A MALE CENTRAL NEWT

in Amazing Nature4 years ago

I really enjoy seeing these guys around.

The Notophthalmus viridescens louisianensis more commonly known as the Central Newt is a type of amphibian known as a salamander in the family "Salamandridae." The easiest time for us to find them is during the spring breeding season, when the female and males can be found meeting together in the vernal pools in our area. Sometimes, we can observe dozens in one night.

This one is a male, that we photographed near our garden pond. Newts are peculiar creatures, and it took me decades to find my first one. Enjoy the photos.

MALE CENTRAL NEWT PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!


Sort:  

Beautiful. Look at the shiny skin.

Nice! I love seeing newts and salamanders out and about.

@papa-pepper thanks for sharing this with us. I have never seen this before.

I have never seen such lizards