You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amazing Colors Of The Fall

in Amazing Nature4 years ago

How happy is that sunflower!

Do you know why the building was never finished?

I am really enjoying the 4 seasons of Finland. Where I was in Australia was tropical, so it was wet or dry - nothing between - always green.

Sort:  

I was a bit worried that the sunflowers would not make it to blooming until the cold weather took over, but luckily at least one of them did. I planted them too late.

It was meant to be like a heating house (dunno how else to call it) for the village, I guess they at some point had some difficulties and ran out of money at the time and therefore it was never finished.

I would miss the seasons if I ever moved some place where it is all the time warm. Not sure if I would even prefer it in definitely. Some places the climate is already too hot for me.Hey, climate change, please slow down! xD

Are sunflowers hard to grow? can I put them in my garden? I think they would be fun :)

It was strange when I moved to the tropics - but there are also definite benefits of never really needing a jacket. Half the year in Cairns it is blue skies and mid 20s, so it is quite lovely - plus there are the jungle streams to enjoy in the hot weather.

Not at all, but they need a bit more space so I would recommend minding the gap :D I planted too many of them too close together and some of them fell down. Perhaps, they would be bigger too if they had more space or more sunny spot. Just like trees, they grow only as big as the space available for them dictates. And I guess timing of when to plant is important too, other than that they are quite easy to grow.

I would have to spend a bit more time in tropics before I know for sure, plunging into the jungle streams sound fun!

I would recommend minding the gap

:D

How far apart should they be? I am wondering if we have enough space or a suitable area for them now.

The jungle streams in the hills are great - and the water cold - down closer to the sea not so great... crocodiles :)