Two praying mantises visiting my garden (one of them tried to seduce me ♥ )

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

There is nothing religious or angelic about praying mantises. They are fascinating animals, yes, but ruthless. I have seen them hunting in the air and eating their prey alive. I remember when I was a child I used to put them in a glass container and put insects such as bees, house spiders or some small animal in it. The mantis with its front legs/paws together in devotional and prayer mode (hence its name) attacks without warning, perhaps the only announcing movement it can make is a slight head movement, perhaps graduating its sight to know where and how to attack.

Las mantis religiosas, la verdad no tienen nada de religiosas ni de angelicales. Son unos animales fascinantes, sí, pero despiadados. Las he visto cazando en el aire y comiéndose vivas a sus presas. Recuerdo que de niños las encerraba en un envases de vidrio y le ingresaba insectos como abejas, arañas caseras o algún animal pequeño. La mantis con sus patas/tenazas delanteras juntas en modo devoto y de oración (de ahí su nombre) ataca sin avisar, quizá el único movimiento de anuncio que puede hacer es un ligero movimiento de cabeza quizá graduando la vista para saber dónde y cómo atacar.


I also remember being amazed at the sight of this animal devouring alive. It was both fascinating and unforgettable, so much so that I have not been able to erase those images from my mind.

I recently reminisced a lot about those amateur botanical and biological experiences. The reason? A pair of mantises visited my garden. One was brought by one of my sons and the other I saw on one of the plants that abound in the green area of my house. I deprived the first one of its freedom as I used to do with its colleagues, and then I let it free just to pose for me. Here is the result:

Recuerdo también quedarme sorprendido al ver a este animal devorando vivo. A la vez era fascinante e inolvidable, tanto que no he podido borrar esas imágenes de mi cabeza.

Hace poco rememoré mucho esas experiencias amateur de corte botánicas y biólogas. ¿La razón? Par de mantis visitaron mi jardín. Una la trajo uno de mis hijos y la otra la vi en una de las plantas que abundan en la zona verde de mi casa. A la primera la privé de su libertad como en antaño hacía con sus colegas, para luego dejarla libre solo para que posara para mi. Aquí les dejo el resultado:

Mantis 1.jpg

Upon release, she just posed very stoically. But in the next few, it gets more interesting.

Al liberarla, solo posó muy estoicamente. Pero en las próximas, el asunto se pone más interesante.


1.3.jpg

On her back, as if seducing me and showing her nape, the white mole on her wings and her long slender legs.

De espaldas, como seduciéndome y mostrando su nuca, el lunar blanco en sus alas y sus largas y esbeltas patas.


1.4.jpg


Here we see her as if looking to see my face and maybe conquer me with her virginal pose and her outlined face. But no, my dear green girl, I am not so easy to conquer. Besides, I have been told that you have a reputation for treachery. So I must get to know you better.

Acá la vemos como buscando ver mi cara y quizá conquistarme con su pose virginal y su perfilado rostro. Pero no, mi querida chica verde, no soy tan fácil de conquistar. Además me han comentado que tienes fama de traicionera. Así que debo conocerte más.



A esta la tomé en su hora de baño.

Mantis 2.jpg


First I captured her from behind, but in order not to be accused of being an animal voyeurist, I preferred to face her and observe her from the front.

Primero la capté de espaldas, pero para que no me acusaran de voyeurista animal, preferí dar la cara y observarla de frente.


2.1.jpg


She was very oblivious to my presence, she continued to do her hygiene, rummaging meticulously in her legs. Getting a pedicure, then.

Ella muy desentendida de mi presencia, siguió haciéndose su higiene, hurgando minuciosamente en sus patas. Haciéndose una pedicura, pues.


2.2.jpg


I was surprised to notice his flexibility and mastery to reach the most extreme ends of his body. I barely bend to pick something up and almost stay at a 90° angle. I envy you, dear praying mantis..., religious and very neat.

Sorprendido quedé yo al notar su flexibilidad y maestría para llegar a los extremos más extremos de su cuerpo. Yo apenas me doblo a recoger algo y casi me quedo en un ángulo de 90°. Te envidio, querida mantis religiosa..., religiosa y muy pulcra.

Well, so much for my encounter with mantises and incidentally religious ones. It was not a spiritual contact (rather it was something half erotic and sensual) 😂 😂 I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did sharing it with you.

See you next time.


Bueno, hasta aquí mi encuentro con mantis y de paso religiosas. No fue un contacto espiritual (más bien fue algo medio erótico y sensual) 😂 😂 Espero lo hayan disfrutado tanto como yo compartirla con ustedes.

Hasta una próxima ocasión.



The photographs and text are my own, created exclusively for Hive and the @amazingnature community.

Las fotografías y el texto son de mi autoría, creado exclusivamente para Hive y la comunidad @amazingnature.


As a complement (not as a source) I leave you with this article from National Geographic where you can find out everything you need to know about praying mantises.

Como complemento (no como fuente) les dejo este artículo de National Geographic donde según puedes enterarte de todo lo que necesitas saber sobre las mantis religiosas.

Todo lo que necesitas saber sobre las mantis religiosas
(in spanish/en español)

Sort:  

¡Qué buenas fotos, amigo! Es la única forma de ver de cerca una Mantis, jajaja. Se ve espectacular, gracias por compartir estas hermosas fotografías. Saludos.

La naturaleza es maravillosa en cada una de las creaciones que nos presenta.
La Mantis religiosa es muy bella, aunque presenta las características que describes de como atrapa sus presas...Hermosas fotos y desde diferentes puntos que nos presentas.

Abrazo Virtual (1).gif

Nature is wonderful in each of the creations you present to us.
The praying mantis is very beautiful, although it presents the characteristics you describe of how it catches its prey...Beautiful photos and from different points that you present us.

Virtual Embrace (1).gif

She is definitely a deadly lady :) Careful not to get too close! They're really good for the garden though :)

An insect that I do not want near after seeing it in my garden brutally devouring butterflies still alive. I take this opportunity to confess that more than once I do not respect and interrupt the cycle of life, so cruel in this case. The mantis is a merciless insect and if I can I take away the victim even if it does not survive but at least it does not continue to suffer while being eaten alive. But I congratulate you for your special encounter because it gave you good photos.

My virtual hug ♥

muy buenas fotos, este insecto es muy peculiar, coincido contigo, de religioso no tiene el aspecto, excepto la forma de sus brazos.. Saludos

 3 years ago  

Como estas querido amigo @garybilbao buenas tardes
Este es un insecto increíble, amo toda la naturaleza, y la personalidad de este insecto siempre me ha llamado la atención. Aprecio que nos dieras a conocer este encuentro cercano, tus palabras sobre ella y las hermosas imágenes.
Te deseo una hermosa tarde