Orchid Update! Part 1 (yeah it's been a while)

IMG_4755_01.jpg

It's Been Way Too Long ..

And I have NO excuses for it. I guess I'll skip a bunch of stuff that has happened with them since now and the last post and get right to the good stuff. So what's the good stuff? You may have guessed by now.. FLOWERS!

IMG_4755.JPG


Pepper's Sympathy Orchid Is At It Again ..

He came through in spirit and made sure that his Orchid bloomed for Christmas. Just before Christmas arrived, I was feeling blue and down in the dumps over him not being present to celebrate with us. I was going through that self pity and depression sort of thing. I would look at his picture that sits on top of his remains. I would talk to him and tell him that I missed him helping me set up al of those curiously interesting decorations. And that I missed taking a nap with him after it was all done. I missed him.

I took it as a sign that he heard me .. when the flowers started to appear one by one. I didn't think the plant would have flowered as fast after just blooming, but it was. And the biggest surprise was that it had TWO BLOOM STEMS and not just one!!! What a display of beauty and in my mind a representation of a little life deeply missed by his family; Myself, my wife and little old Molly.

IMG_4757.JPG

17 Flowers In Total.. That's the magic number this time. The plant is doing fairly well for having this much beauty to support and attend to. I am guessing after they start to wilt and fade, the plant will be needing a lot of TLC and nourishment. All of these blooms have to be taking a bunch of energy to produce and sustain.

IMG_4753.JPG

I have both flower stems well supported.. As you have probably noticed. I used two strong stakes and a bunch of clips. I wish I would have clipped up the larger of the two stems, further up on the stake, but was too late on trying and I didn't want to risk breaking anything (like I did to another plant.. read on to find out).

IMG_4752.JPG

We Received a VERY COOL Compliment This Weekend.. My niece and her husband were up visiting for the weekend, and he was seated at the breakfast table working on some graduate work. As he was typing away on his laptop, I grabbed the plant and told him I was moving it out of his way. I said something stupid like "this is my baby and I don't want the heat from your laptop to kill it." I know.. dumb, but he laughed. Then he asked it it was real. He said that it looked so good that he thought it was fake! WHAT A COMPLIMENT!!! I may have blushed over it. haha.

IMG_4760.JPG

IMG_4759.JPG

Come to think of it, the other plants in the room appear to be a little jealous too. Look at them in the corner there looking at this girl all by herself, on display and getting compliments. hehe. Don't worry, they get plenty of love too!

IMG_4758.JPG

... To Be Continued - Part Two Tomorrow

Hive text divider.png

“Don't be ashamed to weep; 'tis right to grieve. Tears are only water, and flowers, trees, and fruit cannot grow without water. But there must be sunlight also. A wounded heart will heal in time, and when it does, the memory and love of our lost ones is sealed inside to comfort us.”
― Brian Jacques, Taggerung

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Sort:  

Awww... so pretty the flowers!
I have to make a post too...
Those flowers... simple, elegant, beautiful!

Thank you! Yours are quite spectacular too! 😁


You’ve Been Upvoted By Hive-113748 ~ The Orchid Lovers Community!
We LOVED your post featuring Orchids and are thrilled that you chose our community to share it in!
Thank you :-)

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Plants! You have plants! That's so awesome. My cats eat mine, so I don't have anymore.


Hahahah .. I remember you telling me stories about those devil cats. 😆 You are probably not even safe getting an artificial ones!

untitled.gif

Hahahahaha! Yes, that! Exactly!

hermosa😍

Thank you! .. or .. Muchas gracias! 😊


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.