Nature's Art - The Fairy Tree Trunk

in Amazing Naturelast year

IMG_20230124_171902-01-01-01.jpeg


About a week ago (or two? I tend to loose track of time ^^) there was quite a huge storm around here, at the west coast of Greece, that washed ashore all kinds of stuff.
Of course there were a few plastic bottles and shoes, but actually not as many as I had thought.

Mostly it was actually wood.
And not just tiny sticks or something, but really thick tree trunks!
They might have come through the river that's running through the village into the sea and then were brought to the beach by the big waves.

IMG_20230124_172003-01-01.jpeg


The people here seem to be used to it. Some of the villagers immediately took advantage of that free wood the next day, collecting it for their fireplaces :)
So now the beach is almost clean again, besides some of the really big stumps that are impossible for one human to carry by hand.

One of them caught my eye when I was taking a walk the other day because it looked so ancient and weird and fascinating, it just mesmerized me!

IMG_20230124_171911-01-01.jpeg


I guess I've spent around half an hour with that beautiful tree trunk, examining with my eyes and hands all those beautiful details that look like worlds of their own.
I've never seen such a tree, so full of marks and dents and bumps that form little cities and sculptures and caves all over. Just look at those textures!
It actually wouldn't have surprised me if a little fairy would have crawled out of one of the holes in the wood ^^ Still wet and confused from all the rocking and rolling during the storm.

Such a magical piece of Nature!
And it wasn't dead at all, I could feel its power still when I touched it.

IMG_20230124_171952-01-01.jpeg


Hey, I invite you to just touch some wood too once in a while!
Maybe you find a nice tree trunk on one of your walks, or an alive tree that you like.
You don't need to hug a tree if you don't feel comfortable with that, just touch it with your hands for a moment and feel it's life flowing in the bark.
We touch so many things during the day, but they're mostly artificial, out of a factory. But Nature grows and lives and dies like we do and therefore there is a much deeper connection.
It's truly worth it to remind ourselves of that sometimes <3

IMG_20230124_172226-01-02.jpeg

all images taken by me


Banner_2_resized.jpg

I also make art myself (maybe not as sophisticated as Nature ^^), digital and analog art and also some mixed media stuff.
Check out my art on my website and find the links to my NFT's!
www.anafae.art
<3

Sort:  

I appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by Botanic team @oscurity on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Ooh, thanks a lot! <3

I love what the ocean does, it reminds me of a stomach 😆 I used to collect sea glass and those cylinder shaped shells. Sometimes I’d find some wood and just think “damn….I wonder how long it’ll take before it becomes nothing!”

About the ocean I like that it's so strong and yet fluid and flexible, that's how I wanna be actually. But the stomach idea is funnier ^^
I don't think anything becomes nothing ever, it all becomes earth in the end. Earth that then gives birth to new things. Actually one of the main reasons why I want to settle somewhere soon is to finally start a nice compost heap!

That's indeed a handsome piece of wood! It's great to read the locals cleaned the beach within no time after the storm!

Yes, they came with their wheelbarrows and took most of the wood to burn in their fireplaces :) that's great co living with nature :)

Nature sure does make the best Art. I have so many pieces of wood in my truck, that I have found on my travels. They are all so beautiful. Thank you for showing us this magical piece xxxx

Yeah, I tend to keep all kinds of stones and shells and pieces of wood. But my van is too small actually,so the other day some pieces has to go back to Nature ^^
But I love to have beautiful things around me <3

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you, dear @ackhoo ❤️


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.