Amazing Nature ~ Painted Turtle

My entry for the #amazingnature contest hosted by @adalger
April 2020 - #04 #hive-127788

~Painted Turtle~
My first sighting is usually on a very warm sunny Spring day. They love sit and gather up on a log and bask in the sun. It's pretty amazing. Sometimes I'll see 10 -12 of them together.

20190702_153403.jpg
(Chrysemys picta)

They live in marshes, slow moving streams, bogs and shallow ponds. They eat tadpoles, insects, aquatic plants, small fish, snails and other yummy aquatic life.

20190702_152955.jpg

The next most popular time I see them is after after mating and the females come on land to lay their eggs . These pictures were taken in late June.
Their nests are often raided by raccoons, skunks, foxes and snakes.
Painted turtles and other turtles sadly and tragically get killed by vehicles when their crossing over the road. When I see one I remove out the road and put it a few feet off to the side. Always in the same direction it was heading in.

20190405_132844.jpg

Their ability to survive the long cold Winter's beneath the ice I find to be most amazing.
Adults overwinter under the ice buried deep in the mud beneath the water.
Painted turtle are cold- blooded (ectotherms) .
When it's cold their metabolism slows right down.
While submerged for the winter, they can absorb some oxygen through their skin, mouth and cloaca.
The above is a shadow photo of me on the frozen marsh here at my cabin.
Somewhere beneath me and the ice the painted turtles are buried deep down in the mud.
I'm looking forward to see them again. Hopefully soon.
😊🐢
Photos taken by
@annephilbrick
🍃🍃

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Week 3 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!

🤗🐢
Many Thanks over
@pixresteemer
Always greatly appreciated 😊

Congratulations @annephilbrick! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5250 replies. Your next target is to reach 5500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!
 4 years ago  

I love turtles ^^ .. I actually wish to have that cool ability too, to overwinter just like that, and to raise again after the winter, hehe ;)

🤗🐢
@adalger
I wish I had that cool ability too..!!
It's pretty amazing.
Nature is AMAZING..🐢💕