A Bear In The Yard?!

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

IMG_20210215_124032.jpg


This morning, we found those paw prints in the snow all over the garden!

Someone furry must have taken a little stroll on the property last night ^^

Don't worry, it wasn't a bear ^^
They were too small. Although bigger than the foot prints of an average dog. Maybe around 8 cm in diameter.
I guess it were some of the jackals, that we often hear howling in the valley at night.


IMG_20210215_124016.jpg


It's so cool to live surrounded by nature!

I really don't mind the jackals taking a walk in the garden. It's a pity that I never get to see them, because they are too shy and only around at night.
I've looked up pictures of them on the internet, and they look so cute!
I know, they're still wild animals with sharp teeth and stuff ... but I would love to see one!
<3


IMG_20210215_124119.jpg

all pictures taken by me

Sort:  

Jackals are not dangerous. If you encounter them they will escape.
I used to spend with friends a lot of time in the summer at a lake that is 10 km away from my small village. Having strolls around the lake during the night I have encountered many time jackals in packs (5-15 jackals). They are afraid of humans and they keep their distance. So, they usually escape once you get closer to them.
Also, when we camped at the lake, they can come during the night and steal your food, shoes, etc. That's why don't keep anything precious outside the house. :)

However, if it is a wolf, be very careful. It is very rare, but almost each and every year I read in the news that somewhere (in the small villages) some crazy wolf attacked a human.

I know :( They never come near the house, we only hear them howl in the dark. So cool, that you've seen some!
Funny that they steal shoes ^^ I wonder what they are using them for.

I didn't think about a wolf yet, to be honest ^^ But I don't think it was one, there were so many foot prints, it's more likely that it was a pack of jackals.
But we are careful, we don't go out at night, anyway. Much too cold :-)

huh looks like my dog))

Oh, so your dog must be a big one!

45 cm at the withers