Cold Wintery Day With Snow ❄️ 😊

in Amazing Nature β€’ 5 months ago

09 January 2024
IMG_20240109_074610472.jpg

IMG_20240109_074557105.jpg

IMG_20240109_074633510.jpg

Hello everyone I'm off again from work due to the weather. Yesterday I enjoyed the day off as a storm missed us. Today I woke up to a text message saying the base is closed due to inclement weather. I looked out the window and seen why. Now this is a decent amount of snow but what is most dangerous about it is the roads contain sheets of ice below the snow. I'm not quite ready to go outside so these photo were taken through an inside window. Sorry for the dots on the photos, those are snow flakes on the outside of the window.

Don't you just love the look of trees holding snow? I know I do and I hope I can share more of them later in this post. The first one is mostly covered at the bottom. The top of it would be as well if it weren't for a stiff wind.

The snow covers everything. The roads,side walks, decks, yard, automobiles and many other things are covered. It looks beautiful seeing that but some things have to be cleared off.

IMG_20240109_093705201.jpg

I got some outside work to do today. So I decided on a smaller breakfast because I want room for something warm for lunch. So I just had some cut up strawberries, bananas, and half of a Maple French Toast bagel. I decided to drizzle some chocolate over the fruit. I can tell you the strawberries tasted so delicious doing this. It was like having a dessert for breakfast. Using a tooth pick to eat the fruit led to only having to clean two knives.

IMG_20240109_115846908~2.jpg

IMG_20240109_114626984_HDR.jpg

Above is what I have to look forward to shoveling. I was prepared and motivated to shovel. I have been wanting to see a decent amount for quite some time. Plus shoveling snow is kinda like working out. I walked out through the garage and grabbed both my snow shovel and a broom. The broom was for pushing snow off my wooden deck.

The sounds in the neighborhood were what I am use to hearing after a decent amount of snow fall. Sounds of snow blowers could be heard nearby and from blocks away. Than sounds of shovels scraping across the concrete could be heard all over. The wind howling could be heard and it sounded like a big deep breath let go magnified by 100. The one thing that caught my attention was hearing geese honking above. I am almost sure in there dialect they were saying let's head South it's too freaking cold here!

IMG_20240109_121124514_HDR.jpg

I'm not exactly bundled up. I have a hoodie on underneath a wind breaker jacket. Underneath the hoodie is a dry fit shirt. I was also wearing tight fit gloves. I had just a plain pair of jeans on while wearing some sneakers. Not exactly sure of the temperature at this time but it was cold.

Why didn't I wear more? Well at this time of the selfie I was about half way done shoveling and I was warm. I had water nearby and drank some as I was shoveling. Every year there are cases of someone getting dehydrated from shoveling. Many bundle up too much and don't realize there body is producing a lot of heat because it is cold outside. It's easy to get confused you may have a cold face or cold hands but the rest of your body is warm and probably sweating. Even I have made this mistake. What happens is you may become dizzy to the point you feel like your going to pass out. It's always a good idea to take a break every so often and get a drink.

IMG_20240109_121048507_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240109_154014051_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240109_154025252_HDR.jpg

A job finished once I moved my car over to the other side of driveway. I of course went over some areas again with the shovel so more concrete was exposed. Leaving too much snow on the driveway will surely turn into ice. I got the most I could using the shovel as a scraper as well. The side walk is important as kids will be walking on it tomorrow heading to the bus stop.

IMG_20240109_131846383_HDR.jpg

Here's a nice warm lunch for a cold day. Soup and a sandwich. The soup was Campbell's Chicken Dumplings and the sandwich was a ham & cheese on a pretzel bun. It was just enough to satisfy my hunger after spending nearly two hours shoveling outside.

IMG_20240109_155656158_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240109_155139107.jpg

IMG_20240109_160406511.jpg

IMG_20240109_160339556.jpg

There wasn't a lot of trees covered in snow but I found some that were close or partially covered. I tell you again that wind was just enough for it to not happen completely. A lot of parking lots have piles of snow like above that were pushed by plows to the edges and sides.

IMG_20240109_155604241.jpg

IMG_20240109_155342798.jpg

IMG_20240109_160124310_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240109_184149387.jpg

The roads contain packed snow and ice. Most have tire track paths that need to be driven in. The roads are improving as snow plows are clearing snow and dumping chemicals & salt on them to combat the ice. The snow crews are busy and have been working around the clock. I'm very thankful for them, I can't imagine what the roads would be like with our them.

The forecast calls for more snow on Thursday and Friday. Also the temperatures are suppose to get even colder. I've been hoping for some snow it may be soon that I don't want any more, hehe. Back to work on Wednesday and I'm sure I will be doing more snow shoveling there.

That's all I have for you this time. Take care, stay safe and enjoy the rest of the week.

Sort: Β 

Delightful light white snow flakes, one who doesn't live with it never thinks about the shoveling simply to get out of the home!

!BEER

Haha ya the good activities are usually associated with it. I didn't mind I got some fresh cold air and a workout :)

I would gracefully collapse into a pile of snow right now, so hot and uncomfortably humid, most probably be able to melt the driveway by rolling down through it πŸ™ƒ

I'm sure in a week or so I'd welcome the hot and humidity. Too bad we couldn't trade temporarily, hehe

It would be brilliant to swap for for a couple of weeks then you get the full feel !LOLZ

It doesn't matter if my wife tells me I'm not mature
I'm not going to let her enter my tree house without the right password

Credit: reddit
@coolmidwestguy, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of joanstewart

(1/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Job well done, and a good form of work out.. and I like to see the pile of snow in the side of the road, it looks like clouds😁β™₯️

Yes it's a pretty good workout. Very important to bend your knees when shoveling snow.

Now I've seen snow for years and never thought about piles of it looking like clouds. They really do look like it :)

!HUG
!LUV

Dear @asiaymalay, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @coolmidwestguy.
(1/3)

asiaymalay, coolmidwestguy sent you LUV. πŸ™‚ (1/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Β 5 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

First the hard work, then play harder!
Great tips and advice on how to properly dress, stay hydrated and take breaks while shoveling and clearing off snowfall.

Hopefully you got to enjoy some good ole outdoor fun on your adult "snow day" since the base was closed -- go sledding, build a snowman or something else you like.

Remind me again, in what state do you live? I exited out and looked at your profile to find my answer. Are you near any good ski areas? @coolmidwestguy

@tipu curate

Thank you for your support and appreciation.

Now we're starting to get the cold temperatures that January is known for, brrr πŸ₯Ά Activity outside will have to wait for a bit warmer days. Wind chills out hovering around negative and are only going to get worse in the following days.

There are a couple of ski areas but nothing to rave about because the Midwest is flat mostly, haha.

!HUG

Dear @ninahaskin, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @coolmidwestguy.
(2/3)

Ohhh a lot of snow!!! πŸ€©πŸ™Œ Keep warm but maybe you do not need so much, you are used to that weather! Here it has been once again a disappointment, we expected at least some rain after a long dry period but just few minutes this morning earlier and I didn't even notice in that moment! just the street was a little wet afterwards. πŸ˜… Anyway let's see when it is the next chance...
!LOLZ

We get a break from the snow today but more expected to end the week. Well hope you get some rain to take care of the dryness. Have a great rest of the week Amiga.

!LUV

duvinca, coolmidwestguy sent you LUV. πŸ™‚ (2/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

!LUV

coolmidwestguy, duvinca sent you LUV. πŸ™‚ (1/5) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Why did Mickey Mouse get a pie on his face?
Because Donald ducked!

Credit: reddit
@coolmidwestguy, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of duvinca

(1/6)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

We appreciate your work and your publication has been hand selected by the geography curation team on behalf of the Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much for the appreciation and support. Have a great day ahead.

Wow! Lots of snow! Take care!
!BEER

Yup and more to come :)

Wow . That's a lot of snow and it must be exhausting to clear the way..
But I'm worried those food wasn't enough to satisfy your tummy πŸ˜… not even for me haha.

Here's some !PIZZA for you haha
!HUGZ coz it's cold out there.. Hope to see a snowman next time.

More to come and next time will be a lot colder πŸ₯Ά

Hehe I have to eat in moderation to enjoy other things later I didn't show🍦

So wanting to make that snowman, I got something special planned for it β˜ƒοΈ

I bit bummed right now I hit something on the road on the way to work this morning with my car that took out the left side parking light and cracked my bumper. Maybe it was the snow buildup behind the front tire.

Thank you for sharing this my friend πŸ₯°I want to experience snow, maybe soon if ever I get a chance πŸ₯Ή

I hope you're okay and doing great their despite the weather my friend. Take care always and God bless you! 😘πŸ₯°β€οΈ

Hey they are looking at legislation here for higher salaries in Iowa for teachers that would rank them #5 nationwide. A job for you and snow, haha. I would assume you are set to stay put with the family.

I'm ok friend feeling a little bummed as I hit something on the way to work this morning with my car. Just waiting to see if insurance will cover and how much out of pocket expenses will be.

Β 5 months agoΒ Β 

I'm not surprised that activities are suspended, from what you can see too much snow has fallen. With conditions like these it is almost impossible to drive on the road
Without a doubt, shoveling snow is a good exercise, a light breakfast helps to avoid having a heavy stomach and feeling uncomfortable when doing the shoveling work.
Excellent work, everything turned out very well dear friend @coolmidwestguy

Thank you shoveling the driveways and sidewalks is part of home ownership. It's gives you a sense of pride and accomplishment when done :) There's a good chance of being off on Friday because of more expected snow. As the snow accumulates so do my tasks, hehe.

Β 5 months agoΒ Β 

In the city where I live it has never snowed, we don't have the experience of removing snow from the front of our house, but that feeling you mention, I think is the same as what one feels when cutting the grass in the garden on the weekends.

May you enjoy that beautiful snowy landscape

Yes same feeling as mowing grass πŸ‘

Β 5 months agoΒ Β 

that feeling is great
I hope it doesn't snow so much these days, and you don't have to work so much.

It's all good friend I wanted to see the snow so I could share with the many that don't have it. I'm just hoping for the temperatures to warm up so I can show somethings that can be done it 😊

WoW! That's a lot of snow, my gosh!
It makes a lot of sense what you explain that if people bundle up much to shovel snow they can easily get dehydrated.

Everything looks beautiful covered in snow, but I guess it's not so beautiful if you have to go out in a snowfall like that, hehe.
Take care!

Many make the mistake thinking you can't get dehydrated in the cold.

Oh it's still beautiful working in it. Now if you slip and fall than it's not so pretty,haha

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jane1289(1/5) tipped @coolmidwestguy


Hey @coolmidwestguy, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.


Hey @coolmidwestguy, here is a little bit of BEER from @mizuosemla for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.