Just Another Day In Orchidville - Orchid Update

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

Orchid Update 111.png

It's Been A Good Bit Of Time ..

Since my last written update on my Orchids. Two months to be exact. At that time I was sad to have seen the last flower on Pepper's sympathy Orchid, fall to the ground. I said then, that this was a sad time, but when the Orchid decided it was time to bloom again, It would become a happy time again.
Hive text divider.png

The Last Flower That Fell Two Months Ago and the Late & Great Mr. Pepper

1612469914358.png

Hive text divider.png

On That Note ..

Welcome Back To Another Update From Orchidville

I have a bit of exciting news!!.. 'Pepper's Sympathy Orchid', as I have been referring to it, is on it's way to blooming once more. We were so thrilled to spot a bloom stem pushing it's way through the center of one of the leaves. So, so, so exciting, yet I am still sad and missing my baby boy. I wish he could be here to sniff at the new bloom and enjoy the fun with me. Maybe I can get Molly to appreciate Orchid Fever! Or.. and most likely the case.. Not.

IMG_E9094 2.JPG
If you take a close look, you can see the tiny bloom stem pushing up through the leaves. Look just above the old, brown, cut off stem to the right.
Below is a closeup.

IMG_9121.JPG

At least once per week.. I take a moment to look carefully at the plants to see what's happening. Nothing is going on most of the time.. Like watching paint dry, or so they say. It's still fun to look. Well about a week or two ago, I was looking and notice three of my Orchids decided they were happy enough to start pushing out bloom stems.

Progression Photos.. I took a few pictures when I first noticed the blooms and then took a few more a 15 days later. I had all of the best intentions of posting two weeks ago, but of course, as always, life got in the way. haha. SO.. Now you have the chance to see two weeks worth of growth in each group of photos (from left to right).

1612467689736.png

1612467374314.png

1612467508110.png

The Other 6 Orchids.. Are doing pretty well. They all look healthy (except for one) which is a pretty good thing given the dry conditions the house is in. The winters here in the Northeast can be pretty dry.. Not Orchid friendly conditions. The Large Orchid pictured below had to be placed in the sink a few times to re-hydrate the poor girl. Her leaves and air roots were getting pretty limp there for a while. We managed to bring it back around.

1612466997354.png

I then placed a bundled up wad of paper towel in within the roots to try and keep the humidity up. I soak it every few days. As you can see in the picture above (and compared to the other plants) the air roots are a bit shriveled. They aren't getting any worse, so I am happy with that.

IMG_E9102.JPG

This one is still blooming and the only one with flowers right now. This should change come a month or two. Below are a few pictures of the blooms that brighten our days and our living space.

IMG_E9103.JPG

IMG_E9098.JPG

IMG_9228.JPG

IMG_E9229.JPG

This Orchid here (below) is the one I was writing about earlier. It has been dubbed my problem Orchid. Whatever I do, it seems to hate living here and seems to hate the attention I give it. I tried to plant it deeper into the bark (after cleaning it up and removing the dead matter) in hopes it would perk back up in a month or so. Well, it did push out a new, and ugly looking, leaf. I suppose it wouldn't have done that if it was too unhappy.

IMG_E9106.JPG

My two dwarf Orchids, are not looking so dwarf anymore. They are beginning to out grow their pots! The grocery store is not know for telling the truth all of the time, so I take the dwarf part with a grain of salt. They will need new pots sooner than later. It's on my list of things to buy this spring when the stores stock pots again instead of salt and snow shovels.

1612466836856.png

That Wraps Up The Latest Orchid Update..

I wish I had more exciting news for you... WAIT!!! I gave you some exciting news!! Now we all have to wait to see what color these flowers are going to be. Somehow I forgot what color these plants will bloom. I'm not going to cheat and look back through these blog post either. You can if you like, but I want to be surprised.. That, believe it or not, is fun to me.
Something to look forward to.

Hive text divider.png

IMG_2831.JPG

“The best thing for being sad," replied Merlin, beginning to puff and blow, "is to learn something. That's the only thing that never fails. You may grow old and trembling in your anatomies, you may lie awake at night listening to the disorder of your veins, you may miss your only love, you may see the world about you devastated by evil lunatics, or know your honor trampled in the sewers of baser minds. There is only one thing for it then — to learn. Learn why the world wags and what wags it. That is the only thing which the mind can never exhaust, never alienate, never be tortured by, never fear or distrust, and never dream of regretting. Learning is the only thing for you. Look what a lot of things there are to learn.”
― T.H. White, The Once and Future King

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Life does get forgetful for me sometimes lately. I saw you post, i voted the post when I saw it, i was gonna comment on the post, and I forgot, and I am getting pretty tired of my keyboard typing psot for post just about every time now. My fingers have gotten to slow on one hand and to fast on the other I guess.

Looking forward to remembering the colors of the Orchids myself, I am sure pepper is looking down from on high waiting to see the smiles at the colors to come, and is smiling as Molly curls into the most comfortable place for the moment.

There are never enough hours in the day for me.. Especially when it comes to commenting. I spend hours reading and what not. Time escapes rather quickly anymore.

I was tempted to look back through these posts or the photos on my phone to figure out the colors, but decided no.. I want to be surprised. Awww.. Poor Pepper.. So sad about that still. I miss him dearly. He was such a good dog. Wish he was still here, giving me new inspirations for posts. Molly on the other hand, can be found resting in her comfy spots.. why not, it's her thing and what she enjoys doing.

Thank you for the comment and the support. As always it's appreciated!😁

Wow, that is awesome! I am glad that it is working towards blooming again. It will probably give you that boost you need to prepare for Spring and what the new season has to bring for you.

It's a great sign that good things are coming. It takes so long for these blooms to totally form, but when they do it's awesome. 😁

I have been a fan of irises for a while now and I think it would be cool to have some. I guarantee I would kill every last one of them though...

Your orchid collection is so pretty!