You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buffaloland: Calves

in Amazing Nature • 4 years ago

Thanks Angie!. Yes I have to feel sorry for animals without arms to have a good scratch. 😀’

I knew a lady who had shortened arms. they were just hands attached to her shoulders. I don’t know how she combed her hair or wiped her bum.

This short arms or legs condition was caused by pregnant women taking the drug thalidomide in the late 50’s and early 60s. It was touted as a miracle drug to help with morning sickness and depression. Eventually the medical profession found it had caused over 10, 000 of these birth defects in babies born of women who used this drug.

Sort:  

Yep, I remember this terrible drug that woman took unwittingly ignorant of the huge consequences on their children. Thalidomide affected so many.

We had a child with shortened arms during my work time and was not through thalidomide. He was a very bright boy but so disadvantaged in all areas you mentioned. I hope he has achieved in life. Blessings