How To Make A Pouch For Your Essentials - Stay Organized This Year

in NeedleWorkMonday4 months ago

Hello everyone,we are getting organized this year. Do you remember that day when you needed your lip gloss,lip stick,keys,earrings or necklace but couldn’t locate it in your bag so you had to pour all your things from your bag just to find it? You do? Would you want to go through that again? No? Then I have good news for you. I’ll teach you an easy way to make a pouch to keep your essentials and get your stuff organized.

I must also say I got this inspiration from @kattycrochet when she made her organizer.


Materials I used:

  • Fabric scraps
  • Measuring tape
  • Fabric Stiffener(optional)
  • Elastic band for sewing
  • A pair of scissors




Step 1
I cut a rough rectangular size from the fabric scraps and ironed to see the outline well.

Step 2
I folded the inner side of the fabric into two equal parts and folded about an inch from the upper ends of the fabric.

Step 3
I sewed the ends of the left and right sides starting from just below where the upper folds end.

Step 4
I made a cut at the bottom of sewed sides(both left and right) and folded the seam allowances to let them lie down.

Step 4.1
In making the seam allowances lie down, you can just fold the allowances and sew from top to down(short method) but I wanted to experiment so I did fabric stiffening;
I measured and cut a fabric stiffener of the same size as the seam allowance.Put it on the seam allowance, folded it and ironed it till it laid down and did the same to the other side.(Long method)

Step 5
I then sewed the upper folded parts to make the casing and now turned the inside of the fabric out.

Step 6
I cut two elastic sewing bands of the same length but longer than the casing.Passed one through the casing to the other side and through the other channel back to the start point so it was like a C pattern and tied the ends.

Step 6.1
From where the band made the C pattern, I passed the other band through that channel to the other side and back to the starting point and tied the ends.

So when I pulled the elastic bands at both ends it made an X pattern.

The result

It looked too “normal” for me so as the extra person that I am ,I customized it with letter A (Abenad) using these shiny stones and a glue gun.

I enjoyed making this and I hope you like it.Thank you for your time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @abenad! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.
You made more than 700 comments.
Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

This is really cute abenad.

Thank you Doreen

 4 months ago  

Hello @abenad, thanks so much for the mention. This project is simple, nice and useful. Thanks so much for sharing with us. 🤗

Thank you for the inspiration too☺️

Wow, you did a nice work here.

I will try out this method of pouch making sometime.

Thank you.
I’m sure your work will be beautiful.

Having a pouch for your small essentials is really a must-have. It's convenient and very useful. Thanks for sharing this one, @abenad. Have a blessed day to you and your fam.😍

Thank you so much.

Wow, this is super cool and creative. Keep doing more dear.

Thank you☺️

Nice work done, this looks beautiful

Thank you.

Wonderful, this is a nice pouch for essential thank you so much for sharing with us here

You’re welcome

This is beautiful, it's easy and also quite useful. You did great!

Thank you.

I need something like this for my pen and other accessories...This is lovely and the fabric is nice too

Thank you.

This was easier than I thought. It actually looks great

Oh yeah …way easier
Shouldn’t take more than 20 minutes
Thank you.

Amazing. Thanks for sharing

You’re welcome.

Very cute!! I love the little detail with the glittery stones at the bottom😊

Yeah,that’s my favorite part too.
Thank you.

This is really beautiful. It comes in handy everyday and you can even carry it around. If you don’t find it in your room just know I came for it.😂

Thank you
🤣🤣

Hi @abenad, your pouch looks beautiful. Looking forward to more things you'll make. I'll be here no matter what😉.

☺️ thank you

Aside carrying a handbadg, we all need nice purses an pouch to hold the tiny things inside the handbag.
Living an organized life like this relieves us of so much stress.
Thanks for sharing dear.

Well said,thank you for passing by.