Blooming Again After 9 Months

in Amazing Nature2 months ago (edited)

Hi guys. Just wanted to share with you this wonderful show that our garlic vine plant puts on annually. Even I was surprised to find the plant in full bloom without noticing it.

received_1880513235795638.jpeg

Well aside from the fact that its bloom begins as a very small and unnoticeable bud, most of them grow outside our fence so I don't get to observe them closely until they're almost fully bloomed.

received_358935167033272.jpeg

Photo above is when I first observed the flowers to my surprise and delight. I took photos of them that day and then a few days after.

1000000277.jpg

1000000278.jpg

1000000280.jpg

1000000281.jpg

Garlic Vine or also called garlic creeper, purple garlic vine or false garlic is a species of tropical liana in the family Bignoniaceae. It is native to Northern South America, and has spread to Central America and Brazil. Among the mestizos of the Amazon rainforest it is known as ajo sacha, a Spanish-Quechua name that means "forest garlic" or "wild garlic".
Wikipedia

And indeed, if one gets close enough to this vine, he will really smell garlic. Even the leaves, when crushed, gives off that garlic smell. Some say this can be used as a seasoning just like sage or mint but I haven't tried it yet. So far, all that I did was harvest the flowers and place them in our altar. They make for a very beautiful and angelic display.

1000000283.jpg

1000000284.jpg

All for now. I hope you enjoyed the garlic vine show as much as I did. Until the next bloom. Take care everyone.

Sort:  

Very beautiful photos, amazing those flowers.

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, they are indeed amazing 🌺

So pretty! :D
YAY!

 2 months ago  

Good morning dear friend @gems.and.cookies, how are you?
I had never heard of this plant, I love the shapes of its flowers.
I imagine the pleasant surprise when you go out and see this vine full of beautiful flowers on your fence.
Beautiful plant, very beautiful flowers, I appreciate that you let us know
Have a great day

Hello my friend @jlufer. Thank you for the kind words. I am happy you liked the flowers of this plant which, unfortunately, blooms only once a year. So I am enjoying every moment of it while it lasts.

Have a great day too 😃

 2 months ago  

What a particular plant, flowering once a year, it is a long time to wait, I appreciate that you let us know everything about this extraordinary plant

We also have this at home. The flowers are beautiful but the smell is very garlic, but I still like to play with its flowers.

Really? That's good you also have this at home. They say you can chop up the flowers and young leaves and sprinkle them on your food to have that garlic flavor. But I don't think I want to try that unless there will be a severe shortage of garlic that it will cost a thousand pesos a kilo 😂
Thanks for the visit and may you have a blessed weekend ahead.

These flowers are very fresh and beautiful. When I saw them for the first time, my eyes stayed on them for a few moments. They made me crazy with their beauty. ❤️
I would definitely like to add such beautiful flowers to my garden. Their color is very attractive🥀

Yes, they are quite beautiful especially during the first 3 to 4 days after the buds open. Their colors are so vivid and bright and neighbors always stop by to look at them. Our gardener helper planted the vine in our garden and it did take quite a long time to mature and flower. But it was worth the wait. Thanks for dropping by. Appreciate it much 😊

Love seeing the blooms on this each year. They so very lovely!

It's really lovely! I remember you mentioning it last year. It has so many blooms this year.

You made this comment on my post last year about the same garlic vine. Remember? Here's the link.

And now for this year's bloom you're pleasantly here again. So nice of you. Hope everything's all right with you over there, although I do get to read your posts and I know you're coping quite well. Keep safe and warm and well. Have a blessed Sunday 😊