Amazing Nature Contest : Sumatran Iguana

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

5.JPG

The amazing side is that it's my first time seeing it. Actually, I didn't know that this type of reptile was on the island where we lived. Even when my friend, @vannour, told me he had seen the iguana, I denied it. Seriously? My friend then pointed to the direction where the iguana was perched. I was shocked. Oh my, this is amazing! I just really believed that this unique animal is on our island.

At that time, we were on a visit to a rainforest on the west coast of Sumatra, to be precise in the central Tapanuli area. Where we saw the iguana was a mountain near the sea or a promontory in Tapian Nauli Bay. To the north of the mountain flows a river with swamps of nipah forest, nibung and other aquatic vegetation on both banks. The river is known as the Lumut river. From this headland towards the sea there are stunning islands.

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

I then tried to find information about the unique lizards in the area. And it turns out, a German adventurer, Franz Junghuhn, in his book published in 1874, Die Battalander auf Sumatra, has described how the iguana peeked from behind the trees as he passed the Lumut river by boat!

6.JPG

7.JPG

I am obviously very happy to see this amazing reptile. It perches quietly as I take the pictures. I aimed at the face with astonishing eyes. Glance like a gecko. While the erect fins on the back make this lizard look extraordinary. The color is interesting too, from a little distance away, it looks green, but when it comes closer, the gray color looks more pronounced, as well as the yellow spots on the belly.

8.JPG

9.JPG

Being able to see this iguana in the Sumatran rainforest was an extraordinary moment for me. This is a bit of a story that I brought home from our visit to the west coast of Sumatra and I dedicated it to Amazing Nature.

4.JPG

Sort:  

How often do you get to visit the Sumatran rainforest? It's a pretty incredible gift!

I live in Sumatra, northern part of it. I can visit the tropical rainforest at any time, because it is around me. Thank you very much for the appreciation.

You sure did bring a story back and I just learned about this reptile iguana because of your post.
You are right, it looks greener from afar, seeing the penultimate photos reveals that.

Thank you so much for taking a look and for a pleasant comment.

It was worth it. Thanks for the insight into this.

I have never seen an iguana, let alone with yellow spots on the abdomen! 🙂

So did I before, with this one. 🙂 Thank you very much for the reply.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1077.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much for the appreciation!

 3 years ago  

This one looks so unique .. but the colour is well suited for this environment ^^

Yes I think it is indeed a suitable color for the environment in which it lives. Thank you very much for your attention.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Would you like to join us on DNA discord @keuudeip ? .. We would be happy to welcome you there ^^

It is an honor for me to have this wonderful invitation. I love to do that. So, I hope that in the near future I will be there. I really thank you and appreciate it so much!🙂

It's amazing that you found the iguana in the forest. I have never seen it with my own eyes before... You were lucky that you can take photos of it closely like this. Great shot!

In the meantime, this island is beautiful with the greenery and the sea view is wonderful. It looks very nice atmosphere. I especially like the last photo. 🙂

Thank you very much my friend! Glad to hear that from you.🙂

You are much welcome! ;)

Looks like a lizard from the dark ages, what wonderful photography capturing the feel for the area and this gorgeous specimen!

So glad for your comments.🙂 Thank you very much!