A pot full of spring - Muscari in bloom

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

Grape hyacinth muscari 8.jpg


A few weeks ago I got a pot of those little bulbs that were just starting to grow. Only thanks to the label I new what it is (it would be a surprise if someone messed with them and they were misplaced) as the shelf was full of other kinds bulbous spring flowers. Larger bulbs from Hyacinths and smaller ones from Crocuses and those Muscari here. Since I already had the other two and I killed them, it was time to try with those hoping they will survive and bloom next spring too.

They don't grow around and since they are extremely photogenic, I had another reason to get them :)

Grape hyacinth



Grape hyacinth muscari 12.jpg


In colder climates they are one of the first flowers that appear in the garden and since I remember they were popping all over our garden. They don't require any care. The bulbs stay deep in the ground and don't need to be taken out for the winter.

In very early spring long thin leaves will show up first followed by the clusters of super tiny little flowers. Each bulb can produce from of the flower stems and when they grow in groups it looks just amazing! Also the first insects love to feed on them.

After they are don't they will slowly die back and before summer there is nothing left. The bulbs stay in hidden in the ground until next spring.

Grape hyacinth muscari 1.jpgGrape hyacinth muscari 2.jpg



The pot I got has few of the bulbs in it The leaves grew pretty fast and not long after I could see the buds. Pretty, blue buds :)

Even though the colour is not exactly what I expected I still like them. The ones my mum has in a garden are much darker. My ones are more blue.
It could be caused by the conditions they grow - warmer temperatures inside the house, less light... I am not sure.
It could also be the type as they do come in different colours.

They also grew a lot taller than the ones growing directly in soil.


Grape hyacinth muscari 3.jpg


Just look at those adorable little flowers :)
They are just a few mm across and all have this white, flipped edges.


Grape hyacinth muscari 4.jpg

Grape hyacinth muscari 5.jpg

Grape hyacinth muscari 6.jpg

Grape hyacinth muscari 9.jpgGrape hyacinth muscari 10.jpg



I took the photos a while ago and by now the blooms already faded and I cut the stems off. I still water the bulbs and I will keep them there as long as the leaves are green. Soon they will fade too.

Then I will cut then off, take the bulbs out, clean them and store them in a paper bag until fall.

I have a large pot with some daffodils growing so I will plant them there. Hopefully next spring they all bloom together :)


Grape hyacinth muscari 11.jpg

Grape hyacinth muscari 7.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

I really like their scent!
I also have it, it bloomed last year, but this year only the leaves have grown, I'm waiting for flowering :-)

I brought Muscari with white and pink flowering, planted, but so far there are no results.
But I will hope, maybe next year they will come up.

They look like berries :)))

cute

They are actually edible :D
Don't think I have ever tried though....

They served you as a perfect model if not as food :)

I did not eat them! I swears...
The Furry one tried to much on the leaves though :p

The Furry Queen indeed likes to taste the flowers and leaves of the plants :)

Just not if the flowers are yellow :D
She has a strong personality!

They are indeed adorable, such beautiful small flowers. I like them and their colour.
I remember we were potting some seeds and bulbs in school.
My pot should be these grapes hyacinths, it was only the leaves that came up… never got flowers.

Ohh pity... I really hope they bloom next year. The daffodils that I have are reblooming for a few years already, so there is a chance :)

Thank you @ewkaw 😊
Sometimes it works. Great to hear they are reblooming for a few years now.

Congratulations @ewkaw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 3000 posts.
Your next target is to reach 3100 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

They are so pretty! especially up-close where you can see the little petals. Such an adorable plant :)

Yea those little white tips are super adorable :)

On a funny note, "muscari" in Greek means "calf" 🙂 Nice ones!

Hah :D So you also call them that there?

@ewkaw , no @orestistrips is wrong, Calf in Greek will be μοσχάρι and it is read as mosHari ❤️‍

I was referring to the slang pronunciation, more often spoken in villages which is also used in a demeaning way (meaning dumb).

Then it’s understandable, otherwise I was surprised that you really might not know this

Oh, I din't know you call them like that too hahaha

If I'm not mistaken, they are spreading lovely scent?
I think my mom had them in garden long long time ago...

They do have a nice smell, yes. Nothing beats my favourite Freesias though :)

they bloom perfectly and beautifully, i really like to see the black background like in the picture you shared

For some reason, Alice in Wonderland came to mind.