My garden in a pot - Amazing Nature Contest: Thematic Challenge - # 3/11/21

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

Antigua Rosa Foto Día de la Madre Vintage Álbum de Recortes Collage de Fotos (1).png

Today I came across a publication for Amazing Nature Contest: Thematic Challenge - #3/11/21.
When I read it I immediately found it very interesting, I had to participate.
I love plants and that's why I will answer this question:

What's in My Pots?

Red Begonia.

IMG_20211119_202410.jpg

Begonias are plants of tropical climates and like humidity, moderately of course. I water it three times a week.
This little plant belonged to a huge, leafy mother, which belongs to my grandmother. I must admit that I did something wrong. When I went to visit my grandmother I sneaked a little piece of her begonia and planted it in the pot you see in the photo. It has already grown quite a bit, it looks beautiful.
I like its flowers, as the petals look like they were painted with watercolor.

Haworthia

IMG_20211119_202004.jpg

It is supposed to be a Haworthia, but to know which variety I would not know how to answer you.
Most Haworthias are succulents that like good lighting. I have it in a lighted place but not in direct sunlight, as it would burn the plant.
This one was given to me by my mother, she bought it from a lady in a flower and plant store.

Do you know why I like it? When I look at its leaves, it seems to be full of water that will burst :)

Crassula Ovata or Jade tree.

IMG_20211119_203327.jpg

This Jade tree needs a lot of sun to grow and strengthen its trunk and leaves. They are slow growing, but this beauty has grown quite a bit.
It has been in the garden for several years, it was supposed to be in a pot that dad bought for it. But as it grew it broke and its roots continued to find their way. I have it at the end of the garden, it is already 1 meter tall.

Aloe vera, chinensis variety.

IMG_20211119_203434.jpg

This is a different variety from Aloe barbadensis Miller, which is the one marketed in different beauty and edible products.
Aloe chinensis is for external use only, it should not be ingested.
This plant was tiny when I brought it home. It was given to me by my former boss, now it is huge.

Its pot is a washing machine that I stopped using. So, you have to recycle, you know 😅

Celery.

IMG_20211120_012232.jpg

This is my celery plant, which I used to drink infusions. We all know the goodness of this wonderful herb, diuretic, depurative, etc.
When I was trying to take the picture a little friend snuck in. So I started to admire the wasp more than to take the picture of the pot. You know we love #AmazingNature 🤗.

Lithops or living stones.

IMG_20211120_014646.jpg

Lithops are succulents from Africa. They evolved in their environment to look like stones to protect themselves from predators.
They are a bit difficult to take care of, watering is the tricky one. They can go several months without drinking water, but there is a cycle that must be followed to keep them healthy.
They are so beautiful, they are near the window in my room.

SAVE_20211104_212132.jpg

Photographs used are my property
Some of the images were edited with Canva

Animated social media graphic saludo de cumple para amiga divertido negro y blanco (1).gif

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Thank you for entering the competition.
There are treasures in the pots :-). In your case, literally.
Lithopes are set among many semi-precious stones. The dark blue of Azurite and the yellow of Topas immediately caught my eye :-)

mod.png

Apart from plants I love minerals. Since my dad was a miner in his youth, that's why I have a mineral collection :)

 2 years ago  

That's the explanation :-)