Playing with a shoal of salema porgy at 6 meters deep!

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


As you know, I like to go snorkeling from time to time in a hidden cove, located in the Mediterranean Sea and only about ten minutes by car from my house.

Peering the seabed in search of the best route to follow.

Sometimes and in some areas of the sea, the visibility is not very good and the water is cloudy due to the swell and waves. Still, I try to make the quality of my images and videos the best possible under the circumstances.

An adult specimen of salema porgy (scientific name Sarpa Salpa), also commonly known as dreamfish or goldline. They belong to the Sparidae family and it's a species from which to know many curious facts:

  • It is a totally hermaphroditic species.
  • The young specimens are carnivores but the adults are herbivores.
  • It's the only marine species capable of feeding on a highly toxic algae called killer algae or Caulerpa taxifolia.
  • Its meat is not recommended for consumption due to the probability of being contaminated with this killer algae toxin, but even if the specimen had not eaten algae, its meat is insipid and worthless in the fish market.
  • They can change the color of their body and that of their stripes according to their emotional state.

Target set and located!

Sometimes you find unexpected and pleasant visits, like this octopus.

Video and shots taken with my GoPro Hero Adventure camera.

Scientific data of the salema porgy fish researched among different bibliographic sources, Wikipedia among them.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Is it legal to go spearfishing?

Hi there bro!
Well, people uses speargun often but you have to be licensed. Sometimes I have seen some guys spearfishing but I don't like it much, to be honest.
Moreover they sometimes catch and kill little octopuses wich thing is totally forbidden by law.
Did you see Papa-Pepper's last videos about spearfishing just with a spear in a river? That man is a real Tarzan, living entirely from the nature.

papa punk?

triggered

papa pepper gets my downvotes until this chain crashes.
That guy is no badass but a leach. Made 200k HP and cashed everything out and keeps on blogging. Never gave anything back to the community. Fuck that guy.

I can not believe he still gets votes.
He stands for everything that went wrong here.


Spearfishing is the best method to fish as it is very selective. You can chose exactly which fish to catch.
If you eat fish and dislike spearfishing, you are a hypocrite. Where do you think the fish in the shops come from?

Didn't know you dislike the guy and didn't know either he was a bit selfish but as he's living of his blog I can try to understand it somehow. Anyways, the truth is he's not much of commenting, nor voting anyone, that's truth but the stuff he does is kinda interesting. It's like watching Man vs Wild 😄
I know the spearfish stuff but I don't like it for me although I know it's the best way to fishing. I'm of the idea that there are already tons of fish in fish market wich most of them are even throw into the garbage after people not buying it so I don't really see the need of go killing wild animals unless you live fully of nature, like Papa's case or even yours.
I like to respect wild nature and watch it but not killing it but if I were living savage and had to kill for feeding, I would do it vowing respect to the animal and thanking him and Nature for his meat, like Mayans did in their forests.
Those guys killing little octopuses without a need for surviving are pure scum bastards.

...if I were living savage and had to kill for feeding, I would do it vowing respect to the animal and thanking him and Nature for his meat, like Mayans did in their forests.

You just let someone else do the killing for you. Weak.

You said it yourself: You are disrespecting the fish, nature and yourself right now.

How about you really get in touch with nature? Do your own killing, man!

I'd love to come over to hunt for food with you. It would be so much fun.
If it wasn't for the stupid vax, I'd come over and show you how it's done.

rhyme, lol.

I hope you can understand, but that really upset me :)

Well, all this topic involves many things and each one has his own thinking and point of view.
Unfortunately, we already kill massively for food into society, so my point of view is that it's not really needed to actually killing your own food because there are already people killing it and, on top of that, mostly of that animal meat is thrown to garbage, wich thing is a sacrilege; of course, if you live in the wild and you're self-sufficient, wich thing I see awesome, you'll have to farm your crop, grow animals and kill them, etc.; I just hope this is done with the much possible respect towards the animal and making him suffering the least.
On the other hand, I don't like killing wild animals, also for what I've explained above and because wild animals are truly heirs of this land; I don't like even killing insects: they're so awesome.
So, it's not a thing of being weak, just some convictions. Make sure that if I were living in the wild, I would do what is needed because that's the real deal in Nature: killing to survive.

I'd love to come over to hunt for food with you. It would be so much fun.
If it wasn't for the stupid vax, I'd come over and show you how it's done.
rhyme, lol.

I don't like going hunting, as you can imagine.
I know some hunting regulated activity is beneficial for species control so that's ok, but most of hunters are just monkeys enjoying shooting and killing animals not for eating but just for their skin or head trophies; other are just pure psychopaths that enjoy make them suffering (I've seen videos about that) and I would like to ambush these people and kill them with my own bare hands.

Don't get upset buddy 😄

Reality check: You are living in this world, not on the moon.
What wilderness? The ocean is wild and you are living 10 minutes away from it; wtf

Most hunters love nature, the creation and are actively doing their part to preserve it.
You are the one spending money at the fish market, supporting the industry.

Go teach a kid how to fish, you will make them respect nature for life.

You prefer killing man over killing animals? I can not believe you think that way. Sad.

Amazing... Keep exploring nature


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hey lady! Thanks for the cheering! 👍

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Hey guys! Thank you very much @ewkaw and @qurator for selecting my content to be upvoted! 🙂👍

You're very welcome :)
Have a great weekend!

Same to you! 👍

in the sea life is tastier hahaha.
looks great

Hey! You mean the octopus?
Thanks for passing by and commenting!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @dresden.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

wow I really want to travel like that @dresden

Hi there lady!
Heh, heh!
Happy to know you liked what you seen.
The truth is that almost every sea of the world, even those coves or beaches close to our homes, are full of wild marine life.
Thanks for commenting!