Snakes as Pets ????

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

20180117_171111psp.jpg
Greetings once again hivers 😁 My blog today will be about this extraordinary pet snake. She's not the average cuddly pet that most people are familiar with. Karma is her name, jumbo rats are her game. She is a Colombian Red Tailed Boa Constrictor.

20160510_183213ps.jpg
Never in a million years would I have thought ....some day I will live with and care for a 9 ft snake, but here I am with her draped across me while I drive!!

Its all due to my husband who has an avid fascination with snakes. In our area, we are surrounded by diamondback rattlesnakes. My husband has been bit by one, which earned him a 3 day hospital stay. It was a bit crazy because the hospital did not have any anti venon the day he got bit, and it had to be couriered in. His arm swelled up 3x the normal size but he talks about the whole experience very nonchalantly. One might think that the fascination would abrubtly come to an end after this. Not a chance though, the fascination is alive and kicking.

20160313_102628-1ps.jpg
Unlike the rattlesnake, Karma is non venomous (as are all constrictors). Here, she is quite content to lay on the dash of the car soaking up the sun. She is quite an easy keeper and doesn't require a lot of maintenance.

20160420_155902ps.jpg
This photo was taken a few years ago on a hot summer day. I would like to think she appreciated a rare chance to feel the earth underneath her 👍

Her main food is jumbo rats that we purchase at the pet store. They are sold frozen and we thaw them before we feed them to her. The next set of pics are at feeding time.

IMG_9963zzps.jpg
Using what i call rat danglers (tongs), the rat is dangled in front of her.

IMG_9964zzps.jpg
She is quick to strike, it all happens so fast!

IMG_9975ps2.jpg
I didn't get the angle I wanted to show her swallowing the rat. That's karma for ya hahaha

Sort:  

I am about to go to sleep... now after seeing the photos of Karma... I will think twice :D
Maybe I should stay awake the whole night 😂

Hope you slept well ! She's a pussycat, but I can see how a snake her size could haunt one's dreams 😮

Hahah, well, I slept half - half...
Maybe not because of the snake, but who knows 😂

Snakes are indeed unusual pets but I think they are amazing. And seriously, I love her name! She's beautiful by the way, love her skin color! How old is she by the way?

Yes indeed, she is a beautiful specimen. Thank you! We don't know her true age, approx 10 yrs old

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @sssandra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!