator & Curators and Curation-Service

in Amazing Nature4 years ago (edited)

Hello Nature Lovers !


AmNaAnn001.png



Since Hive is online, the Amazing Nature Community grew steadily into to a really big one full of nature lovers from all over the world. I can not say how super happy and proud I am to see all of you joined in here, sharing all your beautiful stories and appreciations to the nature around you. You are just all soooo amazing 😁 .. Today I want to tell to you about some changes that were made recently to the community. I want to make three announcements to you regarding the current state of the Amazing Nature Community.

  • We have a new Moderators now that I want to introduce to you.
  • We also have three DNA-Curators now within the Community.
  • We have altered the Curation System.



By the way, if you are missing someone in the Moderator list and want to see a specific Hivean added, just propose one. This list is not fixed and exclusive, but open to anyone who wants to support this community.



The New Moderator of Amazing Nature


@juanbg


The new Moderator of the Amazing Nature Community is @juanbg. He is a Marine Biologist, Musician, Baptist Christian & Nature-lover. Also he is still quite new to the Hivesphere, his post are already excellent and include well researched and highly informative content about marine-nature ^^ .. @juanbg will be a great addition to the Moderator-Team and opens up a fresh and new perspective on the amazing nature around us ;)


HERE YOU FIND HIS BLOG


juanb00.png
juanbg111.png
juangb02.png
juanbg01.jpg




The New Curation System


There are three different kinds of curation services within the Amazing Community:

  • Autovoter and Manual Curation.
  • Curation from the DNA project.
  • Curation from the OCD Community Incubation Program.



AUTOVOTER & MANUAL CURATION: Within the Community the Moderators are curating independently on their own, from their own accounts. This keeps everything simpler for all of us. I actually use the @adalger account for an implemented AUTOMATED CURATION SYSTEM for community MEMBERS that constantly contribute great nature content within the community and do some MANUAL CURATION within the Community too. For this reasons I accumulated around 40K HP on the account, so that I can actually give out some decent upvotes. I also run the weekly AMAZING NATURE CONTEST and pay out the prizes to the contest winner from there. From time to time I will post some other posts too, but those are actually quite rare and if so, they are always nature related.


DNA-CURATION: The Amazing Nature Community is also part of the awesome DNA project (Densifying Nature-Appreciation). DNA searches for HIGH-QUALITY posts that aim to DESCRIBE and determine the BIODIVERSITY AROUND YOU with added EXPLANATIONS and INFORMATION. For these informative posts DNA offers a CURATION SERVICE using the @dna.org account. It is also a CURATION TRAIL. At the moment DNA is also the home of the #featheredfriends hosted by the lovely @melinda010100 🦢 for all you great posts about our feathered friends and the #fungifriday hosted by the amazing @qwerrie 🍄 for all your posts about fungi and mushrooms ^^

FEATHERED FRIENDS COMMUNITY
FUNGI LOVERS COMMUNITY

All the communities have their own Moderators using the DNA-Curation service. From now on the AN community has three Moderators set as DNA-Curators too, which are @nelinoeva, @annephilbrick and @papilloncharity and @papilloncharity. This external curation-service is hoped to bring awareness of the DNA project to Hiveans out there as we aim to bring all the great nature-related communities together and help all the nature-loving Hiveans to bond together .. We are also curation on a cross- and out- community basis ^^


OCD COMMUNITY INCUBATION PROGRAM: The AN Community was also accepted into the OCD community incubation program. Therefore we were assigned a channel into their Discord Server and I an now allowed to FORWARD POSTS from the community to them. I will do this whenever I find some highly informative and well researched nature content here or otherwise excellent posts. These posts then will receive a really nice and REWARDING UPVOTE from the @blocktrades and @ocdb accounts to reward their effort in creating great and meaningful content. Thank you very very much for this awesome opportunity OCD-Team! I will always re-blog the Amazing Nature Contest, as well as all the post that I forwarded to OCD into my blog so that you always are able to see them directly whenever you wish to.



Of course this format is open to all your suggestions and critics that aim to increase the quality of the community and the fun for everyone that wants to be a part of it .. So, do not hesitate to communicate with us ^^



AmBan.jpgClickable Banner for free usage. Redirects to the Amazing Nature Community

AmNaBa.pngClickable Banner by the amazing @barbara-orenya



AMAZING NATURE COMMUNITY

The AMAZING NATURE COMMUNITY is dedicated to all Nature Lovers out there, no matter if Zoology, Botany, Landscapes or Philosophy and open FOR ALL POSTS ABOUT THE AMAZING NATURE AROUND YOU.

Moderator-Team: @annephilbrick @bucipuci @joanstewart @juanbg @kaminchan @nelinoeva @papilloncharity @porters @redheadpei @seadbeady


Best wishes, Adalger

Sort:  

Great to see your community of nature lovers growing so fast @adalger :) Awesome news. Also, congrats on having a new moderator for the community content. I remember I had some convos with @juanbg about nature and also about Mexico and Riviera Maya where Juan lives and works and I did too for some time. I am sure he will be a great moderator but to be honest, those pictures of him working in Dolphinaris (facility where captive dolphins perform shows for audience) is something I can never associate with love for nature. Quite the opposite actually... Is he still doing this? Just asking...

Hello @phortun thank you very much for your comments, I always value them very much.

Regarding animals in human care (captivity) I have been doing research for more than two years now and I am no longer part of the Dolphinaris team at the moment, I am finishing studying a master of science.

I understand your point of view on this, but it is important to mention that if these dolphinariums did not exist, we would not understand many of the behavioral issues of marine mammals, now I am dedicated to scientific research, but perhaps it would not have been possible without the support of the people of this place.

I am not against or in favor of this, but we have to see and understand everything before giving a point of view about it, greetings friend!

Hey Juan, thanks for your reply and explanation. A lot has already been explained by @adalger above. I didn´t know you were doing a research while working at Dolphinaris, I thought you were just one of the trainers / performers. It´s really a shame your government doesn´t care about natural studies and you have to do things like this to be able to do what you need to do for your research. I am sorry about that. I admit I am a bit touchy when it comes to the existence of facilities like Dolphinaris, Sea World, Loro Parque etc. I have seen and read way too many articles, documentaries and videos about these companies to buy their propaganda about how they care for their animals etc. while the only thing they really care about is their profit. Also, I think one doesn´t have to be a marine biologist like you to know that these amazing, highly intelligent and sensitive marine mammals that roam around hundreds and thousands of square kilometers of vast oceans in their natural environment simply cannot be happy in unshaded confined concrete tanks (not to mention the crazy tricks they are forced to perform to entertain the visitors). You know I lived in Playa del Carmen and I was so happy when the Mexican government announced that these facilities with marine mammal shows would be banned but in fact, it never happened. Quite the opposite actually, new facilities of this kind are being built in Mexico. I hope they will be banned around the world one day and I also hope that governements will pay more attention to natural studies and researches. I think we already owe a lot to this planet and its wildlife...

Good luck with your master studies and with your new moderator role in this awesome community ;)

Thanks for your wishes @phortun! I understand, there are a few points of view about this, take care bro!

 4 years ago (edited) 

Hey there @phortun ! Thank you very much for your response. This was something that he actually did once, working in a dolphinarium. where he did some important scientific research on dolphins and marine mammals. But he quit his job there already and now studies Natural Resource Management .. Actually he once quoted it like this: "if this place did not exist, this study would not have been possible." .. I am a scientist myself and know of this big problems and that it is really hard in many cases to distinguish between black and white sometimes. Especially if the governments do not care about nature-related studies at all and decline to fund important research, then people need to improvise .. But this is actually a topic that can be discussed until infinity and these ethical question are there as long as there are scientists already. If we never ever opened a human bodies in our history to take a look inside, we would also never gained books and books of valuable medicinal knowledge. And I do not dare to start an in-depth ethical science discussion ^^ .. But, it is a valid question that should be taken into account every time we reflect at out work. If just the governments would just finance proper scientific complexes we could change a lot, but I am afraid that this will never happen. They probably care more for income, then what is beneficial for the environment and mother nature in generell

Thanks for your reply, I really appreciate it. I am currently traveling so I will get back to you with a more elaborate comment later ;)

That's right bro! Thanks!

I just replied to Juan himself, thanks for the explanation guys ;)

Btw, I have been hosting a weekly photo challenge where competitors can submit fresh (no more than one week old) photos of nature and I posted the last two rounds of it in this community. Without asking you actually. Sorry about that. So I am asking you know - are you ok with that? :)

 4 years ago  

Hey there @phortun ^^ I actually have no problem with it ;) Everything that brings nature-lovers from all the world together is a highly welcome addition, hehe .. This only shows that you are eager to see this big family here grow together even closer !!

Awesome, thanks :) So I will be posting the contest in this group. I have quite a lot of nature lovers among my followers so I am sure some of them will join your community ;)

So great that our community is doing so well - glad to have you onboard @juanbg - I am so grateful to be on this team :)

I was noticing how much the Amazing Nature community is growing and entering the weekly contest. Happy to have you as a moderator @juanbg - love your field of work and wonderful photos!

It's great to get all that recognition - thank-you for creating this amazing community!

Thanks a lot @porters! I'm very grateful to be in this community

What good news friend @adalger, welcome @juanbg. This community is incredible and is growing a lot thanks to God. May the successes continue for our community.

Thanks @isabelpena, have a nice weekend😁🐬

Congratulations to the Amazing Nature for so much good and wonderful news in your contest.

May your successes continue.

Greetings @juanbg and welcome to the team.

Some great news here @adalger and let's all of us build this community!

 4 years ago  

Thank you @papilloncharity ^^ It is really awesome to see how the nature communities here on Hive are steadily growing from week to week ! We already managed to establish so many great communities and projects here together and I believe that this is still just the beginning of the whole journey, hehe .. it is so exiting ;)

My pleasure @adalger and what is your first name as I am either Zac or Stephen.
Good to see it growing as nature and our charity work are both first loved of mine.
Glad to think that the OCD support has given us a foundation to build upon.

About the other matter that you asked about, the curation spend, it doesn't matter to me if you leave things as is.

Blessings!

 4 years ago  

Hey there @papillioncharity ^^

I actually really like the name Zac, it sounds really nice to me, hehe 😁 .. I am Adam by the way.

If you ever have some suggestion how we could improve the community just leave a comment. I really already like it the way it is, but am always eager to improve it wherever possible ;) And if you want to use the hive account for any purpose you can always get the access to it. So far no one actually wanted it, so that I left it like it is for the moment, which in addition makes it far easier for everyone involved.

But I am glad that we have some Moderators now that wanted to be curator for DNA. It is really nice to see how this DNA project started out in just this little time that it exists and now has so many amazing members and contributors! I really believe that with time this can grow into a big place for nature lovers throughout the whole blockchain and are super proud that we are a part of it too. When I started out here, back when we all were still on Steem, I never thought that we could achieve such a awesome projects all together ^^ .. The whole Hive community is just so amazing!

Best wishes to you Zac ^^

My apologies Adam.

I am sure that you told me your name before, but I am very bad with names lol.

What I do is that whenever I see a nature post of good quality that I like, then I tell the author in the comments of the post to also use the #amazingnature tag.

If you want to, you can sign me up as a DNA moderator, only if it will help you guys, as you know that I don't mind to help.

Well done with all of the growth my friend and our small @combination channel is also slowly starting to grow. The future looks good indeed.

Blessings!

 4 years ago  

It would be really nice to have you as an DNA-curator too ! .. I am going to send you and invitation vie pm and the right channel later ^^

Thank you and I only saw this now my friend.
Already dealt with it.

Blessings!

Thanks @papilloncharity, I remember when you support me in my Hive Proposal, Unfortunately it didn't get the votes that were needed but I hope that he will soon do the same Hive Proposal again!

My pleasure to support proposals that I think is good my friend.
Pity about the lack of votes, but it is a highly contested area and the good thing is that one can learn from the experiences to make the next attempt better.

Blessings!

One in nature, keeping a steady flow of information about life around us.

Welcome @juanbg so much to share and learn from one another, definitely no boring moments!

Thanks for update and keeping all updated @adalger

 4 years ago  

I try my best @joanstewart ^^ .. and if you have some ideas how to further improve the community or the teamwork between the Moderators please do not hesitate and leave a comment ;)

Thanks a lot @joanstewart!😁🐬

Once again, it has been a pleasure to meet you all, I am very grateful to @adalger for this great opportunity that I do not want to waste, so I will continue working for the community and to always provide quality information.

Thank you all, long live the Amazing Nature Community!😍🐬

 4 years ago  

My pleasure ^^ I am always happy to see such highly engaged Hiveans and I am glad that you are joining the community as a Moderator ;) .. It is still the beginning, but lets form it into a place that Mother Nature will be proud of, hehe .. If you ever want to implement some projects, contests, or whatever comes into your mind, just tell us and we will try to support you as much as possible !

Hello OCD, hope you include fellow software developers who create programming contents such as tutorials, video contents, project updates. This could potentially attract new users who want to learn programming by supporting software development contents.

I'm moderating (and posting alone) in DevTalk and occasionally finding coding contents to curate in Hive.