You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Appreciate Beauty of Nature with @phortun: round 161

in Amazing Naturelast year

Wow, those are some beautiful shots! I am going to have to see what I can come up with. I have quite a number of photos sitting around on my desktop. Let me start with this one and if I did it wrong just let me know...

IMG20220618123023.jpg

This was taken near the summit of Brockway Mountain between Copper Harbor and Eagle Harbor Michigan. Much of the rock in this area is pre-volcanic and over 20,000 years old if I remember correctly. The whole area was known for it's vast copper deposits back in the day. Miners would come from Wales and many other areas in Europe to work. The road leading up Brockway mountain is a seasonal road that they don't plow in the winter. All up and down the mountain are various mountain bike trails. Heading up you often pass pickup trucks with bikes stacked in the back and riders waiting to make their run down the mountain.

Sort:  

That´s an amazing shot and it would be a great entry but I´m afraid the picture is older than 7 days :) This challenge is about sharing fresh natural photos, that´s what makes it different from other contests here on Hive. Do you have anything more recent? A shot taken during the past week?

Ah, okay, that is cool. No, not anything that has to do with nature. It's winter in Michigan. Not much to get outside to right now. Just a whole lot of white.

Yeah, I thought so... Keeping this challenge alive during the winter is so difficult sometimes. I mean I always open the new round with my own picture to lead by example and it´s easy if we are based in the tropics or subtropics but we have been actually here in Central Europe for the past 3 winters and getting decent natural shots for this challenge was hard sometimes! So take it easy and join us later on, whenever you want ;) Greetings to Michigan!

Thanks! I will get there. I have some pictures of my dog sleeping in the chair, but she is far from a wild animal, so I don't think that counts as nature. I will be getting some within the next year. I started following you in my feed, so I should be able to keep track of what's going on. Thanks!

Well, it´s possible to take decent natural photos even in winter, my Czech buddy @onlavu, for example, has been sharing some truly amazing pictures from the mountains with us but it also greatly depends on the weather. Like I said, you are welcome here anytime :) And thanks for the follow, I will be checking out your blog too ;)

Yeah, it's hard to get to the pretty areas when the weather is like this. Around here is mostly just farm fields! :) Thanks!

Well, today, I was in a very pretty area with some super impressive rock formations but it was so cloudy and dark that the photos would turn out horrible, I didn´t even try...