Sort:  

I have seen both a falcon and a hawk, but never a kite.
I took a few minutes to look at some pics of the kite, what a gorgeous bird. While reading a little about them, the article said that there are five different types of kits. I wonder which one you saw.
Nothing like the great outdoors!

Thank you and unfortunately all of my Kite pictures are on my old PC.
What I will do is that I will get them and show you a Dark shouldered kite with a big rat in his mouth.
This is the Dark-shoulderd Kite that I took yesterday!
416.jpg

What a beautiful bird. They are named kites because of the way they catch the air currents and glide along as they search for prey, just like a kit, makes sense to me. Hawks are some of the coolest birds to run across!
We have a few Red-tailed hawks in the area, and I'll spot them every once in a while. When the hayfields have been cut, you will see them gliding over the newly cut fields looking for prey. They are marvelous birds that seem to fly with very little effort.

Yes the kites are indeed beautiful my friend.
Another difference between kites and hawks and falcons is that Kites can hover.
Hover means that they can stand still in the air like the photo of the hovering kite that I sent you.

Unfortunately we don't have Red-tailed hawks in Africa. But I will have a look.

In today's post I show you the famous Lanner Falcon on the hunt!

There are only a few birds that I have seen that can literally stay in one spot as they search for food, the hummingbird and seagull. Here's a funny picture we captured while in Florida last year of a bunch of seagulls hovering.
IMG_9643.JPG

A lovely photo my friend. Yes, they can hover, but in the birds of prey league they say that only the Kites and the smaller Kestrels hover.
This is however disputed, as others say that the Harrier Hawk can also hover although I have never seen one hovering. Yet others say that Buzzards can also hover and I don't believe them, as I know the Buzzards very well.

Cheers and !BEER
But like all things in life, people will always differ.

Thanks for the beer my friend, it is greatly appreciated.
Three years ago I caught this Hawk perched on the roof of the home next to where we were staying, at the time I thought it may have been a Harrier Hawk.
You seem to be quite the expert, was I correct?

IMG_1829 (1).JPG


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you, free beer, right up my ally!