Moth Trap: 2nd June 2022 - A new species to add to the list

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Hiveblog divider.png

moth trap 06-06-22.png

Date: 2nd June 2022

Weather:

Well, I was going to set up the Trap tonight, but the weather has been appalling ALL weekend. Cold, windy and very, very wet. So instead I'll writ up a session from a few days ago - Thursday 2nd June to be exact.

Weather wise, it was a much better day. I had mown the lawn in the afternoon, and saw 4 different species of moth disturbed from the grass and the nearby vegetation, such as a Heart & Dart and this Large Yellow Underwing seen below.

The evening promised overcast skies, wind coming from the South-east and reasonably warm temperatures, I was expecting good results tonight!

Large Yellow Underwing-0077PP.jpg
Large Yellow Underwing - Noctua pronuba

Results: 50 moths of 25 species

image.png

Summary of Results:

Well as you can see, it was a very productive night. The increase in numbers compared to a few weeks back is obvious, and a clear sign we are on our way to the peak season which will arrive July/August time.

Right as the sun set, there was plenty of activity around the trap. In the Spring I would see 1 or 2 fluttering around at any one point, but now it becomes much more frantic with moths whizzing all over the place.

Common Emerald-0053PP.jpg
Common Emerald- Hemithea aestivaria

Yellow Shell-0050PP.jpg
Yellow Shell - Camptogramma bilineata

Green Pug-0053PP.jpg
Green Pug - Pasiphila rectangulata

Most of the moths seen (including those above) are all fairly common and expected for this location at this time of year. As I've been doing this for 5 years now, I start to have a 'feel' for them. Its amazing how memory works... I can be sat there watching the moths fly about, and even though I may not have seen some species since this time last year, I can pick out most of the species that I've seen before.

This means its always exciting when I see a moth I can not immediately name, as that is generally a sign of a new species that I haven't seen before.

Such as this one:

Tachystola acroxantha-0960.jpg
Tachystola acroxantha

Tachystola acroxantha-0963.jpg
Tachystola acroxantha

This neatly marked little moth, appeared halfway through the session approximately 11pm. I quickly potted him up and brought him inside, and after rifling through a couple of books and I found a name.

I doubled checked a website I frequently use here

I always like a 2nd opinion!

And the website confirmed my ID was correct - Tachystola acroxantha

So a nice busy evening with lots of data to record, and a new species to my garden list too, what more could I ask for 😁

I'll be back with another report next week so I'll see you then (keep your fingers crossed that the weather improves haha!)


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 5 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Further Research from UK Moths and NatureSpot

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @dannewton! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Hello @dannewton!

Thank you for these interesting ecological data!
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Loved the designs on the Large Yellow Underwing in juxtaposition to the blue flowers!