A butterfly born in a storm. (Plus a video).

So what a surprise this morning as I saw the little guy battling in a pool of rain water.
011.jpg

Of course Doctor Zac, the guy that did the first ant heart transplant, had to rush out to save the butterfly :)

The latest storm was rolling in and we are known for very strong winds that whip the trees around. I think that Mother nature should incorporate crash helmets in the cocoons of butterflies.
Any case it was a wonderful experience to save the little guy from drowning. Will he continue to develop? I don't know, but we certainly hope so.
Not everyday that one would see one of these, what still a new born.
Come and have a look.

012.JPG

013.JPG

017.JPG

And then for some expert medical attention.

Luckily he was breathing so I didn't have to give him mouth to mouth resuscitation. His heart was pumping and his pulse felt fine :)
002.JPG

Marian mixed some raw honey with a bit of water and we gave him a drink to settle his nerves from the shock and trauma of the fall.
004.JPG

019.JPG

This is the host tree outside the study window and it is a (butterflymosa treesinuesa) Not it's real name as I have no idea what it is :)
020.JPG

Finally a close up of the tree.
024.JPG

I type very slowly with only one finger, as my fingers don't talk to each other, so I can't let my fingers fly over a keyboard like a butterfly. So many times I watch Marian typing with both hands and she doesn't even look at the keyboard.
This is how I type if I don't look at the keyboard; hasuisbnsv ahsn sksqgh hahaha.

Hallelujah, He is developing.
I digress and now 30 minutes later you can see that he is starting to develop.
032.JPG

Of course, we have to take care not to handle him as they are born with protective powders on their wings. So, we rather put our hands down and let him walk onto them.

Now if one of these landed in the garden earlier, this butterfly would not have seen the light of day.
It is a female Fiscal and they eat insects of most kinds.
029.JPG

We have saved much wildlife but this is a first and we really hope that the butterfly will develop fully to fly away in freedom. It was a great surprise, but I think it was meant to happen. Life is full of surprises, and I like to face each of them with humor as it is my coping system.
If you can't laugh at yourself, then you are in trouble.

Yes, life is serious, life is difficult, and life is full of predators waiting to pounce on us at every opportunity, but there is also light in life and it all depends on our choices and I simply choose to be happy.
I face many of the same problems that you do, and even worse, but a sturdy heart, no fear, and of course inner humor always saves the day.
Something to think about.

I hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

It's wonderful that you were able to save that little newborn life, and give it a chance to maybe one day fly :) Hopefully you won't have a lot of wind again any time soon!

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Thank you and now he doesn't have to worry about the winds, as we keep him inside in a flat open box.
Waiting now for his wings to develop 😊

Thank you for the curation!

!PIZZA !LOL !LUV

I'm in a club for kids who love math.
We are called the Algebros.

Credit: theabsolute
@wrestlingdesires, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity
The LOLZ Tribe is here! Stake your LOLZ now to earn curation rewards and continue using the !LOLZ command. Please read our latest update for more information.
(4/8)

I hope he develops on schedule 🙏 Is he still eating well?

!PIZZA

Still alive my friend, but we don't think that he is going to make it. Their birth period only starts in late September and maybe he was born too early 😪

!PIZZA

beautiful!

@tipu curate

A hind thank you my friend!

!LOL !PIZZA !LUV

I swapped our double bed for a trampoline without telling my wife.
She really hit the roof!

Credit: reddit
@tobetada, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity
The LOLZ Tribe is here! Stake your LOLZ now to earn curation rewards and continue using the !LOLZ command. Please read our latest update for more information.
(3/8)

Oh wow! Poor little guy! What a way to emerge from a cocoon! He likely just needed to warm up a little to get the blood supply to the wings to flow. And not only did you save him from drowning, you prevented him from being breakfast as well! Well done Doc Zac!

Hahaha, that Doc Zac was supposed to be funny and we keep him here in a flat box inside. Maybe tomorrow, or the next day he would be able to be on his way. I did check him for concussion, but he could fluently count from 1 to 10 😉

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@papilloncharity(1/10) tipped @wrestlingdesires (x2)
papilloncharity tipped tobetada (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Thank you kindly @nelinoeva and @oscurity and also to the ANC.