The Twelve Shades of 2023

IMG_1739.jpeg
Hi, my dear friends!

That's all. 2023 counts the last hours. What was it like? Difficult? Yes, very much. But we are alive and in the current situation it is already an achievement.

I have selected twelve photos in my photo album that correspond to each of the months of this year.

So, January. Now it seems to me that it was a normal snowy January. How deceptive our memory is and how it relates to stereotypes! But the photos tell me that everything was wrong. January was warm and snowless. And I also walked a lot with the dogs. I remember well that when I saw a field covered with whole mini lakes, I thought that if the russian orcs tried to break through from the side of Belarus again, their tanks would just get stuck in our fields. As the classic said, being determines consciousness. What a life - such thoughts you have when looking at the puddles!

IMG_1740.jpeg

In February, for the first time in my life, I found mushrooms in winter! Wow! I would never have thought that this would be possible. The weather continued to be very warm and my only disappointment was the need to continue to treat dogs from ticks, in the frosty winters we took a break in this not very pleasant activity.

IMG_1742.jpeg

Mart woke up my garden. I watched with delight how the first flowers were pecked. I finally managed to achieve what I dreamed of - my garden began to live an independent life.

IMG_1743.jpeg

But my hellebor amazed me. Usually this flower wakes up in February, but this year it probably celebrated the New Year and had a hangover, so it slept until April. But in April it bloomed with a huge lush bush, giving me a lot of joy.

IMG_1744.jpeg

May is the month of lilac blossom. I love lilacs! Delicate flowers, delicate aroma, variety of colours! Probably this spring I will conduct a thorough revision of the garden and get rid of a couple of sick trees in order to plant lilac bushes in their place after healing the ground.

IMG_1745.jpeg

In June, my roses began to bloom. Another evidence of global warming! They used to start blooming in July. Well, if they like to bloom in May now, who am I to argue with the rose - the queen of the garden! Fortunately, I pruned back in the fall, so early flowering didn't take me by surprise.

IMG_1746.jpeg

July is the month of unusually beautiful meadows! Wild flowers can safely compete with their garden relatives in beauty and elegance. I have an idea to create a corner of wild flowers in my garden. Of course, I'm not completely sure that these freedom-loving creatures will agree to become part of my garden, but I'll try to invite them.

IMG_1747.jpeg

August filled my garden with blooming hibiscus. You can always rely on these guys! They bloom together and always on time. With their attractiveness, they are very unpretentious plants. I love them as much as lilacs. It is very convenient that lilacs and hibiscus bloom in different months, as this preserves the continuity of the flowering of the garden.

IMG_1748.jpeg

September began to paint the forest with bright colours, which is characterised by green monochromity in summer. I especially like ferns here. These are amazingly beautiful plants in the fall, when they become golden and unusually decorate the forest.

IMG_1749.jpeg

IMG_1750.jpeg

October and November pleased me with the flowering of chrysanthemums. I spent several years for these flowers to take a foot in my garden. I don't know what I was doing wrong, but all my chrysanthemums died and never bloomed! This year was a pleasant exception to this sad rule. I will allow myself to hope that now the chrysanthemums will become permanent inhabitants of my garden.

IMG_1194.jpeg

And finally, December. Quite unexpectedly, December pleased us with snowfalls and real winter. But I must admit that it didn't last long. I was really hoping for the snowy weather on New Year's Eve, but it didn't happen. It's 10 degrees Celsius outside.

That's how our nature was this year. It's enough to look at the photos to understand how much everything has changed in recent years. How will it be next? Let's see. January is ahead again and it will be possible to start comparing.

Sort:  

I want to believe that 2024 will be better. In all senses. And about the weather too.

 4 months ago  

Hello dear friend @torem-di-torem good afternoon
I know it has been a very difficult year, and that you had to overcome many things, but as you say, you are alive, and with it there are expectations and hopes.
I have great faith that this new year will be better in many ways. I love this photo calendar.
Have a happy new Year. May this 2024 come to your home, with health, blessings and much, much peace.

Awesome pictures friend, keep giving us such nice and nice content, let's hope the new year is great and full of good things. Happy new year 🥳🎊❤️

We appreciate your work and your publication has been hand selected by the geography curation team on behalf of the Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!